1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

very very weird bug cropping up since last patch

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Cbone, Feb 9, 2008.

  1. Cbone

    Cbone Guest

    since the last patch me and several other players have been getting stuck in place for no reason. you can still perform actions, you just cant move off the tile youre on. you have to relog to fix it. i know its a client side thing because your character dosent rubberband when you try to move.

    particularly annoying when youre pvping =/

    anyone else getting this?
     
  2. Yeah it's been happening to me too...you run and all of a sudden you stop like you have run into something..like you would if you were in fel and running into a monster or another char...you rubber band back for just a second.
     
  3. Sam the Scribe

    Sam the Scribe Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    What client are you using? I'm assuming 2D since you mentioned PvP. Any other details? What OS. Are you running any of the 3rd party apps at the same time? Have you tried without them and does the problem remain? I'm grasping at straws here as your post didnt give much information on your operating environment.
     
  4. Guest

    Guest Guest

    Happened to me at Sphynx in desert, sitting there killing it & blam, stuck like glue to that spot for approx 30+ seconds. Could turn, spin but not move forward at all. Running Xp, UOA & Only chatting in Team Speak with a buddy.
     
  5. Sam the Scribe

    Sam the Scribe Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I know you're not gonna like this... but drop UOA and Teamspeak and see if you're having the same problem.
     
  6. _Uriah Heep_

    _Uriah Heep_ Guest

    My Gm and I were discussing this just last night, we can run along, and just stop, with maybe one rubberband, and then continue on. Its like running into a wall, one bounce, and then go...

    Not a totally gamestopping issue, but absolutely annoying! And as said, only since the last patch...
     
  7. Guest

    Guest Guest

    You might need to turn off one of the programs you have running.
    If I'm right, it's related to the slight rubberband effect when going from running to walking.
    I haven't had a chance to test yet, but I'm fairly certain I know what's happening.
     
  8. _Uriah Heep_

    _Uriah Heep_ Guest

    Well for us, only progs running were UO and ICQ
    The same as always...
    And for us, there was no banding when switching from running to walking, I was on a constant run and the pauses and bands were while running...bounce once, and continue on
    all night long
     
  9. <blockquote><hr>

    You might need to turn off one of the programs you have running.
    If I'm right, it's related to the slight rubberband effect when going from running to walking.
    I haven't had a chance to test yet, but I'm fairly certain I know what's happening.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    its not caused by other programs running as I only had UO running and this rubberbanding has happened to me a few times already
     
  10. Guest

    Guest Guest

    Yep, getting stuck in place realy sucks. I'm only seeing this in KR but me and my pets have been taking lots of dirt naps because of this.
     
  11. Sam the Scribe

    Sam the Scribe Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    <blockquote><hr>

    ...its not caused by other programs running as I only had UO running and this rubberbanding has happened to me a few times already

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Ok, have you completely shut down and restarted your computer? Sorry, I know that might be something you've alredy done but...

    This is all the stuff I make myself do when I have problems... [​IMG]

    Safe Travels, Sam
     
  12. Guest

    Guest Guest

    It's client side, more then obvious... happened to me several times lastnight while pvp'n, it's almost the same pause you get after throwing a bola, when the bola hits your char kinda stops then jumps, yes very annoying!
     
  13. Sam the Scribe

    Sam the Scribe Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, the OP seems to have vanished but I'm seeing folks mentioning KR... so is that where everyone is having the problem? I've been playing in 2D today and havent seen a problem... can hop on KR for a bit if thats what I need to test.
     
  14. _Uriah Heep_

    _Uriah Heep_ Guest

    2D is where it happened to me.

    Haven't tried it in KR.
    *points down to sig*
     
  15. Sam the Scribe

    Sam the Scribe Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ya know I just started to notice it... I'm not getting stuck like other folks but every once in a while my char will pause like when he bumps into an NPC in fel. Odd...

    Are the Felucia NPC's stealthing into Trammel!!! Aieee!!! That's the only explanation!!! Soon us trammies will have to deal with rude vendors that block us from entering their shops! Ack!

