1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

why dooest yarn and bolts of cloth stack as you make them?

Discussion in 'UHall' started by aarons6, Jun 16, 2011.

  1. aarons6

    aarons6 Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,897
    Likes Received:
    31
    this is most annoying.. is it a bug?
     
  2. BahamaMama

    BahamaMama Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    3
    Why doesn't it stack? It used to. If it isn't, it must be a bug.
     
  3. Lady Tia

    Lady Tia Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    114
    It stacks. YOu just have to pause a sec before making the next one. The "made one" pops into your pack...pause... then pops into the stack, then make next. I made the same mistake too of making them too fast and had to stack them by hand.
     
  4. Lady Storm

    Lady Storm Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,752
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    If you are using Assist make sure the stack box is checked on the menu page for macros.
     
  5. Tanivar

    Tanivar Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,596
    Likes Received:
    1,468
    Time to put some pauses into my thread, yarn, and cloth UOA macros. :)
     
  6. Viquire

    Viquire Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,456
    Likes Received:
    507
    IF perhaps your crafter is in factions, that might be it. I know I had a similar problem when finishing up a scribe.
     
  7. Raptor85

    Raptor85 Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,712
    Likes Received:
    224
    since when has it stacked? I've always had to use UOA for yarn and cloth to stack (thread from cotton however, automatically stacks), and UOA takes a second so you can't spin a ton of yarn using lastobject + lasttarget, you have to pause between :/

    Yeah, you can manually stack them after, but spinning a pile of wool you can easily end up with a few hundred yarn in packs of 3 in your pack...and that takes forever :/
     
  8. EvilPixieWorks

    EvilPixieWorks Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    6
    I’ve been playing a long time… never seen these stack.

    UOA doesn’t factor in, as so many of us don’t use it.

    This is a really good question to “Ask the Developers”… if they actually answered questions that didn’t have to do with boosters and add-ons.

    There was a fix awhile ago… seems like a small forever ago, but many non-stackable items became stackable. Like savage tribal berries, sand… I forget what else. I was really hoping it was going to be something the developers would hit again as a few other things still need stacking, save storage, save server space and all that. One big thing I’d love to see stack is blank runes! OMG, would that save time in all the runebooks I make.

    Never the less… I do have one tip for you, aarons6. Just let your backpack fill up… then take the bolt or whatever and just drop it into your backpack of your paper-doll. Stacked items like yarn or thread… hold down the control key. Fastest way to move stacked items. ;)
     
  9. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,539
    Likes Received:
    1,930
    I would prefer some "valuable" items didn't stack so it takes longer for a thief to steal them. For example, blank runes normally cost 45 gp on Siege. When you don't have a lot of gold to begin with, someone swiping several of them at once might be painful for some folks.

    Also, if you are running around marking runes for runebooks, I would imagine that if they stacked, you would probably have to pull one off a stack in order to mark it. I doubt that it would be easy to program for just the top rune to be marked and then fall out of the stack (and then become difficult to find in your backpack). So, if I'm out marking runes in nasty places, I'd rather not have to deal with having to pull runes off the stack to mark them or have to hunt for the one I just marked that fell out of its stack so I could throw it in a rune book. Having them loose in my pack and manually shoving them all in a corner after I buy them works fine for me. Another alternative, if you use UO Assist (I no longer do after switching to a new computer), is to use the UO Assist feature that lets you sort specific items into a specific container. I used to use that feature to shuffle all the blank runes I just purchased into a bag in my backpack.
     
  10. EvilPixieWorks

    EvilPixieWorks Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    6
    Sorry Tina Small... I don't use 3rd party programs and I make around 20-100k runebooks a year... and I dont care how much runes cost, stacking would make life a lot easier.

    Its not like the idea of stacked runes would mean you couldnt take one off the pile and mark it when needed. BUT it's not like we will ever see any improvments on runes or anything that needs fixing/addressed. Blank runes is just an example... I'm sure if you look around you will find other things that could stack and don't to make game life easier.

    How long has it been the vet statue makers have been broken and the clothes don't line up with the pose? :wall:
     
  11. IF that "k" (20-100k) Is NOT a typo ...

    :scholar: shenanigans !!
     
  12. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,539
    Likes Received:
    1,930
    Hmmm...well since I don't play on Atlantic, I had no idea you make 20-100k runebooks a year! That's a lot of books to rustle up, no doubt, and I'm sure few people can top that.

    My apologies if you thought I was impugning your character by mentioning using UO Assist. No slight was intended. I merely mentioned it for the benefit of anyone else who may not have realized it has the ability to sort items into bags or other containers in your back. And as far as the suggestion about not having runes stack, I was merely thinking of the wonderful folks I play with on that little ol' shard called Siege Perilous. Some of us may tend to play the game a bit more cautiously and restrictively than folks do on other shards where there are few thieves and PKs running around.
     
  13. EvilPixieWorks

    EvilPixieWorks Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yeah. I know... its an insane amount of runebooks, but thats just how it is. hehe. 6 or 7 vendors spanning like all but the Fel and SA lands, not to mention special orders and rune libraries.

    Then... that's not mentioning all the runes I drop to 5 malls. 50-110 per mission, 3+ times a week. Stack runes I can buy in mass? OH YEAH, BABY! ;)