1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Why is UO doing some Bioware patch everytime I open it?

Discussion in 'UHall' started by John Merchant, Mar 13, 2012.

  1. John Merchant

    John Merchant Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    3
    Everytime I log into UO, I get a new interface that I never had before and it spends like 15 minutes looking for patches or something. I hate it. Then it screws up and sends an error message. I can still get into the game, but it's a real pain.

    This is the new interface below. Has anyone else gotten this?
     

    Attached Files:

    • UO.JPG
      UO.JPG
      File size:
      52.6 KB
      Views:
      75
  2. Kylie Kinslayer

    Kylie Kinslayer Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,947
    Likes Received:
    1,504
    Because they consider that progress. *shrugs* I don't like it either but it seems like we will have to put up with it anytime we log on. It is supposed to check for any available patches before letting you play, from what I hear/read the EC folks have been putting up with it for a while now. Just has hit us CC folks.
     
  3. John Merchant

    John Merchant Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    3
    Kylie, that's terrible! I thought I had been hacked or something. Why would anyone put up with it? There has to be a way to avoid it.

    Someone please help!!!
     
  4. Jade of Sonoma

    Jade of Sonoma Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    166
    John Merchant - there's been numerous threads recently, with pagtes of discussions about this and other issues with the new Patch. It makes for interesting reading. Just check the threads posted recently for related topics.
     
  5. Sevin0oo0

    Sevin0oo0 Guest

    that's so 27 seconds ago. There's multiple threads now addressing this. There's a new breed of UOAM now too
     
    Shelleybean and Flutter like this.
  6. Crysta

    Crysta Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    73
    The real problem is that for the EC it only takes about 4 or 5 seconds to go through it all. Something about how they integrated it with the classic client doesn't seem to be working right and is taking way too long.
     
  7. John Merchant

    John Merchant Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    3
    It's also screwing up my UO Asist when I get the error, and I get a series of error message as I try to log in :(
     
  8. Sevin0oo0

    Sevin0oo0 Guest

    yea, you've seen this before if you've played very long. It smooths out when Tugsoft puts out an update, it'll come
     
  9. Sevin0oo0

    Sevin0oo0 Guest

    With CC, Mine starts off fast, then it seems to just flat hang when it hits 60/390 for me (memory issue?), then several times more after that, and kinda jerky, taking ~1min.
     
  10. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,461
    Likes Received:
    583
    As noted by me, others, and Tugsoft, with UOAssist, if you're already patched up (patch up by starting and restarting UO without Assist), just close the patcher window without letting it run, and use the client login window that appears at the same time.

    And, the long checksum time is a known bug the devs are looking at.

    The change was made to make it to where, once everything gets adjusted, the corrupted patch bugs that require reinstalls from the last decade+ will no longer occur, as the new patcher has the ability to replace corrupted or missing files. After all, the old patcher was designed to run on Windows 95. That it choked on XP, Vista & 7 only on rare occasions was a minor miracle.
     
  11. Flutter

    Flutter Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    21,553
    Likes Received:
    3,840
    I think tomorrow I will make my own post about this....
     
    Sevin0oo0 and Jade of Sonoma like this.
  12. kelmo

    kelmo Old and in the way
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Dread Lord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17,376
    Likes Received:
    4,692
    *smiles* I will be here to read it.
     
  13. Jade of Sonoma

    Jade of Sonoma Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    166
    I should make my own post about this too .. very soon! YIKES! I decided to TRY log-in to UO and - - *gulp* - - and now, fifteen minutes later, Biopatchware is only at 18% downloading - - At this rate I'll be waiting for the next hour before it finishes the task.

    This emphasizes the reasoning of why I choose to use CC instead of EC. I've had too many problems with EC in the past.
    Now the patch issue is hitting CC also.

    Usually I try make the best of it and not complain but this is seriously trying my patience.

