1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

UOA Patch deleted (actually, relocated) macros

Discussion in 'UHall' started by G.v.P, Apr 22, 2011.

  1. G.v.P

    G.v.P Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9,644
    Likes Received:
    831
    UOA patched just now, Vista, without running as Admin, now all my UOA macros and settings are reset to default. Ran it as Admin and logged out to see if it would fix anything, because sometimes that works, but that didn't work. Was wondering if there is anyway to fix it, I know it's a common problem. If not, do you have to make a backup of the UOA-Settings folder, then just paste them back in after a patch?

    Edit: That's odd, UOA's official page said there was no patch, lol. But it downloaded a file on patch screen. Gwah.
     
  2. Specialshoes

    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    29
    Re: UOA Patch deleted macros

    I do keep a back up of the macros. And it is just copy and paste them.
     
  3. G.v.P

    G.v.P Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9,644
    Likes Received:
    831
    Re: UOA Patch deleted macros

    Hm I guess my next question is did anyone get a UOA update today?
     
  4. Fat Midnight

    Fat Midnight Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    2
    Re: UOA Patch deleted macros

    I did not, that is odd.
     
  5. Capn Kranky

    Capn Kranky Guest

    Re: UOA Patch deleted macros

    yes - and from the UOA Updates page:

    • Finds latest versions of UO classic better
    • Changed so it requires that it runs as Administrator which will help with updates and also with changes latest UO install makes in registry.
     
  6. G.v.P

    G.v.P Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9,644
    Likes Received:
    831
    Re: UOA Patch deleted macros

    Ah thanks guys okay they just updated patch notes for today, hrm. Well crap, if anyone reads this thread back up your UOA Settings folder before you get patch :/. lol
     
  7. Kojak

    Kojak Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    690
    Re: UOA Patch deleted macros

    the macros aren't deleted - uoassist is just looking for them in a different place on vista and windows 7

    instead of being relegated to the virtualstore directory like they were before uoassist was forced to run as administrator because of the way windows vista and 7 work, now the macros are back where they belong - in the program files subdirectory where uoassist itself is installed

    wow - it'll take a book to teach people how to copy them from 1 place to the other - lol - this should cause alot of trouble for computer challenged people - let the pancakes BEGIN! - hehe
     
  8. G.v.P

    G.v.P Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9,644
    Likes Received:
    831
    Re: UOA Patch deleted macros

    Thanks for the helpful yet stereotypically angry reply, techie :p. It's more of the "if it ain't broke, you forget about it" kind of thing. I mean seriously, I knew how to use DOS when it was relevant, over a decade ago, but ask me now and I have to look it up again. I haven't had to fix UOA in probably the same timespan.

    I'll look into the virtuestore directory :).
     
  9. G.v.P

    G.v.P Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9,644
    Likes Received:
    831
    Re: UOA Patch deleted macros

    For those affected w/ Vista:

    C:\Users\[UserName]\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files\UOAssist

    Where [UserName] varies depending on your name ;p

    Copy and paste the UOA-Settings folder found there to:

    C:\Program Files\UOAssist\

    :)
     
  10. kRUXCg7

    kRUXCg7 Sage

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    227
    Re: UOA Patch deleted macros

    Website news seem to be unavailable right now, so thanks for posting this. Website says:
    The news is missing!
    A grand master thief must have stolen it! Or maybe there was just an issue with the database.
    Please try again later.

    This is really scary, first thought was "oh they hacked the UOAssist website and giving me a malicious update file via auto-update". A bad coincidence. And I really hate the idea that UOAssist enforces admin rights. A very very bad thing to do. Some users probably don't even have an admin password, just think of children who may not do everything on a computer - for very good reasons.
     
  11. Righty

    Righty Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    6
    Re: UOA Patch deleted macros

    I Got the patch too. my macros seem to be fine, however my uo cartographer is not tracking me and I cannot use vent when im in the uo window.
     
  12. Twooflower

    Twooflower Guest

    Macros are still running as before, but UOTillermanHelper is not working anymore since the last patch.
     
  13. Yalp

    Yalp Guest

    UGh.. I can't find the files.. I'm on Win7. Grr.. ***** *****, moan moan. There.. the techies should be happy now..

