1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Why is my Ultima Online lagging? help plz

Discussion in 'UHall' started by viniciusxis, Jul 28, 2009.

  1. viniciusxis

    viniciusxis Guest

    Okay so im gonna start by telling you guys my history. I played UO for a long time, in a ver poor computer, and it worked fine, no lag at all. It had like no video device, 512 RAM, etc. So, i stopped playing and changed computer. I'm with a new one now, and its better. So, i installed UO back again, and tried to play, but it is IMPOSSIBLE to play. And it is not internet lag, its video lag.. the mouse cursor is extremely slow, the words take too long to apear, and when i play its like playing in 2 frames per second. So here are the things i already tried:
    * changed resolutions ingame, tried to play in full screen, etc.
    * rebooted, reinstalled windows, changed windows (i was using x64 and now im back to the normal xp sp2, the same i used to use when i played in the old one)
    * downloaded another UO versions (i tried from 9th anniversary to t2a one)

    Below i'll put some screenshots i took from everest, giving some info about my pc, drivers, etc.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Please, can someone help me?
    thanks everyone
     
  2. Gladius

    Gladius Guest

    Go back to your PC dealer and have it checked usually they require a certain break-in period for all systems to be ok.

    Hope it's nothing serious anyhow being a recent buy am quite sure it is covered by warranties. Also check video card installed.

    Good Luck!
    -G-
     
  3. viniciusxis

    viniciusxis Guest

    actually it isn't new, it was from my older brother
    and im pretty sure it must be something with the drivers or the directx, cause other games run cool (warcraft3, counter strike 1.6, etc)
     
  4. Snakeman

    Snakeman UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    165
    Do I see a mix of Memory speed? 200 & 166MHz If so it should all be the same speed. Also make sure you are running UO in 16bit not 32bit color, that will lag you considerably (kid had that problem cpl of yrs ago, he played a cpl of other games & it would auto config them to 32)
     
  5. Do you have DirectX 9 installed?
     
  6. Thor VII

    Thor VII Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    129
    Thank you so much m8 :)

    Im The Glorious Lord Legendary Laaaaaagggggy.
    And with your tip i notice i can move better. Many tks.

    Do i must check other stuff too?

    Kind Regards
     
  7. Snakeman

    Snakeman UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    165
    Glad that lil tip helped you, yes make sure the memory in there is both of the same speed/MHz, it can cause problems.
     
  8. viniciusxis

    viniciusxis Guest

    so how do i fix the memory speed you said?
    and how do i change the colors?
    thx anyway
     
  9. aarons6

    aarons6 Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,897
    Likes Received:
    31
    i dont see anything wrong with your computer.. it should run uo just find, probably even KR.
    the only thing i do see is your kingston ram isnt being detected correctly and is being showed at 166 and its supposed to be 200.
    this will cause a slow down.

    in your bios, id set it from auto to manual and change the speed to 200mhz 3.0, 3, 3, 8.

    other then that, update your nvidia drivers and maybe defrag and check your hard drive. run a virus scan too..

    check out malwarebytes, its a good program.

    edit.

    actually looking at the screen shots its trial version. its just showing all the speeds the ram runs at.

    confirm the actual speed by downloading a program called.
    cpu-z.

    http://www.cpuid.com/

    paste the results of that program.
     
  10. viniciusxis

    viniciusxis Guest

    [​IMG]

    is this bad news? :/

    i still wanna know so how to fix the memory speed and how to change the colors
     
  11. Smokin

    Smokin Guest

    Could be that video card, they are known for having troubles complying with stuff.
     
  12. So whenever i play UO I need to change my resolution to 16b? Its always 32B but in the past month or so i have been experiencing lag and mouse slow down since the tot event started.
     
  13. aarons6

    aarons6 Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,897
    Likes Received:
    31
    nope that is good.

    i would try to update video drivers.
    www.nvidia.com
     
  14. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    32
    Not directly related. Lag since TOT event I am guessing is due to more players actively hunting (*ahem* or scripting).

    OP was using an MX4000 with only 128 mb of VRAM and high desktop resolution (1152 x 864). Higher resolutions and colours takes more VRAM which his vidoe card doesn't have enough of.

    Also the MX series are apprx 6 years old and was Nvidia's entrance to the lower end market and thus not very powerful.



    OP - Try reducing your desktop resolution as well. It should help.

    Unless you want to spend money to get a new graphics card or RAM...But the board is old and can only support AGP cards and older RAM. I say save the money for a totally new system and use the current one till it breaks :D
     
  15. Shamus Turlough

    Shamus Turlough Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    207
    The Nvidia MX series has been known to have poor draw rates in certain game engines. All you can do is make sure you have the latest drivers, or get another vid card.