1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Uo and Uoassist

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Lady Michelle, Jun 24, 2013.

  1. Lady Michelle

    Lady Michelle Sprite Full SP
    Stratics Veteran The DarkOutlaws, TDO

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,452
    Likes Received:
    1,114
    Friday Uo kept freezing up, major lag, and lost connection. I was just trying to work on my castle no major event. I also was getting some tabs popping up about uoassist when I was trying to log in. something like mix match yadda yadda and I needed to email tugsoft. I'm not going to spend my time emailing I did the next best thing I login into the classic client with no uoassist. The freezing up, major lag, and lost connection all went away.
    I'm not saying this could be anyone elses problem with Uo, but I'm posting this for the players who been having problems freezing up, major lag, and lost connection for the last months or so. Then they can also try playing without uo assist and see.
     
  2. Snakeman

    Snakeman UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    165
    1st question is are you on Win 7?? This UOA Mismatch data info has been popping up for a long time with me. I have found if it pops up when logging in, I will crash/freeze up within a few sec's normally, if I restart UO from scratch w/UOA again it is fine. Also if you change characters more then a couple of times in Win 7 this mismatch info will pop up or pop up again even if you had restarted, just close all again & restart & it's fine. I am beginning to think it's an issue with Win 7 & UOA somehow myself. I have dual boot systems on my Ofc computer & if I use my XP Pro it never bothers but the Win 7 occasionally this issue pops up.
     
  3. Lady Storm

    Lady Storm Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,752
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    It takes Tugsoft a bit to find the mismatch files and fix the issues of the new patch meshing with Assist.
    Give it a few days and it should have a patch to fix the issues.
     
    AppleJax likes this.
  4. Lady Michelle

    Lady Michelle Sprite Full SP
    Stratics Veteran The DarkOutlaws, TDO

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,452
    Likes Received:
    1,114
    I use XP Pro, and my pc is like 6 or 7 years old I also have the my orginal cd/dvd drive from my first pc.My brother build this one he's been through 2 pcs to my 1. It runs like new though cuz I keep it clean and defragged no downloading well except UO and what I need for UO. I've had the mix matches before friday is the first time Ive had the freezing etc problems. I havent been back on UOassist I kinda like playing with out it.
     
  5. Lady Michelle

    Lady Michelle Sprite Full SP
    Stratics Veteran The DarkOutlaws, TDO

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,452
    Likes Received:
    1,114
    Yup I hear ya, but first time I had the freezing lag etc problems, and thats the only reason I posted this thread due to that, and not on the UOassist mix match problem. This way others who want to see if this could be the problem for them not being able to play for months.
     
  6. Winker

    Winker Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    627
    I emailed him(tugsoft) a few weeks back about the mix match stuff. Its still not fixed
     
  7. Lady Storm

    Lady Storm Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,752
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    I have talked to him many time via the phone and his work takes him a bit of time as tugsoft is not his only venue.
     
  8. Podolak

    Podolak Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,075
    Likes Received:
    658
    Yes we paid for the UOAssist license at one point so we are technically "paying" customers but I still appreciate and am thankful for Tug taking the time to update UOA. If you consider we have been paying EA every month for the last 16+ years but we paid Tug ONCE 14/15 years ago and have received product updates ever since. Then you can easily see Tug has gone well out of his way to keep our $15 purchase (per account obviously) usable and that is appreciated, not expected.

    I think I bought my first UOA license in July of 1999. So lets see....14 years * 12 months = 168 months. $15/168 = ~$0.09. I would say I got my 9 cents a month worth out of UOA.
     
    #8 Podolak, Jun 25, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2013
    Lord Frodo and AppleJax like this.
  9. whiterabbit

    whiterabbit Stratics Legend
    Professional Premium Stratics Veteran Supporter Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter PITMUCK

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,748
    Likes Received:
    3,125
    run as administrator it stopped it for me
     
  10. Snakeman

    Snakeman UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    165

    Always set to run as Admin, it is just flakey every now & then on startup & always is when changing characters numerous times. I just close it & restart both & it's fine, just a nuisance is all in Win 7, in XP never an issue
     
  11. whiterabbit

    whiterabbit Stratics Legend
    Professional Premium Stratics Veteran Supporter Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter PITMUCK

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,748
    Likes Received:
    3,125
    same here
     
  12. PJay

    PJay Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    38
    I Have the Shortcut setup with Run as Admin and Compatibility mode for WinXp (SP3) Never have any problems unless there has been a patch.