1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Unknown owner, unknown ship, Dry docked.

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Minerva Foxglove, May 8, 2011.

  1. Minerva Foxglove

    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    327
    Thats what the runes for my orc ship and tokuno ship tells today. The small boat is fine. The boats were refreshed yesterday or the day before. As the orc ship was at the Emporium I took my fisher to the Mafincia shore to set a small boat in the water and sail there. But I couldnt. I got the message I had already a boat in the water. I took another char and sailed the small boat to the Emporium and my orc ship was where I left it. I placed the small boat next to the orc ship and went back there with my fisher. She could get on board and mark a rune. This rune say name and owner correctly . Phew. Just my otherr boat is out there somewhere and i have no clue how to find it!:cursing:

    Is anyone else having this prob? Im on Europa btw.
     
  2. DVDA

    DVDA Guest

    No, however the oddest thing happened to me 3 days ago...

    I placed my legacy small boat in the water behind my house (Ice Land) and i went back to my house for about 10 minutes...Went back outside and the ship was gone. I recalled off the key and it was located on an Grassy Island (I dont know where exactly, didnt have a sextant - but it was obviously no where near Ice Land)

    Was baffled, something is definitely wrong with boating lately
     
  3. cravena

    cravena Guest

    I m having the same trouble. I cant get to my ships. They are "unknown" by the runes. I did refresh them yesterday as well.

    That s really a shame !! not only the high seas boosters is poorly done but it s full of bugs. Bugs with ships, bugs with bosses, etc...

    I did complain already when the booster has been released. Trying to sell hard unchecked boosters is meaning to me that UO is really in trouble.

    Now i m just fearing the next booster release.... Is that the right time to say no thanks ? no more F... boosters ?

    If you guys cant check the booster you sell it's time to do another job maybe ?
     
  4. DragonSlayer

    DragonSlayer Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Minerva, where was your Tok ship last? I've heard there is a time limit at the Mag docks and will push your ship to deep water after a short time, sometimes past or at a server line which "breaks" the rune

    DVDA, was your gangplank locked? I heard people finding these legacy boats unlocked and taking them for a joyride.
     
  5. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    It seems many boats, at least on Europa, have lost the connection between boat and rune. The boats are still there. I took another char on a different boat and found mine. General chat revealed many other boat owners seeking their vessels.
    I started a thread for my boat on Europa board. Post your boat's name on there and hopefully we'll find it.
     
  6. Bobar

    Bobar Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,044
    Likes Received:
    577
    Yep happened to me this morning. Started morning on board my ship sailed into Brit Docks Europa and completed a quest. Went of to couple places and when went to recall told me ship could not be located. Rune had marked itself as described. As I knew where my ship was I just went to it and remarked a rune but there is definitely something gone wrong.
     
  7. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    It may be a facet problem. I just recalled on my default for my house. The char was in tram, the house is in fel. I wound up at the right co-ordinates, wrong facet.
     
  8. Adol

    Adol Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,502
    Likes Received:
    469
    I think I know what one of the causes of this could be... It's the paint applied to the ship. It decays one stage every 2 weeks I believe; so if you apply 3 coats red to get the brightest colour, 2 weeks later it decays to 2 coats red, then 1 coat, then unpainted.

    But at each stage of decay it becomes classed as a new object; it's not "Red 3 Ship" any more. It's not an issue when painting, because the boat is dry docked and the runes won't appear until placed, but if the decay happens whilst it's at sea, the rune no longer points to it foolishly, as it's now a different ship, and it won't refresh the rune until you find the ship again.

    You can spot it's changed because when you get back to shore, and dry dock, you've suddenly got two new runes, one in your back one in the bank. I don't even buy runes any more for marking, I just use the hordes of ship runes I keep getting...

    There are other bugs too which break it of course; it thinks your ship is on the opposite facet is a common one I've seen, but I can usually recall to it correctly all the same. Usually.

    They need to stop paint decaying methinks, even if it's part of the Gold Sink approach, because it's breaking a major game mechanic as well.
     
