1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

The Dreaded Lag

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Helmgar, Dec 28, 2008.

  1. Helmgar

    Helmgar Guest

    I specifically remeber OVER a month ago they said they were going to fix the lag. What happened!? The lag is STILL happening. UO is almost unplayable at times because of this lag.
     
  2. daisuke

    daisuke Guest

    i havent lagged since the day they said they fixed it. my ping actually improved by about 10 since the fix
     
  3. Helmgar

    Helmgar Guest

    I don't remeber them ever saying they fixed it. I remeber 2 occasions that they said they were working on fixing it.
     
  4. Bara

    Bara Guest

    I never lag and I run cable internet. Are you on dial up?
     
  5. drinkbeerallday

    drinkbeerallday Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    0
    I still get the 5 seconds of stuttering/choppiness every 30 seconds or so. Sadly I've gotten used to it but yes it is a severe problem that needs to be fixed.
     
  6. MR_CLEAN

    MR_CLEAN Guest

    Strange.

    My I think you may have a local issue.

    I have had no lag since the day they said it was fixed. My connection is very fast and I have no problems.

    I use cable.
     
  7. Helmgar

    Helmgar Guest

    well like i said before they have never said they fixed it, in fact, on one of the messages recently they said they were still working to fix it.. and i have had no lag problems before this lag
     
  8. Viper09

    Viper09 Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,680
    Likes Received:
    824
    Post your trace route?
     
  9. Snakeman

    Snakeman UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    165

    Same here, this never went away. Still get the coppiness every 30 to 45 sec where you studder along then go fine for awhile, Did a trace route & still shows in the last 2 of 3 Servers (EA's IP) Also tonight I have crashed recalling, Sac journeying, gating, any way possible to move from place A to place B, be it buy a bank, all alone or out in no where with absolutely no one around. I bet it was a min of 25 times in 3 hrs. I haven't crashed this much on the last year!. WTF is going on Dev's. Someone goof up some coding ?
     
  10. Helmgar

    Helmgar Guest

    Doesn't seem to be any problem with my ping, its pretty low, but the lag is still there.

    Yes this is exactly what I am getting, and I have been crashing constantly.
     
  11. Infiniti

    Infiniti Guest


    I'm having exactly the same problem. I have cable internet so it isn't just a dial up issue. I've learned to leave Luna bank before recalling to avoid crashing. :sad4:
     
  12. Viper09

    Viper09 Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,680
    Likes Received:
    824
    So your ping to all servers are perfectly fine? So how can we be sure that it is EA's fault? I know when I use certain networks that my ping will be fine but the game lags horribly. It could simply be the setup with your network. But why don't you post your trace route so we can see.
     
  13. gjohnson5

    gjohnson5 Guest

    Post a traceroute please
     
  14. gjohnson5

    gjohnson5 Guest

    Most people on here do not understand that ping is a specific type of icmp data that attempts to examine network latency. Many routers including EA's routers are configured to drop this type of packet as it is easily doable using icmp types....

    However the game is using tcp to send data to and from the client.

    Ping is not ( and has not been for many years ) a good diagnostic utility to measure bandwidth and latency... FTP is a much better test.

    Anyway back to the point. tcp and icmp types can (most likely will) be treated differently by routers based on router configuration.
     
  15. Cear Dallben Dragon

    Cear Dallben Dragon Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,005
    Likes Received:
    17
    What shard are you on?
     
  16. Helmgar

    Helmgar Guest

    It's happening on all shards, some worse than others, on atlantic it is probobly at its worse.
     
  17. Maplestone

    Maplestone Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,657
    Likes Received:
    9
    You need to send them the ping and traceroute data - they have had overload trouble with some of their edge routers (or their routers have been under DoS attack - it's hard to tell from the outside) and so its important to let them know, especially which ea router and which ISP its coming through. (I myself have not had any problems since their last fix - if it's the same problem we were having, you'll see packet loss during peak periods).

    I'm pretty certain the crash-on-recall is a seperate issue. There appears to be a problem with containers and crossing server lines, but I have not been able to find a set of steps that can consistently reproduce it on demand - but it's been going on for a few publishes now.
     