    Ok *talks to self .. " patience a little longer" - - I know the staff is having a difficult time - -

    It took from 6:47 PM Pacific Time to 7:16 PM to complete the patch .. :sad4:Oh well .. will go back and refresh the loyalty status IF I can actually play the game now for a little while ... :banana:
     
  14. Flutter

    Flutter Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    21,553
    Likes Received:
    3,840
    kelmo stop flirting with me in public! You will make all my other boyfriends jealous!
    Seriously I've run into some RL stuff or I'd have already replied to you in a certain other bestial post.
     
    kelmo likes this.
  15. Flutter

    Flutter Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    21,553
    Likes Received:
    3,840
    Jade are you still having problems with this? I was fortunate to be able to buy a brand new gaming computer just this past Monday so I was lucky. I didn't realize how slow my other computer was until I got this one.
    I've logged in a few times (once just to refresh my boat and another to "test" my speed running through ATL Luna on my new computer) since the patch and haven't had any real problems. I was lucky to have read the forum first before I tried to open UO so I knew to run uo.exe first. Now I just open UO Assist close the patch screen and play normally (i don't wait for the 0/390 bs)
    Let me know if there's something I can do to help. Seems my RL has given me only pockets of time to post on the forums anyway.
     
    Jade of Sonoma likes this.
  16. Woodsman

    Woodsman Guest

    Just wait until we have to download and install the Origin client to play UO.
     
  17. Flutter

    Flutter Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    21,553
    Likes Received:
    3,840
    Forget about it.
     
  18. Conrad

    Conrad Guest

    The Ultima Online client, in it's entirety, not just the patcher, was written to run on Windows 95/98. Your statement applies to the Classic Client as well, and to be honest, I am somewhat awed by the fact that the Devs have weathered five Windows environments without scrapping the entire thing and starting over. There is code in this game older then some of the kids playing it.

    Minor miracle, indeed.
     
  19. Jade of Sonoma

    Jade of Sonoma Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    166
    Thanks Fluttter. I was reading these posts on UHall and learning about all the problems players were having so I didn't dare try log in to UO. Today was the first time I logged in, but, was by now quite well aware of the problems I might encounter. Feels like I just bought this computer as I consider it my new one -- but it's been at least three years since I purchased it and as everyone knows, computers are obsolete the day you purchase them. Anyhow buying another one isn't in the cards right now.

    Since I've always used the UO.exe andg since I have never used UOAssist, I didn't expect tooi many problems from the download of the new patch - - but for it to take so long was a surprise. expect the downloading to occur every time I try to log in after I log out so I didn't log out ... just kept UO up for the past few hours while real life took over.

    Bed time. I'll let you know what happens after I log out and log back in tomorrow. . Thanks again.
     
  20. Kylie Kinslayer

    Kylie Kinslayer Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,947
    Likes Received:
    1,504

    Well, atleast you didn't slip like one of the ladies in the alliance I am in... she refers to it as a Beastiality Suit :eek:
     
  21. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,461
    Likes Received:
    583
    Given that it's a PvP suit, that's not much of a slip....
     
  22. Jade of Sonoma

    Jade of Sonoma Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    166
    I replied I would let you know how things go today - so here I am, as promised, replying. :lol:

    Again Thanks Flutter. The problems seem to be gone - so far.

    A few moments ago, I LOGGED IN (crossing my fingers) and the PATCH didn't take more than a couple of moments to work and allow me to PLAY. It didn't do the long download and check again. There was a bit of fluttering on the screen before the Autopatch window showed up, but otherwise, the PLAY Button was there fast and I was able to get into the game very quickly today. That is better .. something I can live with.

    So starting the Game with UO.exe without UOAssist working, does seem to work well for the CLassic Client. (*so far*) :thumbsup: - - (not that I have UOAssist .. never used it)
     
  23. S.P.A

    S.P.A Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2000
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    55
    Couldn't we just instead send you to Mythic headquarters to use the :whip: on the slaves there?