1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

"The client could not attach to the game server. It must have been taken down...

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Ender, Feb 25, 2011.

  1. Ender

    Ender Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,548
    Likes Received:
    548
    Please try again in a few minutes."

    What? I've never seen this message before. Just got it trying to log in to Great Lakes. Tried a few more times and it worked. Huh.
     
  2. blueturtle

    blueturtle Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    824
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lately my games been crashing right after the patch screen, saying the patch crashed...
     
  3. PsychoKinetic

    PsychoKinetic Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    14
    I haven't seen that message in years. I used to get it all the time.
     
  4. really funny thing about that?
    google:
    The client could not attach to the game server. It must have been taken down

    *stares*
     
  5. elspeth

    elspeth Guest

    I am suddenly getting this message every time I try and log into Pacific. Any ideas whats wrong?
     
  6. Lord Obsidian

    Lord Obsidian Journeyman
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Benefactor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    74
    This message means you have been authenticated by the login server on the east coast, but your client now can't create a direct connection to Pacific, which is on the west coast. Usually occurs when a provider is having a bad routing to the shard selected, but the route to the login server is fine.

    Try pinging Pacific (65.216.123.25) to see if you have any packet loss.
     
    Sevin0oo0 likes this.
  7. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    582
    I was seeing BAD packet loss in alter.net's Chicago routers/switches going west from KY last night (like 10% + packet loss). Making matters worse I was trying to do a Fel level 6 map in a Castle-filled housing area at the time.
     
  8. elspeth

    elspeth Guest

    This is very frustrating. I am unable to ping Pacific at the ip address above. It says "Request Timed Out". I am unable to log into Pacific, Origin, Lake Austin and Napa Valley. Baja and Sonoma fail about 1/2 the time and let me in the other half. All of the other servers allow me to login just fine.

    Can anyone help? Here is my traceroute from UOTrace to pacific IP above (i had hops set to 50 but stopped it at 27 as there was no change for awhile. I also polled just a few of the servers the first one shows black but packets seem to go through it fine.):

    Host Name IP Address Hop Ping Time Ping Avg % Loss Pkts r/s Ping best/worst
    * Unknown Host * 128.171.70.1 1 0ms 0ms 0% 57 / 57 0ms / 4ms
    * Unknown Host * 128.171.74.61 2 1ms 2ms 0% 57 / 57 0ms / 29ms
    * Unknown Host * 128.171.73.36 3 1ms 1ms 0% 57 / 57 1ms / 16ms
    vl-200-te-1-1-bb1-its-hurp4900.uh166.122.228.237 4 1ms 1ms 0% 57 / 57 1ms / 6ms
    vl-244-gi-2-10-ml4900-1.uhnet.net205.166.205.225 5 3ms 3ms 0% 57 / 57 3ms / 13ms
    vl-1113-te-5-8-melody720.uhnet.ne166.122.228.50 6 8ms 8ms 0% 57 / 57 8ms / 15ms
    xe-4-0-0-667-coconut.uhnet.net 128.171.64.182 7 8ms 8ms 0% 57 / 57 8ms / 9ms
    168-215-233-9.static.twtelecom.ne168.215.233.9 8 9ms 13ms 0% 57 / 57 8ms / 81ms
    sjc1-pr1-xe-1-3-0-0.us.twtelecom.66.192.249.26 9 116ms 71ms 0% 57 / 57 68ms / 120ms
    sl-st30-sj-.sprintlink.net 144.228.111.65 10 71ms 73ms 0% 57 / 57 70ms / 119ms
    sl-crs2-sj-0-4-0-1.sprintlink.net144.232.20.245 11 72ms 72ms 0% 57 / 57 71ms / 110ms
    * Unknown Host * 144.232.25.78 12 82ms 83ms 0% 57 / 57 81ms / 148ms
    sl-st30-la-0-8-0-0.sprintlink.net144.232.19.227 13 82ms 81ms 0% 57 / 57 81ms / 83ms
    0.xe-11-2-0.BR1.LAX15.ALTER.NET 204.255.168.93 14 81ms 84ms 0% 56 / 56 80ms / 117ms
    0.ae1.XL3.LAX15.ALTER.NET 152.63.115.89 15 95ms 83ms 0% 56 / 56 80ms / 107ms
    0.so-5-0-2.XT1.LAX7.ALTER.NET 152.63.1.225 16 81ms 83ms 0% 56 / 56 80ms / 111ms
    so-0-0-0.ur1.lax11.web.wcom.net 208.222.8.22 17 82ms 82ms 0% 56 / 56 82ms / 83ms
    * Unknown Host * 0.0.0.0 18 0ms
    * Unknown Host * 65.245.224.33 19 85ms 100% 0 / 56
    * Unknown Host * 0.0.0.0 20 0ms
    * Unknown Host * 0.0.0.0 21 0ms
    * Unknown Host * 0.0.0.0 22 0ms
    * Unknown Host * 0.0.0.0 23 0ms
    * Unknown Host * 0.0.0.0 24 0ms
    * Unknown Host * 0.0.0.0 25 0ms
    * Unknown Host * 0.0.0.0 26 0ms
    * Unknown Host * 0.0.0.0 27 0ms
     
  9. elspeth

    elspeth Guest

    Also, the instructions for making the server list no longer seem to work from this page
    UO Stratics *New* | Server IP Addresses

