1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Ultima Online 2d... on a Mac...

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Topsy Krett, May 8, 2009.

  1. Topsy Krett

    Topsy Krett Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know it is possible, and I have searched high and low... but I can't get it to run!

    I am using VMware Fusion 2.0 (Which emulates Windows XP) which should work, it installed just fine... But it won't patch whatsoever.

    Is there something I am doing wrong? Hopefully there are some Mac users here who can help me, thanks!!!
     
  2. Omnius

    Omnius Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,209
    Likes Received:
    9
    I used vpc for a long time. Honestly, it's so laggy and slow its not worth emulating UO.

    My advice, use an intel mac and bootcamp xp
     
  3. I have a friend with a mac, he got UO working decently with Wine.
     
  4. Honestly, most people go broke buying half decent macs. I wouldn't assume he's in a position to buy a mac with integrated intel chipsets unless that is what he got in the first place. Otherwise it would ideally work. The best possible thing that could ever happen would be for EA to produce a Mac and a Linux client so I can stop dual booting Windows.

    Edit: that last line was a little selfish... I should have said that so the majority of the non-windows based users can stop dual booting windows. :)
     
  5. deadite

    deadite Sage
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend It's My Birthday

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    20
    I switched to Mac a little while back and I love it. I'm playing UO on an old laptop, but I have been reading up on playing UO on a Mac.

    From what I understand, UO works pretty well in Wine. Check here:
    http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=version&iId=4032

    Also, you can download some really easy to install versions of Wine for Mac (called Darwine) here:
    http://mike.kronenberg.org/?p=167

    There's some tweaking involved, but it should work. I haven't had time to mess around with it yet. Let us know if you have any luck! I'll do the same.
     
  6. deadite

    deadite Sage
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend It's My Birthday

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    20
  7. MoneyMaker

    MoneyMaker Guest

    Why would I need to bash your Mac? Mac owners seem to do the job just fine.
    Personally, I would go back to the stone age, before I ever use/buy/have a Mac, again.
    Yup, I had one. then I got smart and did away with it. (smashed that sucker to tiny bits. then used a torch on it.)

    So, nope. I am not gonna bash on your mac. :D
     
  8. Topsy Krett

    Topsy Krett Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the replies... I understand I can use Boot Camp/Wine, etc.

    But I would really like to just get the patch up and running on my VMware Fusion. I am not looking to play UO on it 'hardcore' (as I use my PC for that :) ) but I want to have it so in case I need to log in to make a transaction or something along that sorts...

    Any ideas? I've tried searching the VMware forums, found nothing :(

    Could it be blocking the port? Hmmm... would a dev possibly know? Thanks.
     
  9. SchezwanBeefy

    SchezwanBeefy Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Topsy, what kind of mac do you have and what OS are you running on? (I'm running on a Mac Pro laptop on OS X, so I'm speaking to how it works on mine and it might run different on others) It could possibly be a port but it might be that the program isn't loading correctly because whatever application you're running to emulate windows to run UO isn't working well with it. I recommend using a program called crossover, which has a 7 day free trial you can use to see if it runs it correctly rather than using whatever program you're using now - it's made by codeweavers. I recommend trying that before working with the ports.
     
  10. deadite

    deadite Sage
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend It's My Birthday

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    20
    Crossover is basically a Wine fork. It's a good piece of software, but it costs money. I'd really recommend trying to work with Darwine before committing any money to Crossover.

    Just my two cents!
     
  11. Not entirely sure if this would work on a mac, but you can format a decent sized flash drive, get a drive emulater to install windows xp on the flash drive. When you start the computer, set your boot sequence to usb so the drive starts. Install UO on it, patch it and play it. I use to do that at school awhile back and got occassional lag spikes, but was playable. If it sounds like to much effort, dont bother lol.


    MoneyMaker

    I think everything has pros and cons. Quality wise, I love Macs. Versatility wise, PC is at the top of the list.
     
  12. EnigmaMaitreya

    EnigmaMaitreya Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I read up on what you have (vs I use VMWare Server under Xp on one machine and UBUNTU on another).

    As far as I can see this is a configuration designed for the Mac OS X.

    As such I am going to assume that you have installed XP, 2K or Win9X.

    I am going to stop right here and let you fill in all the missing blanks here so we can see were you may be having an issue.

    On the other hand, just curious, what do you have against WineHQ? I run UO and UOKR on UBUNTU.WineHQ and they both outperform XP for sure and Windows 7.

