1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Will this Video card (and upgrade) improve my UO experience?

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Vareck, Jun 5, 2008.

  1. Vareck

    Vareck Guest

    I wasn't satisfied with the way UO was running on my computer. So, I'm having someone replace the motherboard, RAM (4GB Now), video card, hard drive, power supply, CD ROM, fans, and processor (Quad Core) on my computer. I think that was all they replaced.

    I'm starting to wonder if the only thing that wasn't replaced was the cover over the computer now.....actually I kept the floppy drive on the computer.

    But, I'm wondering if this card will make my UO experience really awesome now... the computer is due to be completed tomarrow at the cost of 1200 bucks... but, I really want UO to run smoothly.

    EVGA GeForce 9800 GTX Video Card - 512MB GDDR3, PCI Express 2.0, SLI Ready, (Dual Link) Dual DVI, HDTV is the card.

    I'm hopping UO will look truly awesome now.
     
  2. E_T

    E_T Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    6
    If you're running UO:KR then, yes. If you're running 2D then, the Mhz of your processor is most important.
     
  3. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    It will help KR run nice and smooth, but will be of little noticeable help for 2d as KR uses the graphics card to run while 2d relies more heavily on the processor.
     
  4. I'm assuming you mean KR...since that would be massive overkill for the 2D client.

    I don't know that quad core matters. That depends on the program taking advantage of threading. In some cases, it can actually slow things down and might have to be disabled.

    I have the same amount of Ram, a slightly older nVidia with the same amount of VRam...and it runs like a snail for me. I gave up even patching KR...I'm not far from just removing it from my system entirely.

    What you have now should technically be above recommended specs...but so am I and it still stinks.

    Best of luck.
     
  5. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    I run KR on a GeForce 7950GT 512 Meg card and it runs nice and smooth.

    The core components are a bit older with a 3500+ Athlon 64 (single core) and 2 gig of PC3200 DDR RAM, but the KR client is still nice and smooth.
     
  6. nix912001

    nix912001 Guest

    At 4GB of Ram make sure you have 64 Bit XP or Vista, or else you wont be using any of it anyway.
     
  7. Azazel of LA

    Azazel of LA Guest

    Well its not gonna "Look Better" because the game is 10 years old and updating your cpu wont help that. You will have a better game experiance because your gonna run alot smoother (as long as your not on dial up still) and faster. I gotta ask though , where are you getting the cpu from? Are you building or buying from a site? I might be able to help you save some $$$.