    [​IMG]
     
  16. Humph ...
    MAYBE ... client side ...

    While out mining, I've noticed a "short hang" walking to my next spot ...
    MAYBE ... client side ...
    MAYBE ... internet lag ...
    MAYBE ... Server side ...

    Lack of data = nothing certain ... at this point ...

    I'm "seeing it" ... playing from mid america to the west coast ...
    I DON'T have my route trace monitor running ... to "see" if its the net ...
    I Haven't upgraded my mainboard memory yet ... can't be certain that it IS the client ...
    With just these few vague reports ... and, not knowing what may/maynot be going on Server Side ...

    The ONLY thing "obvious" .. to me ...: I've noticed a "short hang" walking to my next spot.

    *shrugs*
     
  17. Sam the Scribe

    Sam the Scribe Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    <blockquote><hr>

    The ONLY thing "obvious" .. to me ...: I've noticed a "short hang" walking to my next spot.

    *shrugs*

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Sir, I've solved the problem... Fellucia NPC vendors have begun stealthing into Trammel in an effort to take control of the markets in reagents and other goods!

    This is the next EA event! Fel/NPC Vendor Invasion!!! Finally an event that merchants can participate in and enjoy!

    Woot!!! *Unwraps slayer spellbook of Markdown Pricing*

    (Ok, too much coffee for me... going to play in the garage for a while. [​IMG]
     
  18. Guest

    Guest Guest

    <blockquote><hr>

    Well, I know you're not gonna like this... but drop UOA and Teamspeak and see if you're having the same problem.

    [/ QUOTE ]
    Didn't help.... had tried that already - Rebooted Game &amp; computer. Not Net lag for everything else walks around normally, See Pet walking, See friends walking normally was just I. Was in Blighted Grove this afternoon, same thing happened, Nothing at all running but UO &amp; got stuck, as I was stuck another member had just said in Guild chat that he had just got stuck. I had to reboot the game in order to get unstuck. Fun in that place I tell ya, glad invis last as long as it does sometimes.
    In 8 yrs seen alot of odd crap, but this is a great one, walk along normally then just stop and not be able to move but spin in circles. maybe were are stepping into the big sink hole thats swallowing up UO [​IMG].
     
  19. I'm not getting stuck, but I am rubberbanding. I never used UOA or anything else with UO. Seems like if you are running and stop, and then start running again, that is where the bounce is happening.

    Almost seems like resumng running somehow got tied in with the recall delay. Seems like the rubberbanding is trying to delay running once you stop. Maybe it's something they put in to try to fix the speedhack we read so much about.

    Would be great to get it fixed, but that delay is so quick, it never seems to put me in danger of dying. But then again, I don't pvp.
     
  20. Sam the Scribe

    Sam the Scribe Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    It seems that lots of folks are having the same problem. I've seen at lease one other thread on the same topic. Hopefully it will be addressed by EA soon.

    Safe Travels, Sam
     
  21. Wolfthistle

    Wolfthistle Guest

    I've been having the same problem since the patch too, happened to me on the lower level of Destard doing the Ancient Wyrm. Can you say OOOOooooOOOOooooOOOO? lol

    Wolfthistle
     
  22. Guest

    Guest Guest

    "Maybe it's something they put in to try to fix the speedhack we read so much about."

    I doubt it, i was messing around at Yew Gate in Fel earlier on my Stealth Assassin and i swear i accidentally walked into a Speedhackers Convention. Was being chased by at least 6 people who were speedhacking, one of them zipped by me when i was running and did a drive-by Disarm on me, which allowed the Archers to hit me with Moving Shots from X-Bows...even though normal X-Bows don't have Moving Shot.

    "I've seen at lease one other thread on the same topic."
    Yeah, was probably mine.
     
  23. Guest

    Guest Guest

    Same with me in the AW lair my hiryu froze up flat out stuck then me and the AW just stood back and clobered us. I also froze up in the Weild. I had my beetle and mare on Swoop I froze and Swoop killed my pets because I could not heal, could not even throw spells. It's almost like these critters have a new super power, The Freeze Ray.
     