    It is a snap to set up, and your UO/UOKR looks (from the desktop) just like another App. Unlike the VMware/VPC WineHQ is NOT a virtualization. It is an interface translator and the code has been optimized to perform better than the original Windows API. The underlying OS is vastly more efficient than any version of Windows I have ever used. And of course it is all Free.
     
  13. Topsy Krett

    Topsy Krett Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    I actually just figured out the issue... It was Windows 7 firewall blocking it... :dunce:

    I have nothing against WineHQ, all day I was actually checking out Wine and Darwine... This is actually the better alternative! I'm just brand new to the Mac scene plus I wanted to try Windows 7 out... Been a PC guy since I was born, and being a CS undergrad, that's really all we use... Up until recently I saw a lot of friends bringing Macbooks and Macbook Pro's to my classes and saw they were using VMware which my school offers us the opportunity of putting on the Mac (for CS majors). So I thought it'd be the perfect opportunity to test the Mac OS and see what it's like. We use VMware mainly for C++, but I like this Wine thing and I'm going to test it out (still tough getting use to this OS).

    Thanks for everything though, might even try CrossOver... :danceb:
     
  14. Nephrenia

    Nephrenia Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm also using Fusion, and generally speaking UO runs fine.. although I do get some annoying mouse lag. (I actually couldn't help with your problem as I haven't had any issues like that as of yet)

    The only issue I find now is if I want to use a headset for ventrilo/teamspeak, it won't work at all. For those times I absolutely have to chat, I just flip over to windows using bootcamp.
     
  15. EnigmaMaitreya

    EnigmaMaitreya Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    One of the issues with Virtualization ... as of now, is that mostly the Hardware tends to be abstracted / Virtual. As such it tends to be more ... utilitarian / functional than anything else. This tends to not work well for ... gamer's.

    It has been a while since I used CrossOver .... then it was the Wine fork for installing business app's etc, now I see they have branched out to games as well.

    There were three forks .... TransGaming is one of them and has always been about Hard Core Gaming and performance. I mean these guys lived to make the API translation superior to Windows in every possible respect. I am glad to see they and WineHQ have resolved out some of their .... issues.

    Their Linux product is Cedega, I do not know if it will run on the Intel Mac's or not, but if it does, then .... I would suspect it is the best of the group for serious gaming of PC games on a non Windows platform. I think they wanted a $5 per month subscription, with an initial 6 month commitment. The subscription is for updates, so does not invalidate your Cedega.

    Looking around I did find this and it kind of makes one wonder, considering EA has the Liscense for it.

    http://www.transgaming.com/products/cider/

     
  16. SchezwanBeefy

    SchezwanBeefy Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Crossover is worth the trial to at least see if you like it. There might or might not be crack codes out there now, but I was willing to pay. Back when I was trying to get UO to work, I downloaded DarWine and I just couldn't understand how to get it running. There is a new program out but I can't remember what it's called... it was made specifically by MAC in the last year or so for emulating. Came out right around the time of Leopard I think.
    The only problem I experience with Crossover is a slight lag but it's hardly noticeable. The little bar at the top of the window has gone missing, too, so it's kind of impossible to move the screen about now, but UO is mostly a full screen kind of game.
    Here's a screen of my game playing in Crossover if you'd like a look.

    [​IMG]
     
  • About Us

    Stratics is the oldest continually running MMORPG Fansite on the Internet. Founded in 1997 Stratics has served the Ultima Online Community for 18 years. We strive to provide the most complete social experience for Ultima Online players.
  • Subscribe Now!

    Want to provide Continual Support? Subscribe and gain additional benefits as a patron of Stratics.com!
    Subscribe Now!

    Stratics Professional Accounts feature the following advantages:

    • Ad-Free Browsing of our Forums
    • Upload a custom Profile Cover
    • Unlimited media upload storage space
    • Use of the theme styler
    • Ability to collapse the sidebar
    • Premium background themes to choose from
    • Access to additional features of the Classifieds System
    • Ability to Customize Your User Title
    • No Post Delays
    • Additional Signature Allowances:
    • Special Professional Banner Display with your Account
    • PM Allowance Upgrade
    • Additional Thread Allowances
  • Support Us!

    Don't feel like subscribing? Donations to benefit the further development of Stratics and for purchase and inclusion of additional features are always welcome.

    Donate to us!