1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

UOAM try #2

Discussion in 'UHall' started by ingsmsico, Oct 23, 2009.

  1. ingsmsico

    ingsmsico Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, UOAM doesn't work in WIndows 7. I asked for help and my thread was locked. To be honest, I think this topic should be stickied to the top as a solution, but apparently UO Stratics is Anti-UOAM. This illustrates the sad state of UO and the reason people are quitting. Lack of any sensibility. I come back to try and play UO, and immediately I run into hurdles.
     
  2. maroite

    maroite Guest

    If you're running Windows 7, then I imagine your PC can handle the EC. The EC's map is just like UOAM, why not use it and instead of crying about UOAM, and causing problems, go push for EA to put guild tracking into the EC Atlas. It would then essentially be UOAM.

    Also, UOAM hasn't been updated in like 4 years. EA gave people a UOAM like map, in the EC. Its only your problem if you don't use it.
     
  3. Dol'Gorath

    Dol'Gorath Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,331
    Likes Received:
    238
    UOAM is a dead, unsupported program. All the crying in the world isn't going to get it updated. Either learn to live without it or upgrade to the enhanced client.
     
  4. Serine

    Serine Guest

    I use UOAM every day . works just fine . exept dont have ter mur on it .
     
  5. Mitzlplik_SP

    Mitzlplik_SP Guest

    I`ve learned to live w/o it. The EC needs more than just a UOAM copy to make it 2d`s rival for me. I`d really like to love the EC but no matter how much I try to upgrade I just end up logging out to a more stable/comfortable client that causes FAR less frustration.
     
  6. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    I'm sorry, but no one here can help you. UOAM's owner is no longer updating it and will not release the source code, not even to EA. No one is therefore able to update it. I think most people are either using the enhanced client, or turning off uoam when they go to the new lands and using the in-game radar.
     
  7. RichDC

    RichDC Guest

    The enhanced clients map is in no way a comparitive to UOAM.

    I still use UOAM, tram/fel and ter mur. In the abyss you just have to open your radar and place some markers yourself so you know where stuff is.
     
  8. Sneaky Que

    Sneaky Que Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,009
    Likes Received:
    41
    QFT

    Nobody in my guild has a problem with it.

    Try uninstalling completely, re-downloading, and installing it again. DO NOT let it update ANYTHING. When it tells you the map files need to be optimized click CANCEL for every facet. It still works fine for me this way.
     
  9. Exxon

    Exxon Guest

    The workaround to getting it running:

    1. Download UOAM's Install (Blue button, can't miss it.)http://www.uoam.net/uoam.html#downloads

    2. After that is downloaded and installed, most likely you won't have the actual files in your directory so you'll need to download the files manually. Which are here: http://www.uoam.net/files.html
    Side note, only download the UOAM.ZIP, not Beta.

    3. Find the directory you installed UOAM and place those files inside it.

    After all that, just run it let it go through it's "install" process which it isn't downloading anything new. Once it's up you'll have to click cancel when it comes up for optimization. Then calibrate it as normal.


    With the files you manually installed if you have a T-Hunter and use UOAM for maps you'll have to go into the MAP-Additional Settings-Files tab- and check the Treasures inside that tab.


    Hope this helps ya,
    Ex
     
  10. The only thing it "illustrates" is the fact the creator of UOAM stopped updated the program, so it is now dead software. Blaming EA for something they didn't even make is beyond idiotic. That's like blaming Obama because your Sony TV stopped working.
     
  11. Exxon

    Exxon Guest

    C'mon fellehs, no point in flamin the guy, just give him a workaround and let him get to UOing. This wasn't moved to the UO Spiels N Rants....
     
  12. onthefifty

    onthefifty Guest

    YES. TYVM. This worked like a charm.
     
  13. Exxon

    Exxon Guest

    Glad to help :)
     
  14. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,965
    Likes Received:
    5,451
    Why don't we use the EC?

    Because it S***s.... It is fuzzy, hard on your eyes... I can only play it for about 40 min before my eyes are hurting and sore from the strain of trying to "unfuzz" the image... And some things are so freaking tiny you can't hardly see them in your backpack let alone tell what the heck you just put in there...