  24. if it's the normal client desynchronization problem, all you have to do is re-open your paperdoll and you'll be able to move again - if it's lost packets, you have to wait for the internet to fix itself
     
  25. Lug

    Lug Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    164
    I was fighting some lizardmen on a new character when I got stuck. I couldn't even turn my character. It was like the new casting freeze variable was switched on at the wrong time.

    Closing the (2d) client fixed it.
     
  26. Guest

    Guest Guest

    Yup same in Destard on the main lvl this evening, nothing close enough to cast upon me (nothing had targeted my char either in case you wondered), used Hiding/stealth mode &amp; froze Immediately where I was.

    Opening Backpack/paperdoll do squat, had looked for my boom box to see if I had it to try that &amp; see. Net is fine/no packet loss watch everyone else walk/run by like normal. Had to close the client out totally before it would let my char move again, not alot of joy in that I am going to see.
     
  27. I haven't gotten stuck yet but have had more trouble with lag the last few days. I take two steps and stop, two more and stop.
     
  28. Guest

    Guest Guest

    For me I be running along down the road and "STOP" in mid stride for like 20-30 seconds. Now the only thing I have is UOA, and icq. Sometimes I have vent or UOAM, now this is a big pain in the butt, specially when you are Destard or Doom and this hits. If I sit and wait, "AND PRAYER" all comes back to normal, but if I start hitting hotkeys to hide, invis or keep clicking to "RUN!" client will crash and I will come back to game dead.
     
  29. Sam the Scribe

    Sam the Scribe Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe this case and others like it present an argument for making patches on Mon or Tue.

    When a patch comes through right before the weekend, any problems dont become well known until everyone at EA is gone.

    Safe Travels, Sam
     
  30. uo addict

    uo addict Guest

    I'm getting it too. Have to reload the program. oo-oOo-oo.
     
  31. Cbone

    Cbone Guest

    i dunno if this is some kind of experimental speedhack fix, but its generating a lot of false positives.
     
  32. Guest

    Guest Guest

    We're having the same problem on Chessie. I have never seen or heard of anyone getting permanently stuck, just hiccups, or the perception of lag where there should be no lag. The server must not be communicating correctly? And this thread should be stickied if it isn't already :p
     
  33. Guest

    Guest Guest

    Yup - exercised 2D last night on Origin. New character and was rather surprised by the momentary pauses. Mostly they occured if I changed direction or speed (walk to run, run to walk).
     
  34. I've also been noticing weird little pauses or instances of feeling like my character is stuck. I also noticed that it seems as if my character comes to a screeching halt when she uses barding skills. Never had problems before with area peacing while on the run or while walking. But now it seems like your character MUST stop moving in order to area peace.

    I've also noticed some delays in being able to use objects after using a skill that has a timer. I'll try to come back and add an example after I get home tonight and remember what sequence of actions seems buggy now. Seems like what I was doing was taming and then just wanted to click an instrument to play it and reset it as my last object and also get some music gains. I know there's a use timer between using two skills like taming and peacing, but there's never been a timer on just playing an instrument. However, now I'm sometimes getting messages that I must wait to use the instrument if I try to click it right after using the taming skill. Seems like I was also getting the "must wait" message if I tried to use other objects like rune books too soon after using a skill on a timer. Another example is trying to click on ore to move it or break it into smaller chunks right after using peacing skill....I get a "must wait" message that makes no sense. I always thought the timer was on using skills, but it appears to have changed now and after you use skills on timers you can't do much while the timer runs out.

    Weird stuff, that's for sure and I really hope it gets fixed.
     
  35. They have finaly beat the scripters by creating a random pause generator! Huray!

    Let us all rejoice, oh wait this sux....

    On a side note i also seem to hiccup when i do things like poison my web or drink a pot or try to have just about any interaction with this progam. Huray!
     
  36. I really don't think it is a bug. It has been going on for several weeks now. Basically the rubber banding you used to get when stuck behind something, getting paralyzed, being overweight, etc. is gone. Now you just stop and sit there. That doesn't bother me so much since the rubber banding was not that great either, but at least you knew you had a problem. They need to add a message on your screen explaining why you are not moving.
     
