1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Tried Resizing on Test, what a mess

Discussion in 'UHall' started by rfrost, Jun 7, 2008.

  1. rfrost

    rfrost Guest

    Tried resizing on test.

    Put down a small then resized, great. When I made the attempt with a bigger plot, got the timer warning - you have to wait 7 hours.

    Tried again with the same size plot as before and it placed without even asking if I wanted that size, then, even better, it would not let me do it again because the placement timer was active.

    What a mess. I have a house I want to resize in a very sensitive area of the map - aka Luna and I'm not even going to think about it until this is a lot better than it is now.
     
  2. THP

    THP Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    9,667
    Likes Received:
    1,632
    Its test shard!!! LoL IT WILL GET WIPED EVENTUALLY ANYWAYS!!...Does it really matter what u do on test bar test stuff out..LOL
     
  3. Farsight

    Farsight Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,191
    Likes Received:
    36
    It doesn't matter, which is why he was at the test shard to begin with. He most certainly wouldn't want to test the system on a production shard Luna house, now would he?
     
  4. Aladaria

    Aladaria Guest

    Yes, it is a test shard... the OP was testing something on the test shard... omg what a crazy thought...

    Anyway...

    I'd be interested in any findings on this as I have a house just outside Zento city walls which I'm sure could go 1x1 bigger, but obviously don't want to risk collapsing it if the system doesn't work when it goes live.
     
  5. mutau

    mutau Guest

    my question is regarding everything thats within the house.

    didn't FOF say that everything would FALL to the ground like a regular demolish? has anyone tried to resize a house with stuff in it or a multi level house with items in it? even if its just junk, if it falls, it falls. any info would be helpful.

    and if youre wondering, i'm gonna test myself too and post with any findings. but just wondering if anyone else has already looked into it or had different tests.

    *added later:
    Question, since this is my first time placing a house on test shard. Does placing a house there demolish your house on your regular shard??????

    Thanks :thumbup1:
     
  6. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Governor Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,906
    Likes Received:
    364
  7. THP

    THP Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    9,667
    Likes Received:
    1,632

    Yes and the post reads to me!!! his precious Luna house is on the test shard too!!!! muahahhaaa
     
  8. Fran Fury

    Fran Fury Guest

    I didn't get that impression at all. Just that he has a Luna house that could go larger and was testing the resizing of houses on the test shard and found it is very messy and still has issues. Therefore he will not be attempting to resize his Luna house until the resizing issues are solved.
    Can't really blame him for that. I have a house in a secluded area and I still wouldn't resize until I knew it worked right.
     
  9. Has anyone tried to resize a normal placed house like a tower or villa, not just a plot?
     
  10. Pax

    Pax Guest

    That's misleading. We've been told very plainly that placing a house on Test will not effect any houses we have on the real shards, and I've placed houses on Test enough times to know that's true. Test is just that: TEST. Nothing there really counts, it's all just being *tested* there to find out how it works or to help work out the bugs.

    Be well - Pax
     
  11. Theo_GL

    Theo_GL Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,391
    Likes Received:
    663
    Reading comprehension is your friend.

    Let me spell it out for you:

    Poster has luna house on production shard that could be resized.
    He goes to test shard to test the new feature.
    Poster finds issues.
    Poster relays that the current implementation is bad and he will not use it on his PRODUCTION SHARD LUNA house until it is fixed.

    Top House Plotter what are you talking about?
     
  12. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Governor Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,906
    Likes Received:
    364
    right, understood.... but that is the message you would see on a regular shard, yes? and it seems pretty clear that everything will absolutely drop to the ground... going to test moving crate next (soon as my tooth stops hurting :( )
     
  13. Pax

    Pax Guest

    Oh, right! But I think the poster was concerned that if he placed on Test he would condemn his real house on his regular shard. :)

    Sorry about your tooth! That's NO fun!

    Be well - Pax
     
  14. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Governor Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,906
    Likes Received:
    364
    kay, two items in moving crate, piece of leather and deed to ladder.... wait for moving crate to poof so that it's hidden and buried under the house and then stand under sign... "I wish to resize my house"..... get the warning gump, tell them I'm sure and house goes poof.... nothing at all in the house save items in moving crate, so nothing falls to ground.... rebuild house (both custom, no legacy housing) and no moving crate pops under sign nor is there an option to reclaim it on the house sign.... items in moving crate lost


    and thanks, Pax, dentist tomorrow at 7:15am... that'll be the worst part
     
  15. Flutter

    Flutter Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    21,553
    Likes Received:
    3,840
    I don't think his post has anything to do with the silly item moving crate, nor the fact that he doesn't want to condemn his prod shard Luna house.

    I think his complaint is that when he placed a larger plot and tried to resize a second time it first placed a house without a confirmation gump and then it wouldn't let him resize due to the 7 day timer (which it isn't supposed to do).
     
