1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Why does my Ethy Mount get fatigued, and how do I refresh it?

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Old Man of UO, Aug 19, 2011.

  1. Alright, it's getting tiresome having to stop, dismount and remount from my ethy. I mean, it's a ghost horse, right? I can't feed it, so how do I refresh its stamina?
     
  2. CrazyLemons

    CrazyLemons Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    2
    Always been this way. They get refreshed the more you don't ride them :p get a second ethy and swap them out. Thats how its been dealt with for years.
     
  3. I have no interest in buying a second mount, but thanks for that tip.

    Any idea how long you have to stay dismounted to fully refresh the mount, and how long you can ride before the mount is fatigued again?

    Thanks
     
  4. CrazyLemons

    CrazyLemons Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    2
    No, sorry i do not.
     
  5. Elric_Soban

    Elric_Soban Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,258
    Likes Received:
    14
    Your ethy mount gets fatigued because normal mounts get fatigued and to allow you to run forever would be an imbalance.

    You regen it's stamina by standing still. I've heard(never tested myself) that if you hop off an ethy thats fatigued, and hop on a new one, it'l still be fatigued. tied to your CHAR and not the ethy.

    That's NOT confirmed. That'l need to be verified.
     
  6. CrazyLemons

    CrazyLemons Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    2
    That is not the case. If you change ethys, the fatigue does not carry over.
     
  7. RawHeadRex

    RawHeadRex Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    12
    ethy's get fatigued ?

    ... i've never seen my ethy's get fatigued, ever.

    how long does one have to run in order to see fatigue on an ethy ?
     
  8. Goldberg-Chessy

    Goldberg-Chessy Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,160
    Likes Received:
    1,038
    If you have no interest in buying another I guess then that the fatigue is not an issue for you so problem solved.

    As has already been explained I believe they were originally meant to get fatigued in an effort to 'balance' them as compared to a regular mount.
    Kinda always made sense to me.
    When they were introduced I dont think they were meant to be any more powerful then a regular mount. Just more convienant. Not sure tho.
     
  9. BluDjinn

    BluDjinn Journeyman

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    17
    I also have never seen a message about my etheys getting fatigued, ever!

    Just to test this I just now went to Trinisc ( long straight streets ).

    Then I overloaded myself with gold just under where it effects my
    stamina when I move. 485 / 481 max.

    Then My Ethereal Ostard and I spent the next 15 min. racing around town, running down every npc we could find.

    No message...No problems.
    Now this was on Atlantic/ Tram.

    Do you play on Siege Perilous? Things might be different there.


    :confused:
     
  10. Guardian KX

    Guardian KX Lore Keeper

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    26
    Not on Siege anymore as far as I can tell.

    Happened to me like maybe 5 or 6 years ago but not since then. And I too have ran my ethy lamma from one side of the world to the other, with high speed cable non stop running. Same goes for any real mount besides a overloaded beetle... :eyes:
     
  11. Guardian KX

    Guardian KX Lore Keeper

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    26
    Wanted to add that awhile ago someone mentioned that if you have crappy connection or dial-up type modem that somehow theres a rubberbanding effect that happens that causes your mount to be easily fatigued. Something to do with your mount being rapid fired back and forth between spaces and rubberbanding while moving... something like that...
     
  12. You know, try not to be so anti-social (a.k.a. idiot) most of the time- keep your attitude to yourself, if you please. I posted the question to understand the mechanics of this, and then work out a solution that works best for me. Spending 2 million gold on another ethy isn't worth the cost to me, but fatigue is still a problem. A better solution for me is to get a swampy and use the ethy as a backup.

    It's not Siege... and I have two characters who have this issue.

    I have it happen a lot on my dungeon thief who almost never stands still, and runs from dungeon arti to dungeon arti. A complete dungeon run is roughly 15-20 minutes of mostly running, stopping for 5 seconds here and there to make a steal. It takes a while for the mount to get fatigued, but once it starts the run is pretty much over until the mount gets refreshed. A swampy should take care of this problem because I can feed it when I need to, or maybe just stand around for 5 or 10 minutes before logging off.

    The other character (my tamer on a cu sidhe) got the message when fighting a group of the wandering outcast gargoyles in the Abyss. One of them cast some curse or sleep spell that slowed my mount, and I got the message that my mount was fatigued. The spell lasted maybe 5 minutes, long after the gargoyle was dead and looted. I had to leave the dungeon because my cu sidhe was extremely slow and couldn't attack.

