1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Broadsword team is seeking alternative castle designs! Learn more and discuss here!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Publish 97 is currently on TC1! They are currently focusing on the pet customization aspect of the pet revamp. Head to TC1 and send in your feedback or discuss here!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Broadsword is hosting a 20th Anniversary Party for UO this September! Learn more here. Will you be there, Guest?
    Dismiss Notice
  6. A new State of Stratics is up. Check it out here!
    Dismiss Notice

Two Characters. One Problem.

Discussion in 'UO Players Corner' started by WarderDragon, Nov 3, 2011.

  1. WarderDragon

    WarderDragon Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni BRPA

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,690
    Likes Received:
    71
    Same name. Same shard. But where one is a Swordsman the other is a Caster. Therefore I need a quick and painless method that will allow me to switch between macro sets.

    Solutions?
     
  2. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Wiki Moderator Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,658
    Likes Received:
    733
    There isn't one for the CC; not sure about the EC.

    The CC work-around is to back up the settings folders for both, then copy that folder backup in whenever you have to switch.

    Not very quick or painless.

    The other option is to use a name change token and slightly modify one of the character's names. IT might well be that, if the characters have 2 (or more) word names, that adding an extra empty space (or better yet, another legal character like a dash) between name parts might be sufficient. If so, it's possible (but unlikely) that if you ever get into a conversation with a GM on another subject, and bring it up, they might be able to sneak that space (or an additional letter) into the character name for you (since they have the ability to change offensive names). I wouldn't try paging just for that issue, though.
     
  3. Mirt

    Mirt Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    297
    I remember hearing that if you logged in with a space after your normal log in it would come up with a blank marco file. That might help out there, but I myself have never tested it.
     
  4. WarderDragon

    WarderDragon Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni BRPA

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,690
    Likes Received:
    71
  5. Mirt

    Mirt Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    297
    Hmm not sure about UOA. I think it should be possible to have 2 seperate things but I am just not familiar enough with it. Are they loading the same macros right now?
     
  6. WarderDragon

    WarderDragon Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni BRPA

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,690
    Likes Received:
    71
    They are. But not because of the program.

    I'm tempted to download it and find out.
     
  7. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Stratics Veteran Wiki Moderator Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,476
    Likes Received:
    366
    uoa has a option to save characters under id instead of names
     
  8. WarderDragon

    WarderDragon Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni BRPA

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,690
    Likes Received:
    71
    Then it appears I have my answer.