1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Trouble Placing House

Discussion in 'UO Homes and Castles' started by Obsidian, Aug 23, 2009.

  1. Obsidian

    Obsidian UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,143
    Likes Received:
    780
    Hello. I am trying to place a small house. I found the same location on other shards and it has a house, but I can't for the life of me get it to place without an obstacle identified. Are there any techniques that can help you identify the exact cause of the block or means to avoid these? It's a tight fit for sure, but certainly others have figured it out. Is there a way to place over these small obstacles like rocks. I suspect the problem is the objects relation to the foundation. Thanks for your advice!

    -OBSIDIAN-
     
  2. Try placing a band aid or something that allows you to walk thru to mark locations and aim for them with the house placement tool. If you get the message that some obstacle is blocking you check for critters, NPC and animals etc.. Other then that all I can say is keep trying to hit the sweet spot with the tool. The band aids may help you with getting it.

    If you use different colors aids, white for locations you have yet to try and a color one to mark location you have tried.
     
  3. Obsidian

    Obsidian UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,143
    Likes Received:
    780
    That is good advice. Where should I put the band aid. At the spot where the target cursor is, or at one corner of the house?

    Is there an easy way to figure out the exact plot size of the houses on the other shards I'm trying to duplicate?

    -OBSIDIAN-
     
  4. All shards are different, i've seen loads of spots where theres a house and i think "good location" and go on another shard and try and place and it wont let me! The best example i have is on Great Lakes fell brit gate theres a house right on the gate near enough and on Europa you cant place a house there!
     
  5. Obsidian

    Obsidian UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,143
    Likes Received:
    780
    That is exactly the spot... but different shard and on tram. Either way there is a block on this other shard or there is a trick to it.

    -OBSIDIAN-
     
  6. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    6
    I think on some shards these brit gate houses just can't be placed.
     
  7. Obsidian

    Obsidian UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,143
    Likes Received:
    780
    I came to the conclusion that is just isn't possible and went for size instead of location, placing an 18x18. I'll have to do more work to bring initial people to my shop, but it will happen with persistence and time.

    -OBSIDIAN-
     
  8. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    6
    I get people in my shop every hour of the day or night. Stay stocked, offer variety, have a tidy shop and vendors, and drop runes. Put out a message board for requests and go the extra mile for people if you can. You will get loyal, returning customers that way. :thumbsup:
     
  9. Lady Michelle

    Lady Michelle Sprite Full SP
    Stratics Veteran The DarkOutlaws, TDO

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,451
    Likes Received:
    1,113
    When they open housing to place over objects, and different terain. No one was suppose to be able to place that close to the moongates. since players did nothing they could do. So all they could do is stop others from placing.