    I have NO idea why they feel the need to change the art when you put it in that horrid grid in your pack.... the "classic" version of the backpack is WAY too big and looks like smeg...

    I can't keep my character from constantly following my STINKING CURSER..... How in the HECK are you supposed to play when you can't stop following the curser??? It ticks me off to no end.

    So yeah after each and every attempt to play in the EC I get frustrated, have eye strain and my blood pressure skyrockets... I thought games were supposed to be "fun" and relaxing??? I don't find that fun or relaxing...

    Also .... I HATE the "chat" system of talk.... I can't stand the tiny little font... hate trying to figure out just where the heck my speech is...

    I still have no clue why they had to put my text I'm typing into that stinking box and not down at the bottom of the screen where it always used to be... I'm forever looking to the bottom of the screen going WTF?????? and then searching for that stinking box... which is annoying gets in my way and takes up too much room to be effectively usefull as a "journal"...

    I'm sorry but the EC stinks... ... besides it makes me want to wretch when I look at my characters paperdoll and he looks like a dweeb... I hate it...

    But more than anything it's the eye strain... And YES I have it set at 60...... doesn't help that much. Still blurry... ugly and DARK. If I keep increasing the light it gets more and more blurry..... making the strain on the eyes ever greater... WHY did they have to mute all the stinking color and make everything so drab and dark??? Dungeons should be drab and dark but the rest of the world should not be.

    I tried using the EC again yesterday on TC1 To do trick or treating and once again found myself after a few min following the stinking curser.... having trouble targeting the NPC's because my character wouldn't stop following the curser... I was doing a bunch of cursing myself after a short while...
    And it still hurt my eyes... I had trouble seeing what the devil was in my backpack... the webs look like smeg against that black background in there I couldn't hardly tell what was in there...

    I don't want to have to use some "addon" stuff to improve the client.... it should have choices BUILT IN..... like an expandable map should be part of the program .... someone else should NEVER have to create something like that.... it's just lazy programing if you ask me.

    If we have to build files to add to it... then they may as well not put anything in but labels and we can build our own world ... adding all our own graphics... but then I may as well program my own game too and quit paying them to do it...
     
  15. Schuyler Bain

    Schuyler Bain Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,131
    Likes Received:
    1
    These steps worked for me about a month ago when I installed Win 7.

    As to the EC map; it is mush improved, but for me I want more options for turning on/off labels and my favorite feature of UOAM was the ability to set a mark and then you would have a line and distance to the point. Great for finding vendors and custom houses. I guess it was more like a way point and you could only have one. This is what the EC map is missing for me. If it had this I don't think I would use CC again.
     
  16. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,965
    Likes Received:
    5,451
    Reason number 342 to HATE the EC...

    I used it today to try to change my characters face... made a "hag" for halloween and I wanted an "old lady face"... so I finally found the Bodysculpter in Luna got my new body and headed back to my home which I've been decorating for awhile now for the holiday...

    So I go upstairs to the "party" area... and everything is BLINKING.... IN OUT IN OUT... Extremely annoying..... then I see it..... or rather I don't see it...

    I have an ask and answer ball..... COMPLETELY and TOTALLY invisible in the EC.... WTH... talk about nasty...

    Now really how the heck do you all play when every animated object in the stinking game blinks in and out??? Isn't it annoying???

    I thought they were "fixing" this??? Thought it was fixed??? NOpe can't use the fountain for my bandages in the EC cause I can't click the stinking fountain..... it's always blinking..
     
  17. Gwendar-SP

    Gwendar-SP Guest

    UOAM is an old program. If you right click the shortcut and select properties there is a tab for compatibility. I have ming running under win 98.

    don't let it update the maps - it will crash.
     
  18. ingsmsico

    ingsmsico Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry, even dead, unsupported UOAM is better than the "enhanced" client.
     
  19. Restroom Cowboy

    Restroom Cowboy Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here we go again with you making claims that are both inaccurate and ********. The EC map is nothing like UOAM...period.