    But I copied/pasted the IP for Pacific directly into the program and that worked fine. Then when I exited UOtrace it created a file called UOTRACE.ini that looked as follows:

    [Hosts]
    0=65.216.123.25
    [Options]
    MaxTimeout=1500
    TTL=64
    PingBuff=0
    PingPause=0
    PingRetries=3
    MaxHops=50
    SkipFirst=1
    MiscFlags=0
    Width=324
    Height=176
    Left=515
    Top=140
    Advanced=1
    CurrentSelection=65.216.123.25
    [Columns]
    Col_0=84
    Col_1=47
    Col_2=18
    Col_3=30
    Col_4=28
    Col_5=26
    Col_6=28
    Col_7=46
     
    #9 elspeth, Aug 21, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 21, 2012
  10. Ludes

    Ludes Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    648
    Just checked Pacific from here logged on with no trouble.. no noticable lag.
    Must be a local problem with a server or router near you.
     
  11. elspeth

    elspeth Guest

    I would certainly think so as well Ludes but the traceroute looks to me like packets are leaving my local area and getting to LA, they fail at this server 65.245.224.33.
     
    #11 elspeth, Aug 21, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 21, 2012
  12. Ludes

    Ludes Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    648
    This is totally possible.. ComCast might use a different route.. I was just noting that it's working here from CO to PAC with ComCast..
    Might help knowing that it's a provider issue and not client or server based.
     
  13. Lord Obsidian

    Lord Obsidian Journeyman
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Benefactor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    74
    Which is bad, meaning you have no valid route to Pacific at all.

    Your packets do reach LA, and are just three hops away from Pacific, but once handed out to the next hop over there, they never find their way back to you.

    This is my trace to Pacific taking the same route around LA. As one can see, there is a valid route from 208.222.8.22 to Pacific; which means in your trace, there is something wrong on the way back @/after 208.254.48.26.
    (pls disregard my bad ping times - trace is across the Atlantic!)
    Code:
    ...
     6  117 ms  117 ms  121 ms  84-116-130-129.aorta.net [84.116.130.129]
     7  121 ms  116 ms  120 ms  us-was03a-rd1-xe-0-0-0.aorta.net [84.116.130.154]
     8  122 ms  118 ms  156 ms  84.116.137.210
     9  121 ms  121 ms  208 ms  ash-bb1-link.telia.net [213.248.85.145]
    10  126 ms  124 ms  139 ms  GigabitEthernet2-0-0.GW8.IAD8.ALTER.NET [63.65.76.189]
    11  120 ms  132 ms  122 ms  0.xe-4-0-1.XL3.IAD8.ALTER.NET [152.63.33.42]
    12  204 ms  195 ms  197 ms  0.so-5-0-0.XT1.LAX7.ALTER.NET [152.63.1.74]
    13  205 ms  205 ms  196 ms  so-0-0-0.ur1.lax11.web.wcom.net [208.222.8.22]
    14  192 ms  196 ms  194 ms  208.254.48.26
    15  200 ms  201 ms  197 ms  65.245.224.33
    16  196 ms  196 ms  194 ms  65.216.123.25
    
    As Ludes wrote, this is definitely a provider thing. There is nothing wrong on your end.
    You might try to contact your provider and ask them for help / send them your trace route.
     
  14. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    582
    This appears to be where one problem spot is.

    Second, have you updated UOTrace with the West Coast new addresses from a couple weeks ago? They changed the IPs on all the west coast servers around the beginning of the month, and there was a thread that had the new IPs in it. Without the update, you get all those 0.0.0.0's going off until you hit the hop limit, like in your post.
     
    #14 Basara, Aug 22, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2012
  15. Lord Obsidian

    Lord Obsidian Journeyman
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Benefactor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    74
    While not desirable, I don't think this is an unusal spike.
    All hops after this one do have inevitable added at least ~ 60ms due to the signal crossing from Hawaii to the mainland. Until down to LA (so-0-0-0.ur1.lax11.web.wcom.net 208.222.8.22 17 82ms 82ms 0% 56 / 56 82ms / 83ms), there seems to be no package loss and the usual variations in best / worst times, so I would assume the problem only starts in the LA region.
     
  16. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    582
    Yeah, but that's a local hop for you, not crossing, and that's an order of magnitude. Not a big issue (packet loss is the only factor that really matters, except in some PvP), but troublesome if it coincides with an additional one on the mainland.

    I'm having issues myself, because my route from Kentucky to BOTH coasts' servers is going through a Chicago-area switch or router that is experiencing 3-25% packet loss (mostly around 3, with spasms of 25%+ every so often). It was REALLY "Fun" doing a Fel level 6 T-map in the housing area south of the Bog of Desolation, surrounded by PvP-guild castles and keeps, with that kind of packet loss hitting (And the initial spawn including 3 AW and a GD, and me on my melee T-hunter that has a hard time with just one of those at a time). Luckily, the locals are customers of my auction and let me do my business (and even help handle the spawn)
     
    #16 Basara, Aug 22, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2012
  17. Lord Obsidian

    Lord Obsidian Journeyman
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Benefactor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    74
    Rubberbanding through PvP-Guilds-land with some treasure lvl 6 monsties following - really sounds like loads of "fun"... :eek:

    "we can't stop here... this is PvP-guilds-land..."

    With packet loss up to 25%, I would not even dare stepping out of my home.
     
    #17 Lord Obsidian, Aug 22, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2012