1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Ultima Online Classic Client on Surface Pro

Discussion in 'UHall' started by The Predator, Mar 31, 2013.

  1. The Predator

    The Predator Journeyman

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    70
    Can anyone confirm if you can run the Classic Client on a Surface Pro?

    And a side note --- can you run a USB plug-and-play mouse in the Surface -- so ideally you can play Ultima Online on the machine?


    Thank you.
     
  2. Ron Silverbeard

    Ron Silverbeard Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,741
    Likes Received:
    576
    Not tested it on the ugly thing yet but on a compareable slate device it worked very well on W7..
    Concerning the mouse, i guess you will need a BT mouse...

    P.S. Since it got a full sized USB 3.0 port, you can just plug a mouse on it without any problem...or, i would buy a wireless desktop set...
     
    #2 Ron Silverbeard, Mar 31, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2013
  3. Zosimus

    Zosimus Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    4,370
    Likes Received:
    720
    You can play WoW on it so UO should be no issue. I would also suggest to buy a wireless desktop set because the soft keypad you get with Surface wont hold up to games that demand alot of key mashing.


    The Google Nexus 10 also rocks for mmo's.
     
  4. Widow Maker

    Widow Maker Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,391
    Likes Received:
    42
    Yes...and Yes... Surface Pro rocks..very sweet machine..except it is pretty much non-repairable. Still very sweet.
     
  5. Nexus

    Nexus Site Support
    Administrator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Patron

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,572
    Likes Received:
    1,836
    yeah I was going to say since the Surface Pro uses Windows 8 Pro and not the RT version there shouldn't be an issue with it running anything its system specs and OS compatibility will allow. Surface Pro machines are running a 3rd Gen i5 processor, the Surface RT machines use nVidia Tegra 3 processors, think of the Surface Pro as a hybrid Laptop instead of a tablet like the RT.
     
    Widow Maker likes this.