1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

UO and Windows 7

Discussion in 'UO Siege Perilous' started by Quira, Nov 3, 2009.

  1. Quira

    Quira Guest

    I have installed W7, have always played on linux so far, but I sorta liked UOAssist, so tried Windoze again...

    Lost connection 3 times tonight while fighting skeletons near Spirituality, so nothing fancy.

    I need to kick something... what do I kick? Windows 7? Or UO? Was tonight a particularly bad night for Siege servers? Or were all you guys OK and should I throw out Windows?

    I would appreciate your advice.

    Kind regards
     
  2. Freelsy

    Freelsy Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    127
    I've been running widow's 7 ultimate edition since April this year and its been great. Have yet to lose connection (other than the occasional ISP acting up). On my normal day to day operations on the comp, Window's 7 is great and super fast.
     
  3. Haven't had an issue with Win7 and connection problems. Perhaps kick your ISP?
     
  4. Ole Cheapy

    Ole Cheapy Guest

    Glad to hear this, I've been dying to get rid of vista and I think i will do just that this weekend.
     
  5. Good Lord Cheapy, you should have done it years ago. Vista eats the booty compared to Win7. Win7 basically keeps all the good [what little there is. :)] of Vista and dumps the bad.

    I haven't touched Vista, but have moved all my personal machines to Win7 from XP. [I had it a month ago, since I am at a College Campus and we get all the cool kids toys a month or so early. :)]
     
  6. Ole Cheapy

    Ole Cheapy Guest

    Believe me I've wanted to but going to windows xp from vista is more complicated than people probably know.
     
  7. Uvtha

    Uvtha Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,533
    Likes Received:
    2,917
    I have w7 on my new laptop, an have had zero issues with it, the few hours ive played UO.
     
  8. Phantroneous

    Phantroneous Journeyman

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Supremely amusing... everyone is running windows xp, vista or switching to windows 7 lol.. i still have windows 2k.. which because of some stupid patch required a little quickfix that even ea doesnt seem to realize the best way to do it.. yet anyways... it's amusing to see everyone talk about all these new clients and their issues when i'm still running 2k....
     
  9. Quira

    Quira Guest

    I have not had any problems anymore... perhaps because I didn't try to use automap anymore. Or my ISP had a bad day. I will investigate this further.

    @phantro: I would not trust W2K with my UO accounts anymore. It is too easy a target now. And I am kinda attached to my UO chars :)

    Kind regards
     
  10. Critical Gaming

    Critical Gaming Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    172
    I just finished d/ling W7 this morning. When I get time I'll wipe my vista partition and install it. I have a gut feeling that microsoft failed again by putting too much into the GUI (to make it easy for old people) and leaving out features.

    The only reason I upgraded to vista originally was because my parts manufacturer didn't write XP drivers for my HD audio. Recently I installed XP pro lite (modded for performance) and I'm using a bull**** driver that installed off of my "75,000 XP/Vista Driver pack!" disc. Even though my master sound control doesn't work and XP only recognizes 2.5 out of my 4gb, its still better than Vista's randomly failing services and UO dual client freezing.

    XP is the only OS they got right so far IMO. :(
     
  11. Phantroneous

    Phantroneous Journeyman

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the info and personally it doesn't bother me.. i've never had anything worthwhile in the first place
     
  12. Ole Cheapy

    Ole Cheapy Guest

    Did you just admit that you were dual clienting before SA was released. Gotta love it! :)
     
  13. Critical Gaming

    Critical Gaming Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    172
    I'll admit that I'm triple clienting as we speak, sir.
     
  14. Ole Cheapy

    Ole Cheapy Guest

    Is that legal? If so do you mind explaining how it's done?
     
  15. kelmo

    kelmo Old and in the way
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Dread Lord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17,384
    Likes Received:
    4,707
    How fast can you shift between users on 7?
     
  16. Critical Gaming

    Critical Gaming Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    172
    Nope. I don't like you. ;)
     
  17. WTF is complicated?

    Backup your stuff, install XP.

    I suppose if you don't have a license, I'm a bit spoiled as we're all site licensed.

    I also partition my drives so install is like 60GB, data is the rest so I can install/reinstall when-ever.