  9. Cailleach

    Cailleach Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    127

    Previous to all the kerfuffle with ships, even previous to the last bug when fishmongers didn't 'see' ships, I've had a similar problem. I recalled to the co-op, which is my fishers default rune, and ended up in the same spot, but in fel, not tram. Happened several times before it sorted itself out. I think I had to change the default in my book to something else, then change it back.
     
  10. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    My boat had lost a paint layer when I found it. I think you're on the right track.
    I also think that next time I'm at seamarket I'm buying a tub of colour remover.
     
  11. Cailleach

    Cailleach Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    127
    Ok, just went and checked my ships. My fisher had logged off on hers, and the rune worked just fine, although I've remarked it, just in case. The guild ship I had to run to. Fortunately, I'd tucked her in on the coast near Ice, so I just had to recall to there and run round!

    Fishers rune was in her book, guild ship rune was loose in chars pack.
     
  12. Lord Raven

    Lord Raven Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    7
    I gave up painting my boats a long time ago. No matter which client I was using I had a hard time figuring out what color I was getting. So I would usually end up buying a couple tubs of the wrong color every time I went to re-paint a boat. Add that to the weathering factor and I got fed up with it.

    As for loosing legacy ships... I've seen posts here on Stratics by folks bragging about how they go around looking for these ships and taking them for a joyride. The rationale seems to be, if you leave it unlocked, it's ok to steal it.

    I also lost one new ship. Very odd circumstances. The rune in my runebook changed to display a different owner. I had the boat docked in the lost lands. I am positive that the security settings were Guild Only, and yet it seems that someone took control of it then drydocked it.

    * I submitted a bug report for the hijacked ship, but no reply.
     
  13. Beastmaster

    Beastmaster Guest

    This is NOT related to painted ships.

    I have 4 ships on 2 accounts on Chessie, none ever painted. All 4 refreshed yesterday (each and everyday since the fiascoes started). All 4 the runes are invalid today.
     
  14. Adol

    Adol Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,502
    Likes Received:
    469
    I did state I think there are multiple issues; I've lost boats that haven't been painted in weeks too... and when I found it, it was jammed next to what looked like a player boat near Moonglow, and after a while the player boat became an NPC Merchant ship, and sailed off. But I've not been able to replicate those bugs enough to get a sense of a consistent cause for them. The ships paint however seems to always throw off the runes when it decays though.

    Try it and see; paint any spare boat, place it and get the runes, dry dock it again straight away. Leave it until the paint decays, place it again and you get a new set of runes, whilst the old change to "Unknown Ship" and you can't recall from them any more.

    As for the Legacy boats; yes a guild mate of mine got griefed with his when High Seas first went live... they stole it and kept refreshing it so he couldn't place another at all. He's since had the sense to never leave keys on-board if he's using such a ship. I also change Public access on my ships to Not Allowed when I'm not expecting anyone aboard for the same hijacking reason... Unfortunately even Guild mates can't come aboard then, as they are classed as both "Passenger" and "Guild" and it's the lowest part of a set that defines them; they get disqualified from boarding for being a "Passenger". Again, terrible programming, as it should be obvious that people filter by highest ranking instead and "Guild" should be allowed onboard even if "Passenger" is not.

    So yes, again it's not as if I am denying High Seas is buggy as heck; it is. But I'm simply stating that paint decay is one of the main issues.
     
  15. Beastmaster

    Beastmaster Guest

    And I'm glad you found that issue. The Devs never would have.

    The issue today is much larger though. None of my ships have ever been painted and all 4 were hit with this bug. I just finished locating my 4th ship and getting new runes to each. Now I have to go make runes for other characters and get all those ships unloaded.

    I'm done with High Seas until they sort this crap out. I'll have to take a hit on a couple of fish orders probably, but so be it.
     
  16. Minerva Foxglove

    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    327
    My legacy boat is fine. My orc ship at the Emporium is there but the rune doesnt work.The ship has not had any colour for a couple of months.
    My other HS ship is at sea, hopefully just north of Buccs but I dont know exactly where. Its called s/s Marina. The boat was never dyed. I hope to get time to look for it tonight, but it could take lots of time.:confused:
     
  17. bigpapi

    bigpapi Guest

    I have the same issue. I have never painted my boats. I refreshed Friday. Went today... unknoiwn for both of them. I am gonna really be an unhappy camper if this doesnt get fixed ASAP b/c i have a boat with a full hull of MIBs and Fish and i dont know where it is parked :-(
     
  18. Beastmaster

    Beastmaster Guest

    If anyone has the urge to show some community support to get through this latest episode of EA incompetence, I suggest the following:

    Go to your shard forum and start a thread and ask the moderator to sticky it for you. Make a title like "Lost ships found at sea".