  16. Pax

    Pax Guest

    :rant2:Yeesh! :thumbdown: NOT GOOD!! :thumbdown: Thanks for testing! :)

    You're welcome. Hope you're not in too much pain. :(

    Be well - Pax
     
  17. JC the Builder

    JC the Builder Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,154
    Likes Received:
    708
    You are not supposed to be able to demolish a house with items in the moving crate. Someone should report it.

    Has anyone tested to make sure you also cannot resize if someone is renting vendors in your house?
     
  18. Pax

    Pax Guest

    I think you got lost in the "He who?"s :lol:

    You're correct concerning the OP, I got that from his post too. But DevilsOwn and I were replying to Kiteh Kiteh, who expressed concern placing a house on Test would condemn his house on his real shard. :)

    Be well - Pax
     
  19. Pax

    Pax Guest

    Really?! I didn't know that! I agree, it should be reported on Test, since I think that's where they pay special attention to such reports.

    I haven't yet... just discussing here right now.

    Be well - Pax
     
  20. Nylan

    Nylan Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    1
    I placed a 18x18, resized it to a keep and later resized it to a castle.
    The only issue I seen was the wait in between resizing.

    I think this will be a great solution to changing your house size in high traffic and prized areas.
     
  21. thanks
     
  22. I think the one hour wait between demo is lame.What is the point again?If i wish or anyone else for that matter want to resize our plots why is there a timer? I say i wish to resize blah blah blah it dropps as im testing my area bam i get a cool down.. so now gotta wait meanwhile i have maybe an hr to get a plot down while waiting for cool down on tool so i finally plot then oops made it to small so now waiting for an hr to resize again.
    [gets cross eyed]
     
  23. Olahorand

    Olahorand Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    243
    I agree, all those placement/demolition timers (and limited tool usages) should not be there if resizing a plot while the resize reservation timer is still running.

    And also never a plot/house should be dropped without asking for confirmation since the introduction of the 1 hour demolition timer. Makes simple running around with a homeless character just testing the possible size on a plot or showing a friend the possible size nearly impossible.

    *Salute*
    Olahorand
     
  24. rfrost

    rfrost Guest

    Sorry if I wasn't clear.

    Flutter is right, I was testing the procedure before trying it on a production shard.

    I did get the resize gump.
    Plot went empty
    Tried to place a larger house and it said that I had to wait 7 hours.
    Tried the exact same size as what I'd resized
    The house was placed with no footprint to review and no gump to confirm which now means I can't try again until I wait.

    I expected to see the footprint on the ground or the house in some kind of preview before accepting the new house.

    The luna house is on a production shard. I had nothing in the house on test.
     
  25. THP

    THP Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    9,667
    Likes Received:
    1,632
    Iam sure the change will be a great tool for thoses people sitting on keep and castle spots with towers and 1818s !!!to make bigger safely!! but alas will they?? most of em prob dont even realize they sitting on a prime spot!! thats alas if they are still playing UO and its not a old bugged house that has stood forever!!!

    ... And i still stand by the OP plays test shard only...and to be quite frank ive met at least a dozen players that play test shard soley!!! why??? because they can have everthing in the blink of an eye...dont ask me why they do... they just do!!!...and yes i think its crazy!!!!!
     
  26. rfrost

    rfrost Guest

    THP, why are you so strange? What does it matter what shard I play on. I play on GL and PAC, I test on test.

    What is your damage?
     
  27. Arbuckel

    Arbuckel Guest

    That's a trick question!!
     
  28. galefan2004

    galefan2004 Guest

    You aren't allowed to demolish the house with items in the moving crate because they aren't a huge fan of easily obtaining gold boxes over and over. However, if all the items in the moving crate are destroyed when you resize then it really doesn't matter.
     
  • About Us

    Stratics is the oldest continually running MMORPG Fansite on the Internet. Founded in 1997 Stratics has served the Ultima Online Community for 18 years. We strive to provide the most complete social experience for Ultima Online players.
  • Subscribe Now!

    Want to provide Continual Support? Subscribe and gain additional benefits as a patron of Stratics.com!
    Subscribe Now!

    Stratics Professional Accounts feature the following advantages:

    • Ad-Free Browsing of our Forums
    • Upload a custom Profile Cover
    • Unlimited media upload storage space
    • Use of the theme styler
    • Ability to collapse the sidebar
    • Premium background themes to choose from
    • Access to additional features of the Classifieds System
    • Ability to Customize Your User Title
    • No Post Delays
    • Additional Signature Allowances:
    • Special Professional Banner Display with your Account
    • PM Allowance Upgrade
    • Additional Thread Allowances
  • Support Us!

    Don't feel like subscribing? Donations to benefit the further development of Stratics and for purchase and inclusion of additional features are always welcome.

    Donate to us!