1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

U.o wont work need help

Discussion in 'UHall' started by fighting irish, Mar 18, 2012.

  1. fighting irish

    fighting irish Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    After i loaded the last big patch i can no longer get u.o to run on my computer. When i click on the u.o icon on the desktop nothing happens anymore. Does anyone have an idea what i need to do or what could be wrong and how i could fix it. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. I will go crazy if i dont get my weekly fix of playing u.o
    Thankyou in advance for your help.
     
  2. G.v.P

    G.v.P Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9,644
    Likes Received:
    831
    Hm. What's your operating system (Windows XP, Vista, 7)? Do you run UOA? Do you run CC or EC? Were you able to run UO after the patch? I'll assume you patched and then closed the client after playing and then tried to start UO again and nothing happened. Is that correct? Did you turn your computer off or restart after the patch? It's possible, if you didn't shutdown or restart yet, there could be a client.exe that isn't responding for some reason. I've never had that happen with UO but I've had it happen with OpenOffice on my old XP, and I've had to manually end task those files.

    Hm well it's early, I'm sure someone more tech savvy will get on soon and be able to get you going after you provide a little more information!
     
  3. fighting irish

    fighting irish Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have windows xp. i dont run uoa or anything else when i play. I downloaded the new patch and it played straight after. Then i finished turned off computer. When i went on the computer today u.o no longer works.
     
  4. fighting irish

    fighting irish Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    Still not got u.o working. Some one out there must have some ideas whats wrong please help.
     
    Beleg Megil likes this.
  5. Beleg Megil

    Beleg Megil Guest

    Just patched, same problem. It shows that it is "running" in task manager but no usage, no window, nothing. Same issue no matter if I go through UOA or without. At least I know it isn't just me. No idea how to fix it.
     
  6. G.v.P

    G.v.P Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9,644
    Likes Received:
    831
    When you guys start-up UO are you launching the UOPatch.exe or the Client.exe? Try going to your UO directory and starting the Client.exe and see if that starts up UO. If it does, then there must be something wrong with the UOPatch.exe...or does the patcher work but then the client never comes up?
     
    Beleg Megil likes this.
  7. Dragonater

    Dragonater Journeyman

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    19
    This is strictly from a non-tech but it worked for me..after loading patch I tried clicking on my desktop UO icon and nothing happened. So I deleted the desktop icon then went to my uo folder in programs right clicked on the UO icon and sent copy to desktop. closed folder. clicked new desktop icon and worked fine.Btw I have XP if that makes a difference. Good luck.
     
  8. Ludes

    Ludes Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    648
    Is this in CC or EC..?

    Plus just a warning to everyone.. bypassing the patcher is gonna cause some problems as newer patches come up. I'd look at this as a temporary fix if I was ya'll.
     
  9. Beleg Megil

    Beleg Megil Guest

    Still borked. It is CC. I deleted and uninstalled everything including UOA. I installed my most recent disc and patched from there. Still when I click the desktop icon, it stalls. Nothing happens. Just to be on the safe side, i left it alone after double clicking the icon for 8 hours, waiting for the program to start. Nothing. I stopped the process tree in Task Manager. I went through the program files and tried to start client.exe from the folder. I get the following error:

    fatal:

    Failed to open 'map0LegacyMUL.uop' from HD using a maximum install. Either this file is not readable, your system needs to be rebooted, or the file does not exist and you either need to reinstall or switch to a non-maximum install.

    Well...I did reboot. Same thing. I am on dial-up and 28.8kbps is the top speed. That's the only option here, so don't waste time discussing that. Yes, the game has always been playable at that speed. But it does make reinstalling a week and a half long process.

    So now what? Any ideas on how to get the game to work? I need a definite answer, not a stab in the dark. And no, I will not be "trying" another reinstall. Are there actually any tech people who come here?
     
  10. Beleg Megil

    Beleg Megil Guest

    And to answer G.v.P. (sorry i missed it) Neither way works. I get the hourglass by the cursor, but nothing actually opens, no window. It shows in task manager, but is idle.
     
  11. Thunderz

    Thunderz Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,729
    Likes Received:
    64
    Have you tried right clicking the UO icon and click "run as administrator"? I remember there being a problem some time last year and that fixed it for alot of people.

    Thunderz
     
  12. G.v.P

    G.v.P Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9,644
    Likes Received:
    831
    NP and sorry I couldn't be of more help--did we ask what kind of operating system you are running? I'm not sure if I've ever experienced this...as I mentioned earlier in thread, other programs will sometimes lock up on my old Windows XP computer, like OpenOffice (a suite of productivity programs equivalent to MS Office suite). I'll try to start it up but it won't fire, then I try again thinking maybe I didn't double-click it the first time, then I have to go into task manager and get rid of all the copies. The way UO is, though, it should--if one client is up--prompt you as having one client up, with a message stating you are about to launch another. Hm. Sorry, kind of speaking aloud.
     
  13. Beleg Megil

    Beleg Megil Guest

    I uninstalled, deleted and got rid of everything again. Instead of patching from the last disc, I tried the client dowloader from the UO page. All seems ok now.
     
  14. Ludes

    Ludes Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    648
    You should sell me that disk...