    Get people to start posting coordinates, facet and name of any ship they come across in the open sea. Maybe it will help someone recover from this.
     
  19. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    the ship s/s Marina is at co ordinates 19.41S 110.57E

    hehe already on that. Found one that's greatly worn too.
     
  20. Doubleplay

    Doubleplay Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    150
    My unpainted ship is lost too. I have no idea where I left it, being in the middle of the sea when I last recalled two days ago. This is right up there as an important issue. My whole crab collection and good booty is stored on that boat. Guess no fishing will be going on till the devs get back from weekend.
     
  21. Remo_Williams

    Remo_Williams Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    4
    Got 2 ships lost this morning and numerous guild ships. I think between us we can locate them all and remark but its a pain...
     
  22. TMC Crowley

    TMC Crowley Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    4
    I found all mine but one the one i did all my quest with and there is 8 creates in the cargo hold :grrr: :wall:
     
  23. soulstoner

    soulstoner Guest

    Is it 'possible' that this issue could be fixed and alleviate the need to locate the boats if condition of boat can make it a few days?

    if yes then is it likely?
     
  24. Spellbound

    Spellbound Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    90
    Have 2 ships, original is Tokuno, and a Captain's Bundle Brit ship on another character of same account. Both have been painted from CB permanent dyes. The Brit ship's rune didn't work, but thankfully was able to recall to shoreline right where I left it. So cash paid non-decaying paint isn't a good workaround. What's confusing me is the rune to the Tokuno ship near Papua still works fine today.
     
  25. Kim Li of LS

    Kim Li of LS Guest

    I just made a tread on the LS forums for lost/found ships, Id say having one thread per shard would be better organized in general.
     
  26. Beastmaster

    Beastmaster Guest

    I'd say it's highly unlikely that once the link between ship and rune is broken that it could ever be restored, unless a revert was done.
     
  27. lucitus

    lucitus UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    45
    This also happend to me i paged a GM, it seems that around New Magincia is also a no parking zone, so my boat is teleported away so i cant find it, rune didnt work anymore, but the GM helped me and teleported me directly to my boat.

    Another thing with High Seas for 2 days we want to make a Corgul and all seems normal on the island, but Corgul has not been spawned ;).
     
  28. olduofan

    olduofan Guest

    Well happened to me today as well boat has never been painted and I found it where I left it but none of the runes worked. Also after I found I tried to recall to brit moon gate ended up in fel at daemon temple Ha. Could this have something to with the house issue last night I tried to gate a char home in tel mur and it opened a gate some where in malas. Maybe others are recalling into house by mistake and looting them, just a thought?


    Also whats this new area at the bottom of moonglow you can see it in auto-map but not in game is this an event area ?
     
  29. DVDA

    DVDA Guest

    It may have been I dont remember, however the ship went waaaaaaay to far in the span of 10 minutes.

    Additionally, no one plays this game...who would have taken it for a joyride? I havent seen a soul near my house in years
     
  30. Minerva Foxglove

    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    327
    Petra, you are a star! I had never found my ship without your help.:bowdown:
     
  31. Faeryl

    Faeryl Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,059
    Likes Received:
    476
    While I won't argue that the paint decay could be a possible issue, I will say that I personally have never had an problem with my runes relating to paint decay...

    I had a similar issue with my rune not working for one of my Tokuno ships a few days ago after drydocking and replacing it in the water. That rune worked fine today, but my other Tokuno ship and my Gargoyle ship runes were broken, and they haven't been drydocked in quite awhile. Fixed them all by remarking the runes.

    All three ships get refreshed on an almost daily basis, and none have had their paint decay recently...
     