  18. Helmgar

    Helmgar Guest

    No packet loss, but I still have that choppiness, I think its still going on.
     
  19. Vertigo

    Vertigo Guest

    Why won't you post your trace route?
    You would likely get more help if you did.
     
  20. Snakeman

    Snakeman UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    165
    Studddddddddder Step Away!! :yell:

    [​IMG]
     
  21. Viper09

    Viper09 Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,680
    Likes Received:
    824
    Well from the looks of your trace route...oh wait, you STILL haven't posted your trace route yet...
    Learn from Snakeman Helmgar

    :postpics:
     
  22. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,477
    Likes Received:
    593
    Snakeman's trace shows a problem with the alter.net gateway router to ea, making it an alter.net issue - one that EA can complain to alter.net about, but is up to alter.net as to when and how to fix
     
  23. drinkbeerallday

    drinkbeerallday Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe this is a known issue. If anyone is holding an object with their cursor you will crash when you recall.. Supposedly... I haven't personally tested it.
     
  24. drinkbeerallday

    drinkbeerallday Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm still getting the choppiness every 30 seconds or so and my traceroute/ping/packet loss are all normal.
     
  25. Heartseeker

    Heartseeker Guest

    Screw the trace routes.

    Been there done that.

    The game ran well for 10 years and it is definately their problem because for many it doesn't run smooth anymore.

    The game crashes constantly and runs way to slow compared to before.

    Same computer here and everything is middle to high end.

    Some coding changed; and maybe some of their providers have too.

    Bottom line is: we are happy for all those that have it smooth but many don't.

    That is what happens when you have an old game running different clients and trying to add more content.

    Le'ts get one client going that actually works, asap.
     
  26. Snakeman

    Snakeman UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    165
  27. Maplestone

    Maplestone Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,657
    Likes Received:
    9
    Are you advocating some form of faith-based troubleshooting? Or if you arbitrarily assign blame you can magically make the blamed person the cause?

    Sorry, but no. They need data.

    Even if all the server-side alarms were malfunctioning, the fact that not everyone is affected is strong evidence that it's not the server. So the traceroutes are needed if the bottleneck is going to be identified. The fact that there aren't the same symptoms (people are claiming to not see packet loss) suggests this may be a different problem than was affecting some of us a while back.

    So far, the 2 traceroutes posted have a shown a noticeable spike in Alter.net, but they'll need more data from more people. We here are willing to help provide commentary and armchair analysis, but in the end, it will be the bug reports that they'll be able to coordinate to sort out where the true bottlenecks are.
     
  28. Heartseeker

    Heartseeker Guest

    Maplestone , are you trying to be smarta$$?

    This is a 10 year old game that for the most parts has run well.

    You need more info?

    Hello?

    Nothing on our end has changed.

    So you think the customer should do EA's troubleshooting now?

    Good luck with that.
     
  29. Maplestone

    Maplestone Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,657
    Likes Received:
    9
    I'm saying troubleshooting network problems is hard and that too many people are saying "Make it go".

    In an ideal world, UO would run a traceroute in the background every so often and send the data automatically to a database that would constantly analyze network performance. But unless EA is playing things very close to the chest, they don't have that.

    edit: I don't mean to come across as "blaming the victim" though
     
  30. Heartseeker

    Heartseeker Guest

    Ok, but I like your ideal world scenerio though.

    :)
     
  31. gjohnson5

    gjohnson5 Guest

    and this:
    http://vboards.stratics.com/showpost.php?p=1033551&postcount=20

    from my experience alter.net isnt known for chronically having poor performance in terms of customer service... I wonder if this gateway is being obsoleted (it is named ea-gw2 which seems to imply it's a second router to ea). But both the traceroutes seem to show high ping at this hop. It could be under stress , hence the poor processing of ping packets.
     
  32. gjohnson5

    gjohnson5 Guest


    Also is your computer wirelessly connected to that 10.19.14.1 box?
    If so have you done all the necessary troubleshooting (enable / disable / tune) with Fragmentation threshhold, WMM, QoS, SurgeStream, Aegis and especially your MTU settings?