1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Trial Account Woes

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Barania, Feb 21, 2011.

  1. Barania

    Barania Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,495
    Likes Received:
    82
    Have a couple accounts on Siege and 9 days ago decided to start another one as a crafter. Was just gonna pay for it until I saw the 14 day free deal and thought I would roll with that to start. Either the same day or next when I realized the trial new guy couldn't co-own one of my existing houses I decided to pay for the account, entered the info, and thought all was good.

    Yesterday I decided to upgrade to Stygian Abyss on this account only and it won't let me since I'm on the trial deal - even though that account has all the CC info and everything and I want to pay for it and thought I did. I don't want to wait 5 days before I can do what I need/want to do.

    Where am I at on this?

    Jack Nickelson
     
  2. Amber Moon

    Amber Moon Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Welp, life is hard like that sometimes. Think your gonna have to wait until the free trial time expires. Yes, it is stupid, which is just another name for EA in many cases.
     
  3. Gheed

    Gheed Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,911
    Likes Received:
    173
    I feel your pain. I had an adventure with that. I had to go through the account management screen and cancel, then re-activate the account. Then the re-activation kept erroring out unable to connect to the next page after I entrered my cc info again.

    So I decided to buy a game code and use it. Be warned: This was my first attempt to buy a game code. Im not sure if it was in the fine print somewhere but the code AUTOMATICALLY APPLIES TO THE ACCOUNT USED TO LOG INTO GAMECODES. I didnt get a code via email. So my first code automatically applied to a different account. I got it right on the next try though.

    I very well could have missed something on the gamecodes site that spelled this out for me but I had already spent hours trying to shed my trial account status and was tired of messing with it.
     
  4. Ezekiel Zane

    Ezekiel Zane Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,556
    Likes Received:
    113
    It should all work out once the trial-period has expired.

    The restrictions on trial accounts were put into place because of the rampant abuse.

    Just an FYI, if anyone plans on starting a new account, that you intend to pay for and keep, then skip the trial account entirely. You won't have any of the restrictions associated with trial accounts.
     
  5. Gheed

    Gheed Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,911
    Likes Received:
    173

    How do we skip the trial account entirely? I wanted to do this. But during the account creation process you have to enter a code. You cant go to the next screen without entering a code. I wasnt buying and upgrade, SA or anything like that so I had no code to enter. I had to enter the trial account code listed on the code entry screen. That was the only way to get through it.
     
  6. Barania

    Barania Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,495
    Likes Received:
    82
    Appreciate the feedback from all - I guess I'll just chill until this weekend. I'm just gonna break out the other two guys and loot all weapons I can so the new guy can get on with unraveling whenever that time is supposed to be. Thanks again.

    Jack Nickelson
     
  7. Ezekiel Zane

    Ezekiel Zane Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,556
    Likes Received:
    113
    Yeah, you do have to purchase the latest expansion in order to get a code that's not a trial account code. If you're intent is for the account to be permanent anyway, you might as well start it with all the current content.

    Another option is to ask around for a new account code from another player. I have dozens of unused new account codes as I'm sure do a lot of players.
     
  8. virtualhabitat

    virtualhabitat Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    642
    The exact same thing happened to me with the trial account. I am a new player and last month I started a trial. about 8 days into the trial I decided I liked the game and I bought it, but the website kept saying my new game code was invalid. I was able to find live chat support and that guy fixed it for me so I didn't have to complete the trial.

    It was more than a little frustrating though, Clear terms/instructions were not provided with the trial account, nor with using the new game code with the trial account. Further, while I was pleased with how live chat support works and the outcome of my situation, it is near impossible to find out how to access it from the EAsupport website. I found out the address on a phone recording when I called (no) phone support.
     
  9. Zosimus

    Zosimus Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    4,370
    Likes Received:
    720
    A friend of mine had that issue a while back. He called EA support and they fixed the issue with him over the phone and upgraded his account from trial to full.
     
  10. Nimuaq

    Nimuaq Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    280
    I tried to cancel the trial account period some years ago for I wasnt able to repeat the escort quests. I paged a GM and he told me that while he cant help with the situation, it would be fixed if I contact to EA support about this issue. I used the Ea support website and wrote the situation. A reply came back a day later asking for the account details. I've provided the details and again a day later I got a message during the game as "I've cleared the trial flag from your account".

    It took about four days so you might consider waiting for five days.
     
  11. BigEv

    BigEv Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    119
    Ok, just for anyone else wondering..... To skip the trial account you have to go EA.com Search for ultima online then click SA. Once you buy SA for $19 you get with it a 30 day free time as a bonus but isnt a trial account. You can place co own homes whatever you like. I did this a month ago maybe and works. I also didnt have to put in my payment info before i could start since i had the 30 day free on it (dont know if thats normal or not but its in there now) Its the only way i found to bypass the trial account period. Hope that helps some of ya. :)
     
  12. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    32
    Also, you can use any of the buddy/new account codes from the previous boxes.