    1) It is limited to party members only
    2) It does not show homes
    3) It does not show names unless you mouseover (useless in pvp)
    4) It does not show locations of members beyond a screen away (bandwidth issue)
    5) It does lag out the game (UOAM doesnt unless ur on dial up with a pentium)
    6) It does not allow for customization
    7) It does not have a OMG help function
    8) It does not allow you to place markers for other players to see

    ...any questions? (btw...I am positive I missed a few...figured with 8 differences you would get my point and recant your BS)
     
  20. Tanivar

    Tanivar Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,594
    Likes Received:
    1,463
    I had UOAM problems after SA was released. Setting the sliders all the way left from the usual all the way right setting solved the problem.
     
  21. BadManiac

    BadManiac Guest

    Considering Windows 7 performs better than XP on most hardware this statement is a bit odd...

    Anyways, UOAM works on Windows 7, I'm using it on x64. The trick is to not rebuild the maps. Just hit cancel, or press Escape a bunch of times. Then use the old sextant "trick" to calibrate it.
     
  22. blueturtle

    blueturtle Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    824
    Likes Received:
    0
    and whats that old trick? ive been hitting cancel for a while now and my uoam just sticks me in the corner like you logged out....feel naked without it....
     
  23. Salya Sin

    Salya Sin Guest

    OH YAY! I didn't find this thread until now and thanks so much for the information Exxon. I have been missing this program and your instructions worked like a charm!! You are AWESOME!:heart:
     
  24. jack flash uk

    jack flash uk Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,260
    Likes Received:
    76
    SO it was HIS fault, the B*STARD
     
  25. same
     
  26. Freelsy

    Freelsy Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    127

    agree...and I've been using Win7 since late April this year.
     
  27. Sevin0oo0

    Sevin0oo0 Guest

    I use mine daily and I, as others, have complete SA/ter mur content.
     
  28. Sevin0oo0

    Sevin0oo0 Guest

    I'm still curious why Stratics doesn't host replacement maps, or publish information on how to make UOAM work with the new content.
     
  29. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    EA gave people a UOAM like map, in the EC.

    Not quite.

    The EC map is better than 2d's, but not as good as UOAM, or even as good as KR's was.

    Why do I say this? Because aside from bringing back a classic style map and showing placed houses the way the 2d client does, the EC map took HUGE steps backwards from the KR client.

    1. They REMOVED an entire menu that would allow players to customize icons both on the atlas mode and the minimap mode. Now you have ONE icon for your custom plots
    2. The Atlas view NORMALLY is NOT resizable, nor is the minimap (as in 2d). Fortunately, modders have been able to add in atlas resizability as well as coordinates under the radar map, but this has taken the PLAYERS' involvement to happen.
    3. Custom waypoint placement in KR was MUCH more accurate than in SA (and remains so)
    4. EC tracking system not as fine-tuned as UOAM was.

    The EC map needs a LOT of work, and that's just to bring it back to the level that the KR map system was at.

    Yes, I'm bagging on the EC... that however does NOT mean I'm placing the 2d client above it in any way. The EC is the wrong step backwards back towards the 2d client that should have never been made.
     
  30. Mike of Ameraust

    Mike of Ameraust Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good and bad issues i guess, 3d map is far superior IF you install the right mods, it's expandable, shows your corpse automatically, shows healers (A god send for me), custom icons for mibs, the ability to add special notes.
    Hasnt got good party links (but then should't be that far apart anyway) doesnt show houses (so what)

    In the end I guess its what you are use to and how much you depend on a 3rd party app.
     
  31. Sevin0oo0

    Sevin0oo0 Guest

    Show Corpse & Healers - I want that! That's cool, way cool. Only if don't run the 2d client?
     
  32. Malador

    Malador Guest

    I think his comment on the sad state was based on the thread being closed. I mean for gods sake people if the man wants to use uo automap and wants to discuss a solution for getting it up and running then let him.

    Stratics is way to prone to moderate what does not need moderation. Contrary to EA/Mythics wishes most of us are still using 2d and a mapping tool, even an outdated one, is still necessary.
     
  33. Sevin0oo0

    Sevin0oo0 Guest

    To the OP, there seems to be key words that get a thread closed (I read your closed one), Source Code seems to be one, works same as Lost does to an after hours EA GM (we don't replace lost items) generic reply, regardless of the orig intent of the thread.