    .. so those in the know care to post how to find my existing macros?
     
  14. Amber Moon

    Amber Moon Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Patched in Win 7, run as admin. Files are in C:program Files\UOA\Settings

    and working fine
     
  15. Kellgory

    Kellgory Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,639
    Likes Received:
    1
    It looks like in Window 7 the old files are still in the Users folder but the appdata folder is hidden. I just did a search on the C: drive using the char name and it brought up folder for the UOA macros in the Users folder that I couldn't see before. I then just copied all of the files in that folder (could have just copied the folder) over the files or folder in Program Files (x86).

    Just curious, for those that have Windows 7 and their UOA program in Program Files, does UOA work fine for you without having to copy old files? Just wondering if the problem is with those people that have UOA saved in Program Files (x86).
     
  16. spoonyd

    spoonyd Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    49
    In vista, won't patch UO with UOA.....says I can run as is. Suggestions?

    Does it have anything to do with Windows updates I recently downloaded?
     
  17. Yalp

    Yalp Guest

    nope.. can't get any of my old macro files.. followed every bit of techie directions here.. even restored my system to last week.. what a complete fiasco..
     
  18. spoonyd

    spoonyd Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    49
    I just got my macros back but it won't apply the latest patch and I have no idea why. Tried running Admin and nothing. Gotta love this stone age game.
     
  19. kRUXCg7

    kRUXCg7 Sage

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    227
    A friend told me it got updated and now is running without administrative rights again. A wonderful, a happy Easter. I don't know who is responsible and why it all happened, but for me everything is fine again. Let us all celebrate, here, have some pancakes:

    :pancakes:

    And have a drink, everyone:

    :pint:

    --edit:

    You might need to wait until tomorrow to get the update - or go look for the "force update check" icon in your windows start menu. Good luck.
     
  20. G.v.P

    G.v.P Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9,644
    Likes Received:
    831
    Re: UOA Patch deleted macros

    Question -- did the above work for anyone other than me?

    Hm for patch issues, you usually have to run UOA in admin mode for the patch to work right. I have to run UOA or UO in admin mode to patch UO correctly.
     
  21. RawHeadRex

    RawHeadRex Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    12
    vista is such a pos, my heart goes out to you.
     
  22. FishinFool

    FishinFool Guest

    UOAM is tracking again as well after the patch. You might need to restart again after the patch is applied for it to work properly.
     
  23. Re: UOA Patch deleted macros

    omg i thought i was going nuts, I also cant run uo and talk on vent at the same time after this patch :wall:
     
  24. Yalp

    Yalp Guest

    it didn't work for me, but then I deleted all my uoassist, files, programs, etc. and even my uo user files (since my desktop was wiped too). I reloaded my user files for both the uo and uoa.. I seem to be back to normal now.. but it took forever
     
  25. Righty

    Righty Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    6
    Re: UOA Patch deleted macros

    Did you get it working? My map still won't track and vent still won't work with uo either. Any help would be appreciated!
     
  26. PsychoKinetic

    PsychoKinetic Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    14
    After similar issues with the new UOAssist patch and a mouse with programmable buttons (patch kept UO and Assist from seeing it's custom settings) I did a bit of searching and found that Microsoft provides an 'Application Compatibility Toolkit' for us poor souls that are for whatever reason still burdened with Vista. It boils down to creating exceptions for those programs whose rights you want to elevate at system startup. An article with step-by-step instructions can be found here.

    It worked perfectly on my Vista system. Imagine that. :mf_prop:
     
  27. G.v.P

    G.v.P Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9,644
    Likes Received:
    831
    I'll have to check that out. My Microsoft Intellimouse has two functions, DBL Click and F12, and F12 doesn't work in CC or EC right now (used to work in CC), but DBL Click does.
     
  28. kRUXCg7

    kRUXCg7 Sage

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    227
    Hm don't forget, a new UOAssist patch was released yesterday which removes the necessity for it to run with elevated rights.
     
  29. Re: UOA Patch deleted macros

    Still no joy, it works with evey other window open but just not UO :wall:
     
  30. Re: UOA Patch deleted macros

    OK scratch that comment, heres what i did, i started vent first and then ran uo as normal (not admin) and vent worked fine yay, dunno why i never tried that before :dunce: