1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Ugent: House is fairly worn after reactivating account!

Discussion in 'UO Homes and Castles' started by hawkeye_pike, Oct 26, 2009.

  1. hawkeye_pike

    hawkeye_pike Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Likes Received:
    11
    I have an account to hold a second house, which I reactivate every 3 months, just when the house reaches condemned status. Usually, after next server maintenance the house is fine again. This time, the house remained in condemned status. I reactivated the account 3 days ago, and the house is meanwhile fairly worn.
    Can someone tell me why this isn't working?
     
  2. Kayhynn

    Kayhynn Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,531
    Likes Received:
    541
    Have you logged in on that account?
     
  3. hawkeye_pike

    hawkeye_pike Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yes, with the house owner character, I opened the house sign and the front door.
     
  4. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    6
    Give it till serverup, if still decaying after 24 hours then page GM.
     
  5. sablestorm

    sablestorm Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,948
    Likes Received:
    317
    I'm having the same issue. It's been a couple of days for me and my house progressed to fairly worn today. I just emailed [email protected] and submitted a ticket. I also got a "knowledge" base response when I paged a GM. Let's see if anything can be done...

    There is one hope for us. The account server got an upgrade to allow for MyUO to refresh properly. All of Origin's characters are back up on MyUO and I hope to see the other shards up there tomorrow as well. I wonder if also affects the house refresh and if after tomorrow, the houses will refresh properly.
     
  6. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    6
    Try this wording when paging a GM:

    I reactivated an account and my house is still decaying, it is not owned by OSI. I have been in game longer than 24 hours, please refresh it for me.
     
  7. Lady Michelle

    Lady Michelle Sprite Full SP
    Stratics Veteran The DarkOutlaws, TDO

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,451
    Likes Received:
    1,113
    A friend of mine forgot to reactivate their account the house was greatly worn, Not wanting to chance it falling they transfer it and condemned their other house. thinking since the one account was now house free, and they didn't accept or place a house that account could now accept a house. They couldn't transfer the house over.They got the message they had to wait like 40 something hours before they could accept a house. and the usual cuz you placed or accepted a house in a trade yadda yadda, Since the house was not placed and no house was accepted. We figured the 40 something hours was what was left over for the idoc timer. They waited out the 40 something hours t(2 days) transfer the house.
    Now I know this works this way for a reactivated account so please do not use this info for placing and condemning a house, and trading it and condemning another house, and waiting for the idoc timer to run out.
     
  8. sablestorm

    sablestorm Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,948
    Likes Received:
    317
    Yeah, for the second time on this issue, the GMs just refer me to the knowledge base and suggest opening up a ticket which I did. I used your working Sarsmi, but no luck. I wouldn't mind so much if a GM just wrote that they don't have to the power to refresh houses, but I'd like to know that rather than wondering if the GMs are just brushing me off with a standard response to housing questions.
     
  9. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    6
    They can do it, you just got a dumb GM, which unfortunately happens. I'd repage a couple hours later and try to get one who knows what to do.
     
  10. hawkeye_pike

    hawkeye_pike Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Likes Received:
    11
    GM refreshed it for me.
    Thanks for the hints!
     
  11. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Governor Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,920
    Likes Received:
    373
    :) glad ya got it sorted out, Hawkeye!
     
  12. Schuyler Bain

    Schuyler Bain Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,131
    Likes Received:
    1
    Same situation - I will contact a GM and hope they will refresh it for me.
     
  13. Schuyler Bain

    Schuyler Bain Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,131
    Likes Received:
    1
    GM_Inarea fixed me right up and the wait time was less than 30 minutes. Great service - thank you EA Support!
     
  14. sablestorm

    sablestorm Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,948
    Likes Received:
    317
    This is my third time in the wait queue. If I get a canned response, I'm requesting GM_Inarea by name in my next try and if she shows, I'm going to go find her pumpkins and create a shrine for her!

    Aha, GM Balendros just messaged me and fixed the problem. Excellent work GM Balendros!

    I also have to give a shout out to Jessica Folsom, who answered my emails to [email protected]. Thank you for taking the time to look into this!
     
  15. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Governor Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,920
    Likes Received:
    373
    gonna bookmark this thread and throw it at the next person that starts complaining about bad GMs over on UHall ;)
     
  16. sablestorm

    sablestorm Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,948
    Likes Received:
    317
    Well, I'm still a little miffed at the GMs who gave me canned responses yesterday. If they would've responded as GM Balendros did today, it would've saved me some money. I'll give credit to the good GMs, however.
     
  17. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yay! Glad you guys got fixed up!
     
  18. Phaen Grey

    Phaen Grey Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,053
    Likes Received:
    7
    You both are lucky, I got the canned message that the GM's couldn't help please see the knowledge database. Thankfully it refreshed at server up the next day.
     
  19. Woev Kianan

    Woev Kianan Guest

    I reactivated an account and my house failed to refresh. I contacted customer support and a GM "fixed" the problem. I notice that fixing it made it a grandfathered house. I have to refresh it manually. I know I should shut up and see if I can place a second house, but really am nervous about the grandfathered status.

    Thoughts & suggestions?
     
  20. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    6

    Pretty sure placing a second house will condemn it. The GM screwed up. If you really want to know what will happen you can wait till server down and place a house and see what happens when you try to refresh it.

    Honestly this sounds like a big pain to me. If for some reason you are gone for a few days or forget, you could lose your house quite easily. I'd repage and get it fixed (or just drop and replace the house if it's not totally full of stuff or is a castle or something). Resize option would work pretty well for that.
     
  • About Us

    Stratics is the oldest continually running MMORPG Fansite on the Internet. Founded in 1997 Stratics has served the Ultima Online Community for 18 years. We strive to provide the most complete social experience for Ultima Online players.
  • Subscribe Now!

    Want to provide Continual Support? Subscribe and gain additional benefits as a patron of Stratics.com!
    Subscribe Now!

    Stratics Professional Accounts feature the following advantages:

    • Ad-Free Browsing of our Forums
    • Upload a custom Profile Cover
    • Unlimited media upload storage space
    • Use of the theme styler
    • Ability to collapse the sidebar
    • Premium background themes to choose from
    • Access to additional features of the Classifieds System
    • Ability to Customize Your User Title
    • No Post Delays
    • Additional Signature Allowances:
    • Special Professional Banner Display with your Account
    • PM Allowance Upgrade
    • Additional Thread Allowances
  • Support Us!

    Don't feel like subscribing? Donations to benefit the further development of Stratics and for purchase and inclusion of additional features are always welcome.

    Donate to us!