1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

virus on Stratics....

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Bazer, Apr 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bazer

    Bazer Slightly Crazed
    Premium Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,408
    Likes Received:
    49
    while reading a few threads this little baby poped up, first time ive seen on here....

    [​IMG] Danger: AVG Active Surf-Shield has detected active threats on this page and has blocked access for your protection.
    The page you are trying to access has been identified as a known exploit, phishing, or social engineering web site and therefore has been blocked for your safety. Without protection, such as that in the AVG Security Toolbar and AVG, your computer is at risk of being compromised, corrupted or having your identity stolen. Please follow one of the suggestions below to continue.

    URL: xxx
    Name: Virus identified Exploit.Aurora
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    [​IMG] Danger: AVG Active Surf-Shield has detected active threats on this page and has blocked access for your protection.
    The page you are trying to access has bee identified as a known exploit, phishing, or social engineering web site and therefore has been blocked for your safety. Without protection, such as that in the AVG Security Toolbar and AVG, your computer is at risk of being compromised, corrupted or having your identity stolen. Please follow one of the suggestions below to continue.

    URL: xxx
    Name: Virus identified Exploit.Aurora
     
  2. Mairut

    Mairut Guest

    Ewww!... Aurora virus! :eek:

    I hope I don't get it from stratics :( I shouldn't, because of anti-virus/firewall, but you never know.
     
  3. Nexus

    Nexus Site Support
    Administrator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Patron

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,572
    Likes Received:
    1,836
    So I'm assuming you are on Windows using IE6 IE7 or IE8? Since the Aurora Exploit only targeted those browsers?

    Actually if you are using XP there is no way to close the security hole. Nice reason to up grade to a more Secure OS isn't it.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Bazer

    Bazer Slightly Crazed
    Premium Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,408
    Likes Received:
    49
    using firefox and windows vista
     
  5. Lord Chaos

    Lord Chaos Always Present
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    10,075
    Likes Received:
    0
    And all around more ****ty OS.
     
  6. Jandruz

    Jandruz Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same problem here. Windows 7 and firefox made firefox crash. I used IE, and recieved the exploit.aurora warning...

    boo!
     
  7. Lord Chaos

    Lord Chaos Always Present
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    10,075
    Likes Received:
    0
    This wouldn't be the first time Stratics has been infected with a virus and distributed virus through downloads, ads and even the main pages. :/
     
  8. Restroom Cowboy

    Restroom Cowboy Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,283
    Likes Received:
    0
    TRUTH!
     
  9. Nexus

    Nexus Site Support
    Administrator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Patron

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,572
    Likes Received:
    1,836

    Really? that's odd considering about 5 of the top ten most reliable operating systems are Linux, at least according to Netcraft's studies. 89.2% of all supercomputers run a Linux based OS, Google runs almost their entire infrastructure on Linux, Microsoft's DNS Servers run on Linux.

    Yea junk OS there.....

    Linux isn't what it was 5 years ago, it's fleshing out into a very usable operating system.
     
  10. Lynk

    Lynk Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    6,032
    Likes Received:
    145
    The problem is most applications developed for the end user are made to run with Windows.

    I know, I know, there are emulators to run those applications. But most people don't have the time or desire to test, troubleshoot, and fix the problems that are typically encountered with WINE.

    I'd love to use Linux on my gaming machine instead of paying for Windows 7 to get rid of Vista, but it just isn't worth the hassle.
     
  11. Lord Chaos

    Lord Chaos Always Present
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    10,075
    Likes Received:
    0
    But us gamers do not use supercomputers or DNS servers to game on.

    Except you can't really do anything on it...almost all games don't run on it, many apps don't run on it, much hardware (especially modern) don't run on it, etc. etc.
     
  12. Lynk

    Lynk Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    6,032
    Likes Received:
    145
    Linux requires much less resources than any windows platform, and as a result provides much more stability, speed, and processing power.

    You can do anything on it, except it requires more time and set up to use games/applications designed for windows.

    Name one piece of hardware that won't work with Linux. Pretty much everything has linux drivers nowadays...
     
  13. Nexus

    Nexus Site Support
    Administrator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Patron

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,572
    Likes Received:
    1,836

    The only games I've had issues with were either Direct Microsoft releases (Like Flight Simulator X) or .NET based such as Neverwinter Nights 2 (hardly new).

    Even UO's Enhanced Client runs pretty well on Linux, and for the Legacy you can now use UOAssist which is something that you couldn't do just a couple of years ago.

    As for apps? Which one's Ventrilo? Yea there's Mangler for that, works really well and is probably easier to set up. Teamspeak has a Native Linux Client. Office Suites? Open Office comes pre-installed on many distros. Fiscal management? Try GNUcash or KmyMoney. 3d Graphics Design.. Blender, there are apps to replace most Windows based apps that run Native on Linux.

    Additionally Google is now working with Codeweavers and submitting patches to improve WINE so the most popular Windows Compatibility Layer being used is rapidly improving.

    Don't get me wrong I don't "Hate" Windows, I still use it too (I dual Boot my System), but as time goes on I'm finding myself using Linux more and more because so many things just work and often work better since Linux OS's usually have a smaller footprint on system resources. Let me give you an example...

    [​IMG]

    That is me running 3 Atlantica Online Clients, WoW, and having the Browser running. When I took that image it was for a posting I did on Atlantica's forums. People were complaining about constantly getting a BSOD, and they wouldn't believe that I could run Atlantica on Linux and have it be stabler than on their Windows installs especially if I was multi-clienting or multi-tasking.

    The facts are Linux is growing up, sure it's still behind Windows in many areas, but it's hitting a period of rapid growth and development.
     
  14. RawHeadRex

    RawHeadRex Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    12
    hmmm avast just blocked a vbs.obfuscated-gen trogan from stratics while on firefox.

    odd
     
  15. Tangled Metal

    Tangled Metal Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    144
    Careful, naming malicious viruses on Stratics may cause the thread to be locked or removed! I run Win Vista with the newest firefox and I run AVG anti-virus software that is updated daily and I have not had a virus in many moons. Keep your virus program up to date and you will avoid many viruses!
     
  16. Nexus

    Nexus Site Support
    Administrator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Patron

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,572
    Likes Received:
    1,836
    Trojan's aren't virus'. Virus' are all self-replicating, anything else is malware.

    I'm not trying to sound like a smart*** but it's using Virus for a catch all phrase is a bad thing. Mac for example uses it as a sales gimmick, when they say there are no Virus threats to Mac OS X at the moment they are telling the truth, but since some many people use the word Virus and Malware synonymously they often believe they are immune to things like Trojans and other forms of Spyware, this leads to complacency.

    I don't care what OS people are running. Make sure you have a good Anti-Virus program installed and running. You can never afford to be complacent, even us Linux and Mac users can't. Just because some pieces of Malicious Code can't directly effect our systems, that doesn't mean we can't pass it on to Windows Users, it can and does happen. We all have a responsibility to be pro-active in keeping wide spreading cyber infections from contained and not passing it on to other people.
     
  17. Flame (DrR)

    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    0
    my strange stratics experiances today is unable to get on any forums earlier this evening as well as getting an email from stratics for an April 2010 News letter, which I have never heard of stratics doing before.
     
  18. JHall

    JHall Guest

    We're looking into this now, doesn't appear to be anything amiss, but we're on it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.