  32. Yalp

    Yalp Guest

    The issue is on Baja too I have a painted Tok Boat somewhere out at sea *I only cross the server line to turn in quests*.. Runes that were locked down on my house steps AND runes in my rune book are all broken. Boat is in Tram/Brit somewhere.. Was refreshed Friday or Thursday.
     
  33. Willard

    Willard Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    22
    This happened to my with both my ships one on LA and one on Atl. Luck for me, I knew exactly where they were docked. However, when I remarked the ship rune, it said it was in Fel, eventhough it was in Tram??? Both ships are unpainted and were refreashed in the last 2 days.
     
  34. Elric_Soban

    Elric_Soban Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,258
    Likes Received:
    14
    yep. its sounds like basically everyone on GL is having this trouble too

    oubviously the first step is to turn off ship decay until they can sort through this mess
     
  35. T-Hunt

    T-Hunt Sage
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    35
    Ya Great Lakes hit big time.
    Was standing rite beside my ship, tryed to use rune and said can not locate it.
    It then turned the rune to unknown ship or owner.

    I think the GM,s are going to be dam busy for the next few days..haha..
     
  36. Beastmaster

    Beastmaster Guest

    Yep the Trammel/Felucca label is another bug. Dropping the incorrectly labeled rune in a runebook usually fixes that one.
     
  37. Lord X

    Lord X Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    114
    I've had this problem for at least 5 months. I kept recalling to my default castle spot in fel but I ended up in front of a castle in tram. This only seemed to be an issue when I had a ship rune in the same book (not on default). I submitted a bug report but to solve the issue I just ended up putting the ship rune in another rune book.
     
  38. Snakeman

    Snakeman UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    165
    A friend has his 2 ship runes locked down at our vendor home since High Sea's came out, names have never changed. In fact he has a dup set at his Abyss home & they were put down maybe a month or so ago. Ships names clearly on them as on vendor home ones. I know for I have been recalling to each one every other day since his computer is down (just did both Sat night & both were marked correctly). I went just now after I saw this post & all 4 of his ship runes have changed to "Unknown owner, unknown ship". Both ships I think have been painted, if I remember correctly, 1 I know had been the other I think was but not 100% sure. Great bug Dev's. What was turned on today in your UO Systems that's made this effect everyone to once? Something changed, It had to of.... :thumbdown:
    In fact all the other 8 runes for friends boats are all marked Unknown owner, unknown ship. Only ones labeled correctly are friendswho found their ships & redid their runes today after seeing this post (spellbounds being one). 8 marked incorrectly of Unknown owner, unknown ship & 4 newly marked runes. Be curious to see if after server up what happens to the remarked ones or all of the runes now..... :popcorn:
     
  39. Maggie_S

    Maggie_S Guest

    It happen to me on LS too. I recalled from never painted ship [somewhere around Jeholm/Skara Brea area] to moonglow bank and soon as I clicked on rune to go back, the rune changed. I called GM and they said they saw no record of that character even placing a boat. This is the 3rd boat that been lost. Its getting expensive.

    Found my ship.
     
  40. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,922
    Likes Received:
    379
    ^ this
     
  41. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    I recommend that everyone make some kind of a note whenever they move their boat to a new location or log off. I've been making a waypoint on the map.
     
  42. Beastmaster

    Beastmaster Guest

    *Anxiously waiting to see if any of yesterday's remarked runes are invalid again today after server up*

    Europa folks???
     
  43. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    All fine here. Boat rune working as normal.
     
  44. Beastmaster

    Beastmaster Guest

    Now it's getting just weird!
     
  45. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    hehe because it's not broken again this morning??
     
  46. BluDjinn

    BluDjinn Journeyman

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    17
    Old ship runes are still broken on Atlantic.
    The new set I marked yesterday to my ships work.
    But all the old ones I have in rune books are still broken.
     
  47. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    It's highly unlikely that the old runes can be fixed. Just over mark them.
     
  48. Vivacia

    Vivacia Visitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    U se your "Help" option and a gm will take you to your ship, then remark your rune. What I did last night. The gm made me ride in the live fish well on his ship :eek:
     
  49. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    I just paged a gm and he was there in less than 10 min and took me to my ship then asked that I remark the rune and waited to make sure it worked! awesome service