    And interesting the that win2K guy thinks 'I haven't had any issues' = problems. Win2K is great and quite stable, no more than XP these days or Win7, I haven't seen a legitimate blue screen in eons, but it's a lot slower than XP or Win7.
     
  18. Dual/Triple clienting isn't illegal. I don't know why people all get up in arms about that. It's not like you're running 3 separate chars off a single hacked account on Siege.

    If your comp can handle 3 running instances of UO and you're logged into all 3 of them at once, more power to you. I used to triple client back in the day and on occasion quad client. Although I also have a half a dozen computers to do that with.
     
  19. N49ATV

    N49ATV Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont see the big deal either. Made it nice to transfer items, or houses between accounts etc.

    I dont see why anyone cares about anything anymore. Macroing, dual+ clients, etc.

    Anything but cheating with speedhacks etc should be fine now. There are so few people playing this game, who cares if they dual client or not, atleast they are here.
     
  20. Ole Cheapy

    Ole Cheapy Guest

    Essence: If you do the researc h you will discover that it's not as simple as partitioning your harddrive and installing xp once you have had vista on your computer, many have tried and failed. Again, do the research if you're not convinced.

    It's not a question if your computer can handle running multiple clients or not, before SA it was not possible to do so without using illegal programs. So if you were doing it back in the day as you claim, then one has to wonder how you were able to accomplish this without using any illegal programs. Things that make you go hmmmm.
     
  21. N49ATV

    N49ATV Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    But this is where you are wrong. There have been many ways over the years to do this without the use of 3rd party programs that were not legal.

    1. Multiple users on a PC, each with a client running, swapping between.
    2. You used to be able to execute client.exe, instead of UO.exe, and multiple clients would open at once. This is still possible to a degree. They fixed this years ago.
    3. You could run UO 2d, and then client from the 3d, and now KR aswell. As long as you dont run UO.exe, it skips the update check, and thus the check for other clients running.

    There were always ways around the system.
     
  22. T'Challa

    T'Challa Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,969
    Likes Received:
    15
    Once again Pipsqueak demonstrates his complete lack of ability to understand UO.
     
  23. Ole Cheapy

    Ole Cheapy Guest

    I could refute the hell outta this statement but since I can live with it I won't bother.
     
  24. Critical Gaming

    Critical Gaming Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    172
    The only thing that can be difficult about dual booting XP and Vista is vista's new boot manager.

    Maybe if you'd do some RESEARCH cheapy you'd find there's a nifty little program called EasyBCD Editor which lets you create a custom vista bootloader in a few easy clicks!

    Edit:

    Oh, and if you're talking about deleting your vista partition and installing XP being hard, you're a moron. :(
     
  25. Ole Cheapy

    Ole Cheapy Guest

    You simply DO NOT know what you're talking about and I did not want two operating systems on my computer I only wanted xp, again you DO NOT know what you're talking about. And I never said it couldn't be done I said it was more difficult than people probably know. Can that be the end of it?

    I now have W7 and I'm very happy with it so get off me sack.
     
  26. If you bothered to read my post, backup your data, reformat the hard-drive and reinstall. Vista does nothing to the HD that a reinstall can't undo. You may have to slipstream some drivers or find a USB Floppy to install an intel driver for a sata board, but nothing impossible. I do it for a living every day. Thanks for playing.

    Again you bothered to read, I have 6+ computers at my disposal at home so I ran 4 clients on 4 separate computers. Again, thanks again for playing.

    Additionally, if someone is using an 'illegal' program to multi-client it's still not illegal, I don't care what EA says. They're logging into a separate accounts, how does using a program to allow them to do so make it illegal? Perhaps the program itself had other nefarious 'extras' but if there's a program out there that solely allows you to run multiple clients with a single user [VMWare, MS-VM anyone?] there's NOTHING illegal about that, short of giving EA more of your money.
     
  27. Ole Cheapy

    Ole Cheapy Guest

    Like yourself, I too have reformatted 100's of drives and this sounds like just another log on the fire, but again, i repeat, with computers (Dell) with preinstalled vista on them it's not as simple as it sounds.