    I'm not even sure if or how weight works into mount fatigue, but I am not usually even close to max weight when it happens.

    Thanks for the information.
     
  13. Der Rock

    Der Rock Guest

    maybe:

    the character has negative or 0 staminareg.
    (necro spell or somethingelse)

    use a +2 stamina reg. item and see if he still run out of stamina


    ;)
     
  14. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,527
    Likes Received:
    1,914
    I have some hazy recollection of being told by Jeremy or someone else a few years back that a possible way to refresh your ethy was to keep it in your bankbox overnight.

    Perhaps give that a try?
     
  15. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,527
    Likes Received:
    1,914
  16. Goldberg-Chessy

    Goldberg-Chessy Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,160
    Likes Received:
    1,038

    I am the idiot?

    You are a self proclaimed "Old Man of UO" and you don't understand ethy mount fatigue? -

    "Alright, it's getting tiresome having to stop, dismount and remount from my ethy. I mean, it's a ghost horse, right? I can't feed it, so how do I refresh its stamina?"

    You posted the above to do what? - "understand the mechanics of this" ??

    I am no English major but I think that if I was to post the same I would simply post something like this:
    I do not understand the mechanics of ethy mounts. Can someone please explain?

    But you preferred to try and rationalize/rant why you can't feed a ghost horse? Wow.

    All that nonsense aside you then chose to shoot down/ignore the solution that was immediately given to you. Buy another Ethy! A very good solution btw.
    Not perfect as I have heard in the past that the fatigue can follow the character but still a very good possible solution.

    You appear to be a Uo vet (that runs alot though)
    I doubt the 2 mill on another Ethy means anything to you.
    I think you just want to rant about Ethy fatigue.
    Sounds good to me :)
     
  17. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,527
    Likes Received:
    1,914
    Maybe one of the Stratics admins can find an old UHall thread from approximately February 11, 2007 on Ethy Mount Stamina and provide a working link to it. I've tried digging through the UHall archives but it doesn't appear to be included there.
     
  18. Kayne.

    Kayne. Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    38
    my chars generally only ride ethys (even in factions)

    I used to see that message a lot (Dial up)

    Have not seen it since then, and I have one ethy per character.
     
  19. That's a good idea to try. I do have a +3 stamina regen item on already, but I can more or less to see if that makes a difference.

    Thanks Tina - I'll try the bank box idea, and search the forums a bit more. Stratics search is very picky about how you phrase a search. I didn't find a conversation on it from before, so wasn't sure if this had been discussed.
     
  20. SisterFrances[EcZ]

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Old Man...

    Not sure if this helps, but I have noticed that sometimes my Ethy's do get fatigued or at least show Stamina loss WHEN they have been colored by the retouching tool - but not when they have not been (when they look normally transparent they do not lose stamina). So I keep most of my ethy's un-retouched out of habit now.

    If you have not retouched yours, then disregard! *smiles*

    Sister Frances
    Baja
     
  21. Heh... thanks for that info Sister Frances. I wouldn't be surprised if this were true, but I haven't touched any of my ethys.
     
  22. Lord X

    Lord X Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    114
    I can't recall when, but there was a change to this. Ethy's (and perhaps real mounts) used to run out of stamina much quicker then they do now. I remember a time, maybe 5 years ago where I would have two Ethy's on each char I PvPed with just to combat it. I do believe you had to recharge them later tho (as mentioned in that old post).

    Either way, I am sure when it was changed there was a mention of it in a pub notes or something. No idea where to look tho. Currently, I have a ethy that runs outta stamina maybe every 5 months or so.
     
  23. red sky

    red sky Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    7
    Lol, balanced. It doesn't exist.
     
  24. Merion

    Merion Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    9
    When I steal all sigils from the minax base and bring them to the TB base - this means roughly 7x the distance Trinsic-Britain - my ethy beetle often gets fatigued on the last run.

    Depends a bit if I take the shortest route or have to dodge some enemy factioneers.
     
  25. Aboo

    Aboo Guest

    I have experienced the same problem, but I think it was a few years back. It was truly annoying and I didn't even have to run very far! I haven't experienced it much lately so I just assumed they finally got it taken care of.

    Hope you find a work-a-round to your situation that suits you. As you stated, it is very tiresome! Good luck!