1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Why is EA preventing me from playing UO?

Discussion in 'UHall' started by hawkeye_pike, Dec 16, 2008.

  1. hawkeye_pike

    hawkeye_pike Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Likes Received:
    11
    "There is some problem communicating with Origin. Please restart Ultima Online and try again."

    This is the message I get more or less frequently, after entering my account information. I often have to wait 1-5 hours before I can login again. I've been having these problems for several months, sometimes less, sometimes more.

    Are there issues with the login server? I am pretty sure that it is not heavy load causing these problems.
     
  2. Madrid

    Madrid Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    268
    Ridiculi!

    We need to sticky "Can't Connect Login Server Down" here on stratics in order to document and keep a running tab of just how bad the problems is.

    December 15th Login Down 7 hours....

    They need to run a SCRIPT that detects and checks that the Login in Server is up and active and if it isn't will reboot Login Server.

    Honestly it happens way more than it should and no steps seem to have been taken to improve the situation. I and others have page'd a GM in game stating Login Servers down...hours later. server still down.
     
  3. Flutter

    Flutter Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    21,553
    Likes Received:
    3,840
    Because you've already paid for at least a month in advance...
     
  4. Madrid

    Madrid Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    268
    Well they need to fix the problem or start pro-rating our subscription fees.:thumbup1:
     
  5. Jermosh

    Jermosh Guest

    I am getting that tonight for the 1st time and I have not accessed my account info for a few months. Maybe they need one of those Nuke alarms to wake them up?
     
  6. Divster

    Divster Guest

    As far as i know tuesday mornings is when they do login server maintenance, so its not an "issue" as far as something not working!
     
  7. Cailleach

    Cailleach Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    127

    Mmm. That, so far as I know, usually takes rather less than an hour. The servers have been down for a good 8 hours now, if you check the other thread on this subject. That's one hell of a maintenance run!
     
  8. Divster

    Divster Guest

    aye fair enough i just came online and now seen other posts hehe maybe the hamster is doing the maintenence?
     
  9. Cailleach

    Cailleach Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    127
    Hah, chewing everything that stays still more like, if I know anything about hamsters!

    We will now have to wait for EA to get their asses out of bed to get a fix, since they have yet grasped the concept of matching tech support to time zones for their multi time zone game. Shoddy, real shoddy.
     
  10. Lord Kynd

    Lord Kynd Guest

    check your firewall, and anti-virus and see if one of them are blocking EA.
    EA is not the cause of this, it's on your end.
    and if you run a peer protection type program like peerguardian you need to allow EA to connect. or it will give you that message.
    check your firewall(s)
     
  11. hawkeye_pike

    hawkeye_pike Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Likes Received:
    11
    It now works again. And no, it was not on my end. I have quite good knowledge of firewall technology. And if it was a firewall or av problem, then it would never work. However, I just experience those connection problems maybe once a week.
     
  12. Zodiac19

    Zodiac19 Guest

    Well, it looks like the login servers are back on-line to bad Baja is in maintenance. Oh well i guess I can wait another ten minutes or so.
     
  13. Babble

    Babble Guest

    Because EA never claimed their servers would be up 100% of the time nor keep you informed if they are up.

    It is UO and you are either fan enough to accept not to get best service or look for alternatives.
     
  14. Cailleach

    Cailleach Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    127

    Ok. If you want to accept abysmal customer service, then that's your perogative. I refuse to accept abysmal customer service. It's not too much to ask that tech support is tied in with time zones and that when it all goes wahoony shaped, EA at the very least have the courtesy to let us know that they know and are working on it. For example

    "We seem to be having an issue with our login servers. Sorry for the inconvenience folks, we're working on it and we'll get them back up ASAP. We'll let you know when we know!"

    There, that took less than 30 seconds of my time. Would it really kill them to do likewise? I think not. They don't because they're lazy assed on customer service and fail to appreciate those folks that pay their wages.