1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

UOMAPP? Can it still be used?

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Rowdydude, Jan 18, 2009.

  1. Rowdydude

    Rowdydude Guest

    I am returning to UO after more then a year off and having to reinstall everything. I just found out that UOmapp is no longer an updated product and thus it will not install? Can we still use UOMapp? If so is there directions to manually updating for the install?


    Thanks
     
  2. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    yes you can still use it it is no longer updated though just install like normal and inder settings I believe it is tell it to not look for updates and you should be good to go I use it all the time
     
  3. Rowdydude

    Rowdydude Guest

    but this is the message i get when i run the install. It attempts to connect but can only download 1 of 6 files

    " The full version of UO Auto-map has not yet been downloaded. You need to successfully complete the downlaod before you can start using UO Auto-Map. Try again later "

    I assume this is because uomapp.net is no longer up anyone got any ideas

    Thanks
     
  4. Rand_Chessie

    Rand_Chessie Guest

    Here's what the install.txt file says:

    Installing UOAM!

    First, Download UOAM Here!
    Second, install it
    Third, go to the folder that you installed it into and copy the UOAM folder in the rar into that folder all those files must replace yours
    run UOAM and cancel all downloads you already have them!

    It worked for me.
     
  5. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    and it will continue to try to download it every time and you will have to cancel it 4 or 5 times before the map starts to avoid this when you first start uoam go into settings and uncheck all the boxes and you will never have this problem again unless you reinstall.
     
  6. Rowdydude

    Rowdydude Guest



    I looked in the UOAM folder and there are only 2 files "uoam and update.dll" The problem i think is that the uomapp.net site is no longer available the install is looking for files on the site to complete the install.

    I can handle the not updating issues but i need to figure out how to complete the install

    Any ideas?
     
  7. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    ok I just uninstalled mine and reinstalled to make sure there were no problems this is what I did
    1 remove anything you have already done uninstall delete whatever you have to do!
    2 download form this site (i know this one works I just used it)http://xeonlive.com/uoam/
    3 extract files to uoam directory
    4 now go into that directory and there will be a folder called uoam copy the contents of this folder and then go up one level in your directory and paste over the files there when asked just hit replace all button
    5 log into uo then start the map should work fine now I just did this and works fine for me
     
  8. Rowdydude

    Rowdydude Guest

    Well i must be cursed today

    i am getting a crc error when i try to extract the files

    i think it is time to walk away

    if anyone has any idea i appreciate it
     
  9. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    I am sorry if you did exactly as I said it should work Not sure what else I can tell you! did you download from the link I gave you? how many files are you showing there now?
    if you still cant get it to work send me a pm with your email address and I will copy my folder and send it to you then you should just be able to place it in c: drive and make a shortcut to it I did this on my sons a while back!
     
  10. Kith Kanan

    Kith Kanan Guest

    ofc you cant use it if you use KR , putting peopel who choose to use KR and PvP at a disadvantage.....
     
  11. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    true didn't think of that if using kr it wont work !
    just curious though I don't pvp anymore but why is kr a disadvantage? I know there are things that work in uoassist that don't in kr but iv found that kr also does things in uo that assist doesn't in other areas just trying to learn some things here i have been playing with kr a few weeks now and love a good challenge!
     
  12. Poo

    Poo The Grandest of the PooBah’s
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend Campaign Benefactor 4H

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,845
    Likes Received:
    2,398
    Storm,

    thanks bro, i purchased a new computer back in Nov and was using it as my new slave comp, went to put UOAM on it and couldnt get it to load, thought it was my comp.

    read your post last week while at work, and just got home and tryed it, and after a bit of messing around with WINZIP (damn i hate that progy) i was finally able to do what you where saying and it works!

    many thanks!

    Poo
     
  13. Kith Kanan

    Kith Kanan Guest

    ïts a disadvantage because you cant track your team mates via uoam , I dont miss uo assist because of the nice macro functions in KR , but not being able to use the tracking of team mates is defo a disadvantage !!