1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Vendor search issues

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Uriah Heep, Apr 24, 2015.

  1. Uriah Heep

    Uriah Heep Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    On Atlantic, it seems vendor search is grayed out for me a LOT. I might get one search in, and then it goes gray. Does it to me in own house, at brit bank, Luna, most everywhere I try it just seems totally random. Anyone else have this issue?
     
  2. Angel of Sonoma

    Angel of Sonoma Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    1,667
    yep, this happens to me too but not as frequently as it seems to happen to you. one thing i've noticed, if i recall into town, sometimes i have to get the message "You are now under the protection of the town guards" before i can do a vendor search. it seems to be intermitten and resolves itself if i take a few steps once i'm in town.

    what's more annoying is when i get a map to a vendor then arrive there and the item i want is not on the vendor.

    then there's the issue where the map goes poof in my backpack while enroute to the vendor. most of the time the item is still for sale but the map just disappears for no reason.

    even though there are some minor bugs, i still love the vendor search feature.
     
    Keith of Sonoma likes this.
  3. Lexfixr

    Lexfixr Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    183
    Things I do is cross a server boundary or run in and out of guarded area failing that restart UO I think sometimes the search doesnt know where you are and just goes grey
     
  4. zamot

    zamot Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    41
    I noticed that for me it is the cool down timer after fighting anything. That is the only time I have had an issue with the vendor search being grey
     
  5. Uriah Heep

    Uriah Heep Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    this might bbe it, i guess. I can search, go to the vendor aand buy, come back home, and cant do any more searches. weird stuff
     
  6. Philly

    Philly Seasoned Veteran
    The Valorian Knights

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    281
    I can stand in my house doing searches and it will turn to gray say next search. I will wait a few minutes and it will come back. *shrugs* you got me ...
     
  7. Keith of Sonoma

    Keith of Sonoma Certifiable

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,706
    Likes Received:
    701
    I have the same problem with the item not being there. I know of an item that shows up in vender search that I have checked on the "supposed" vendor for about 4 months and it is still not there :).
     
  8. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,539
    Likes Received:
    1,933
    I emptied and dropped all the vendors I had on Balhae back on January 30th. Today, 85 days later, some of the items those vendors held STILL come up in vendor search on Balhae. I've even traded the house to a different account and that had no effect either. Seeing this happen with my own vendors and what they were selling at one time makes me wonder how many items that come up in vendor search results everywhere else are also phantom results because the vendor owner pulled the item for one reason or another instead of it ever actually being sold.
     
  9. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    is it possible you are being targeted by something outside your house that may be causing this?
     
  10. Philly

    Philly Seasoned Veteran
    The Valorian Knights

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    281
    nope
     
  11. Uriah Heep

    Uriah Heep Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Inside house, and hidden most times it happens
     
  12. Ludes

    Ludes Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    648
    It's caused by the vendor search database updating.. Shouldn't ever last more than a few minutes
     
    Acid Rain likes this.
  13. MissEcho

    MissEcho Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    775
    I just wish you could use vendor search 'wherever' you were. The amount of times I am at a vendor, see something, want to compare prices only to find I have to go back to a 'safe' spot to use the flipping thing. No idea why you have to be in a house, inn etc to use it. If I wanna stand in the paddock and look stuff up why shouldn't I be able to? Anyone know the reason for this? It just means I may as well use the sites as at least then I can comparative shop without the need to go home etc.
     
  14. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,539
    Likes Received:
    1,933
    I think the rationale for not being able to use vendor search unless you're in a house where you're at least a friend or are inside a guard zone was to keep people from using a map to a vendor to quickly get out of a sticky situation in the middle of a fight. They didn't want people to request a map to a vendor and then hang onto it to use later in a moment of desperation.
     
  15. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,539
    Likes Received:
    1,933
    Thinking on it a bit longer, I wonder if the restrictions on where you can use vendor search are actually caused by wanting to limit the number of locations where the game has to return characters who use a vendor map to get to a vendor and then want to use the map to return to their starting location.
     
  16. DJAd

    DJAd Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,943
    Likes Received:
    3,602
    I thought this also but its no faster than a normal recall.
     
  17. MissEcho

    MissEcho Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    775
    Exactly, it just seems to be a restriction for restrictions sake. Just another thing to provide a bit of added unnecessary aggravation.

    As for returning a person to the starting location, seriously? does anyone do that? I mean ok you get them to take you to the vendor to save running there, but pretty much 100% of players are just gonna recall home.
     
  18. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,539
    Likes Received:
    1,933
    Because the title thread is "Vendor Search Issues" and since it seems like no one from the dev team is paying attention to the official subforum for posting about bugs, I'm just going to throw this little update in here.

    It has now been 91.5 days since I emptied and dropped my vendors on Balhae. And yet when I use vendor search, I can still find over 100 items that were on those vendors as if they are still on the same vendors I had in Tokuno. I've even traded the house to another account since then.

    I was half-expecting that once the 90-day mark had come and gone, the items would no longer appear in the vendor search results. However, it doesn't appear that is going to happen.

    If this is happening on a shard that has so very few actual vendors, what is the situation on other shards? Is the routine for updating database on other shards different than it is for Balhae to keep the database from becoming cluttered with phantom entries? Or does vendor search have this problem on all of the shards?
     
  19. MissEcho

    MissEcho Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    775
    I still can't find potted plants on vendor search, whether I use the name Potted plant, potted, pott, or pot. Hopeless.
     
  20. Arien

    Arien Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    36
    I have many Vendors in my Runebooks that sells Rares, Vet Rewards and whenever i use Vendor Search many Items will not be listet there. Like Seed Boxes, when i search for them i get 4 Seed Boxes per Vendor Search, the cheapest for 14,9 Million Gold ... but i have 2 other Vendors which sell Seed Boxes for 12 Million Gold each. Both Vendors are not listed in Vendor search. Both Vendors are not new. So there is something pretty wrong with this search. I hope we get a fix pretty soon.