    If you have a vista computer why not just try your simple logic for yourself? It seems it is the only way for you to understand. But what confuses me is why do you guys even care that I said it was more difficult than most probably know? If you really wanna know then just try to delete your vista partition and make a new one and install xp on it.
     
  28. Cheapy, sorry, but you are so wrong.

    I have 230 DELL COMPUTERS that I manage. Close to half of those came with Vista pre-installed. Guess what, they're all running XP currently because we don't want to run Vista.

    Simple logic was this: 50% of those that had Vista were just fine, pop in the XP disc, it finds the drive, delete the partitions, have a nice day. The other 50%, XP couldn't find the drive because XP didn't have the SATA driver for the mobo. Slipstream the driver with nLite and then delete partitions and install XP, maybe an extra 30 mins of work. (And extra work only for the first install, use this disc for all the others)

    We care because it's not more difficult than most probably know, it's no more difficult than installing XP for the most part. I guess you only 'think outside the box' in UO.

    Edit: The only wrench might be a precision workstation. I've run into issues with XP not liking the hardware raid setups on those and it takes a considerable amount of time to get it work. But 99.9% of home users aren't running a precision workstation as they are business class machines.
     
  29. Ole Cheapy

    Ole Cheapy Guest

    The problem was with vista home edition, i suppose you're gonna tell me all 250 compuetrs had the home edition, right? *shakes head* it's really not a big deal but there were plenty of users who had the same known problem trying to go back to xp. Like I've said there are forums explaining the process how to succeed but imo it was just too much trouble and not the typical reformat and install as you would think. I never said it was impossible but it doesn't matter now cause i have windows 7 ultimate and I'm very happy. Can't you just shut up already and be happy for me?
     
  30. Some had business, others had home because we knew we were going to nuke 'em and no point in paying more for an OS that we were replacing.

    All versions of Vista are basically the same kernel with certain features 'unlocked.' Home doesn't handle partitioning the HD any different than Business or Ultimate does, the File System is the SAME. What-ever this KNOWN issue is, is more like an UNKNOWLEDGABLE user issue. IE: the ol' ID-10-T error.

    If you're talking LICENSING, you can't install WinXP with a Vista Home key, but that has NOTHING to do with the physical installation of WinXP. Buy a legitimate copy of WinXP and you're set to go. There a NO issues short of SATA drivers for newer machines not being on XP disks when you completely wipe a disk. I have 3 machines at home that all came with Vista Home on them that I wiped and installed XP on them. I since installed 7 on them, but there were no issues, short of slip-streaming drivers.

    Give me some links to your known issues if you don't mind. I'd love to see them, but I'm willing to bet they're all about the slipstreaming of the Sata drivers. I've done it on my personal machines: Inspiron 1420, a E6400, Studio Hybrid, and numerous other dells for clients for my tech support business, with the exception of Precisions, I've never had a machine that couldnt' be done. Sometimes you have to root through the drivers to make sure you're installing the correct one, but it's not that hard.

    I wish you lived close to me, because I'd bet a month's paycheck that I can have XP installed on your machine in under two hours.

    Edit: And no, I can't shut and be happy for you because you're claiming it's rocket science to do it and it's not. Can't you shut up and say "Maybe I don't know what I'm talking about and the guy who does this for a living probably does?" Would you shut up and be happy for me because I already bought a home and was happy but was spewing **** that wasn't true about Mortage stuff?
     
  31. Ole Cheapy

    Ole Cheapy Guest

    Hey you were happy for Kage working around a bunch of hardcore men locked up like animals with boy fantasies but you can't be happy for me cause my desktop is no longer slow as a turtle from the vista virus!
     
  32. You show me where I was happy for Kage, I challenge you to link to a post I made.

    You can't, which really calls into question how accurate everything you post is.

    Way to WTFail!!!!!111eleventyone!

    PS - Am I'm delighted you like Win7 and are off of Vista, but I'm not going to let you get away with spewing falsities about the downgrade process from Vista.
     
  33. Spree

    Spree Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    13
    I been running Vista since March and had 0 issues with it. I don't thing it worth the time or hassle to upgrade to win 7. I'll let them beta test it on you for 6 months to a year until SP1 comes out.