  37. if its not a bug it totaly destoyed the game. its impossble to perfect timing with random pauses. i know for sure some of these pauses have nothing to do with weight stamina spell casting or anything else. i simply freeze for 1-10 sec and then un freeze.
     
  38. Guest

    Guest Guest

    I've noticed this after the last patch, as well.

    EA... what the hell did you do? :|

    I think what they're doing is slowly making 2D unplayable, forcing everyone onto the KR client.

    *pukes*
     
  39. Cbone

    Cbone Guest

    bump. a dev acknowledgment would be nice
     
  40. Guest

    Guest Guest

    *Bump* Any Comment from a Dev would be nice
     
  41. Lilac Crypt

    Lilac Crypt Guest

    I'm getting this too. It's more than annoying, for me it's sick-making. Constantly rubber-banding while moving makes the screen do that little jerk back and forth that makes me queasy.

    It seems to be the most noticable when I am on foot. I took my newbie character out and about on LS Cove last night and had to quit playing cause I felt lousy. (No clue why at the time.) I went out again tonight and figured it out. It didn't stop happening when I was polymorphed by NPCs, either. I rubber-banded just as much in animal form as I did in human form.

    I don't know who needs to read this, but please for the love of all, someone really needs to fix it.

    It's NOT a log-out kinda fix.. cause that doesn't help. It wasn't happening before the last patch, and now it is.

    Help?

    [​IMG]

    Ah.. this is in 2d, by the by.
     
  42. Guest

    Guest Guest

    It is VERY annoying!!! [​IMG]

    Is anyone on Origin still noticing it? I ran an Origin character from the Brit inn to the smith and didnt notice it. Perhaps this is something that will be resolved by the publish??
     
  43. I thought this was just anti-speeder code that would be fixed when the publish hit... it's still happening on origin and they've received the publish.

    I can't wait till they fix it. It seems to stop you every time you get hit by a spell or when you start taming something.
     
  44. Lug

    Lug Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    164
    The freeze bug has gotten me twice in the last few hours.

    The first time it got me i was simply running when my character froze up for no reason. I was able to spin in place, but not move. This effect lasted for 30+ seconds before I was able to move.

    The second time my character froze up was after the shards were published. This time I froze up while fighting a sand vortex. The freeze happened after I tried to cast closewounds but was interupted. At this point my character was frozen again, and this time died.

    I'd also like to note that my character has "always run" checked in the 2d options and doesn't not experience the rubberbanding that others are experiencing.

    I only use UOAssist.

    Lets try to get this bug fixed dev team...
     
  45. <blockquote><hr>

    ... which allowed the Archers to hit me with Moving Shots from X-Bows...even though normal X-Bows don't have Moving Shot.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    This was a specific exploit that the archers set up and used against you, and the mechanics of it's actuation make it an obvious exploit and not just using existing game mechanics as some kind of aid. No fine line involved. It involves deliberately causing the game to become confused regarding the legitimate moving shot special (from a heavy crossbow or your composite) and applying it to a weapon that does not have it.

    There's a guild of mostly archers on my home shard that constantly use this moving shot exploit on their crossbows to kill people. It's the same guild that sports extremely rare, cross-sharded duped bows (crossbows, actually) that nobody else can realistically get their hands on. Paging on them for using the exploit gets nothing done, the one time I tried it anyway.

    Game balance wise, it's nothing like the real moving shot from the correct weapons.
     
  46. Lug

    Lug Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    164
    I'm still 'Freezing' for no reason at all. It just happened to me in FEL. The funny thing was I was able to recall, but was still frozen after recalling to a different location. This happened on a different shard, on at different char from the last time I experienced this bug.

    Since experiencing this bug a number of times and burst lag at times during pvp, I decided to reformat and reinstall windows two days ago. Needless to say the reforming and reinstallation didn't help with either issue. I now understand the burst lag is a new exploit being used by other players, at lest that's the rumor.

    I have no other programs running except UOA with UOA's -reducecpu function enabled. In fact, I just enabled UOA's -reducecpu function seconds before freezing. I also had Windows xp taskmaster open at the time if that helps.

    Even though it's been a few days since this bug last hit me, it needs to be fixed asap!