1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

What Does An Old Player Have To Do To Get Back In UO?

Discussion in 'UHall' started by HartleyHare, Oct 15, 2008.

  1. HartleyHare

    HartleyHare Guest

    (The sad rant below works best if you have Sigur Ros - Glosoli playing in the background)

    I'm an old UO player from yonks ago. I bought the game back in 98, played the game on off ever since, mostly on Europa. I had a rest every now and then but normally left the account live. About 2 years ago I realised I hadn't logged in for a long time and closed my account.

    Like a lot of other ex-UO players I've recently come over all nostalgic and thought I'd rejoin UO. It was the first MMORPG game I played, and the fiirst I loved. I wanted to see the old haunts and I had no wish to join an emulated server. It's time for me to go back to UO, I thought.

    However, nothing could prepare me for the difficulty one has to suffer to re-start an old account. Every time I went through the long-winded account management process it would tell me my credit card address didn't match my original UO account address. No surprise as that was back in 1998 and I've moved several times since then. Every time I tried to update my account details it would pretend it's saved but then refuse to remember the newly entered details.

    I won't bore you with the painful details but suffice to say I have tried to re-subscribe to UO but nothing, nothing, works. I have three credit cards, all of which work elsewhere, in fact I re-opened my WoW account with one and bought a book with another just tonight. My credit rating is good enough that I can buy a small flat in Saint Jean Cap Ferrat or a Sunseeker Portofino 47, but as far as UO/EA are concerned I'm not valid.

    I make a point of trying every week or so, but nothing works. I know I'm not alone as some other chap had the same problem, made a U-Hall thread, with other people also coming out of the woodwork with the same issue, but the post was unanswered. Essentially nobody cared.

    I tried contacting customer service on 866-543-5435 (bear in mind I'm calling from the UK) but I actually had to spell ultima, yes ultima, U L T I M A, and even after that it was so painful I just hung up.

    I can't really imagine a company that cared so little for it's few remaining players. You just have to see the sparse threads that 'Jeremy' responds to. I wish to play but can't, nobody responds because I assume that nobody cares.

    --------

    Max - EU
    Hartley Hare - EU
     
  2. Aroma

    Aroma Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    12
    Head stand and free cookies might work. Had a bad idea, create a new acnt then page a gm but thats no good. could try the feed back thing on the uo website. Although i think it might be awhile before she responds. Town halls and all goings on.

    I do wish you good luck though and a harty welcome back..
     
  3. HartleyHare

    HartleyHare Guest

    I tried the new account thing but didn't really want to re-train. It didn't work anyway. But thanks Aroma for the other tips. I'll smell you later.
     
  4. Aroma

    Aroma Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yur welcome. I guess trainin Dragons all day. I tend to smell like em after awhile eh?
     
  5. AesSedai

    AesSedai Guest

    So:
    1 You know your account name
    2 You know your password
    3 It will not accept a billing change to a new credit card?

    That's odd, I changed my billing information a few times in the past few months and it took it just fine each time.
    Then again, my address had not changed.

    Have you tried:
    Edit Member Info in the account management area (to update your address)
    then enter your credit card / Billing Info afterwards?
     
  6. Xel Naga

    Xel Naga Guest

    You could simply just go to the EA store, buy a gametime code and apply it to your account to play
     
  7. Uriah Heep

    Uriah Heep Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    2,365
    That might work...

    Point remains, why do customers have to jump thru hoops to pay for something a vendor is selling? Shouldnt the vendor make the sale a bit easier and more efficient? Novel approach to customer service, I know, but still...
     
  8. love2winalot

    love2winalot Guest

    Here is what you do. I had this happen to me before, and not just at EA.
    Enter CC info. Use the address you had when you opened the account. It should decline it. Now, do not use your current address, but use the CC address of the last place you lived.

    Example: Lived in hawaii, moved to N. Las vegas, Moved to downtown Las vegas and this is my current address. Enter Hawaii address. If did not accept, do not use current address, but i used the one prior to current, in this case N. Las vegas. For some reason some sites think you still live in a place you may have moved from, even a year ago. This ALWAYS works for me.
     
  9. hawkeye_pike

    hawkeye_pike Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Likes Received:
    11
    Worked fine for me, I reactivated my account (I had quit in 2001) in 5 minutes. Characters were there, bankbox contents were there (with not much in them though, as I had given most of my stuff away).
     
  10. AEowynSP

    AEowynSP Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,819
    Likes Received:
    3
    Just shot in the dark here but is it getting stuck on the pounds to dollars conversion?
     
  11. HartleyHare

    HartleyHare Guest

    I've tried to re-enter my details with my address back in 1998 to no avail. One thing I've noticed is that it has my country listed as United States and won't permit me to change it to United Kingdom. I think I'm going to give up. Customer service are absolutely useless. I've ran out of patience, but thanks for trying to help everyone.
    :(
     
  12. Lady Kiara

    Lady Kiara Guest

    Look Get EA'S number Call them give them the info they need and Boom your in...

    EA Customer Support: 1-866-543-5435
     
  13. AEowynSP

    AEowynSP Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,819
    Likes Received:
    3
    That's a US toll free #
    They need the UK or Euro one.
     
  14. gunneroforgin

    gunneroforgin Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    30
    yeah, *covers nose* and your clothes get all those cigarette like burns all over them too.