    If someone has replacement maps for UOAM, (simple .bmp's) would this make UOAM a clone? I'd like to know Stratic's opinion on this, as they do not seem to support it, only EC, whatever, client maping.
     
  34. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    Making a new UOAM was attempted and basically shot down as a thread and by the Devs as being an unapproved 3rd party program.

    Unless the actual current owner of UOAM decides to update, it's a dead program with no support, and with UOPro being long since closed (and really only opened to get one certain program legitimized, and closed soon after it was), you're not going to get a new version of UOAM.
     
  35. Sevin0oo0

    Sevin0oo0 Guest

    ...so you're saying since the orig program can no longer make it's own maps, it's dead, non supported, taboo, illegal, and talk about replacement maps should be taken to other UO related websites.
    If that's the way it is, cool, least i'll know what/where/how to direct people sending me PM's on how to make theirs work correctly again.
     
  36. Kiwillian

    Kiwillian Guest

    This is not strictly true... :)
     
  37. Salya Sin

    Salya Sin Guest

    Ok... I got the thing to work... BUT... there's always a but isn't there...

    Can anyone tell me how to get it to log houses again? I have uoassist and it used to work... now I can't get it to. I went in the file pane... set a new file and then went to the UOassist pane and set it to log houses in that file. It's not... at all... I can't even manually place them. Anyone else getting it to work?

    Thanks in advance for any advice... I miss my logged houses.
     
  38. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    Just to clarify: The previous thread devolved into a discussion, not on how to get uoam up to speed, but into the development of a new, replacement program. This program was classified as an 'unapproved 3rd party program' which put it into the same category as some older, and more disreputable, programs and brought it under the heading of 'Game ToS violations'. Which meant the discussion had to be closed.
     
  39. lucitus

    lucitus UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    45
    And this is exactly why there is no programm, sorry but this is like a traditional fundamentalist, who sees nothing than the way of his laws.

    And EA development, haha UO lives only because of the good fudament, which has been coded long time before EA's down ride.

    When the people are accepting it, they are not welcome as paying costumers, UO players were never welcome!
     
  40. Would you care to actually make some sense? :confused:
     
  41. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    I think maybe that lost something in the translation? Unless I miss my guess, I don't think English is Lucitus' mother tongue.
     
  42. wrekognize

    wrekognize Guest

    The fact the developers have never made a built in program comparable to UOAM is what’s disturbing. It would have been like Apple coming out with the iPod and depending on someone else to make a screen you can attach that allows you to navigate. Then for 12 years they never worry about making their own built in screen.
     
  43. ingsmsico

    ingsmsico Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    0
    isn't it obvious? they do what EA tells them to do.
     
  44. ingsmsico

    ingsmsico Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    0
    and what on Earth would be wrong with that?

    God forbid there be any discussion on how to improve something on Stratics.
     
  45. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    because, to the best of my knowledge, there are no replacement maps to host, nor any information on how to make uoam work with the new client.

    We can't publish that which does not exist.

    That's quite apart from any copyright considerations of course.
     
  46. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    Fan sites that allow their posters to totally trash the game's terms of service tend not to be very popular with the people running the game they're supposedly a fan site of.
     
  47. ingsmsico

    ingsmsico Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    0
    so basically there's nothing wrong with it, until the lawyers get involved.
     
  48. Because the enhanced client still makes it seem like you're gliding when you're moving :). I must prefer the movement in the 2D Client.

    Veteran UO users probably prefer the interface they are most familiar with: 2D. Those of us who have used it the whole time have had to change our tactics very little over the years. Adapting to a new client is traumatizing..particularly when it's unnecessary.

    If you like the new client enjoy it, but don't try and rationalize why everybody else should use it.
     
  49. Sevin0oo0

    Sevin0oo0 Guest

    sorry, hope this isn't taken as thread necro, just ran across it looking for something along the same line.
    But, it can be updated as far as graphics goes... Just change the .bmp's. Several of us have done this a Long time ago - or would a different map graphic constitute an illegal program?
    Don't use the 'altitude' when exporting out , makes it look grainy I think, so I'll be re-making mine

    [​IMG]
     
  50. Kojak

    Kojak Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    696
    as with everything in life, you just have to know what you're doing ...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]