1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Ultima on a Mac

Discussion in 'UHall' started by sarloth, Jun 20, 2009.

  1. sarloth

    sarloth Guest

    I have a friend who wants to see what our world is like! She uses a mac though, anyone know how to set this up? Do I need darwine or something? I am a Linux user myself, so I have no issue getting a little dirty to make it work. Let me know if you have any suggestions, tips, or ideas. I have googled it a bit but I figured you guys might be able to help a bit faster.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Omnius

    Omnius Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,209
    Likes Received:
    9
    if she uses an intel mac she can just run windows via bootcamp. if she has an older mac she can run an emulator to run UO but will be extremely laggy regardless of connection or specs.
     
  3. HillBilly

    HillBilly Guest

  4. IanJames

    IanJames Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    103
    hmm I never could get darwine configured properly on my mac.
     
  5. SchezwanBeefy

    SchezwanBeefy Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Darwine never wanted to work for me. If you're willing to pay for just a bit, you could try CodeWeavers, which is what I use. I really don't have much lag issues but once in a while and the game rarely crashes for me. If you do a search for this program, it's called "Cross Over". I think you can get KR to run using it too, but I would imagine it would be super difficult for you mac to handle emulating and running heavy graphics at the same time.
     
  6. I have been dual booting into Windows XP with my newer UniBody MacBookPro. Reading this I just found out about the CrossOver and am installing 9th Anniv right now on it.

    Anyone been able to get UOAM & UOAssist to run along side UO with Crossover?
     
  7. lucitus

    lucitus UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    45
  8. IanJames

    IanJames Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    103
    I had no problem with wine and both versions of KR on Ubuntu
     
  9. HillBilly

    HillBilly Guest

    They want to play on Mac.
    OSX I assumed.
    :)
     
  10. Seismic

    Seismic Guest

    I'd like to know this too before I burn the 30 day trial..let us know your results..
     
  11. Omnius

    Omnius Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,209
    Likes Received:
    9
    just use boot camp to run it through windows. Apple gave us the amazing ability to run anything on our macs natively. Use it.
     
  12. Simon

    Simon Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    2
    You can get UO run pretty good with CrossOver Games which is a Wine for Macs and it looks like this: (click the HD Button for a better picture!)

    [YOUTUBE]NvJs0-aBhqs[/YOUTUBE]

    It's still a bit laggy but playable for PvM or Crafting related things.

    I would pay for a native UO:SA client for OSX. Really! But wont happen, I'm sure...

    Darwine is not longer supported afaik.
     
  13. Seismic

    Seismic Guest

    Right but does UOAssist work with Crossover??
     
  14. Simon

    Simon Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yea, as you can see in my video:

    [YOUTUBE]NvJs0-aBhqs[/YOUTUBE]