1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Windows 7 Report - UO 2D Client, UO Assist & UO AutoMap All Work Perfectly

Discussion in 'UHall' started by S.P.A, Jan 12, 2009.

  1. S.P.A

    S.P.A Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2000
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    55
    I guess it is traditional for UO players to be bleeding edge technology adopters on everything except a 3D client *grins* so I am pleased to report I have all the traditional elements of UO; 2D client, UOA and UOAM, working perfectly on three separate specifications of laptop and desktop under Windows 7 Ultimate Beta 1 - Build 7000.

    So technology won't be stopping us playing for another few years!

    Happy nerding.
     
  2. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    what about KR :)
     
  3. God_Majere

    God_Majere Guest

  4. IanJames

    IanJames Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    102
    What about the wireless scan lag that plagues the vista users, have they fixed that with 7?
     
  5. GalenKnighthawke

    GalenKnighthawke Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641
    Likes Received:
    1,163
    :thumbup1:

    Thanks for letting us know this; it hadn't occurred to me to worry but it really should have!

    -Galen's player
     
  6. S.P.A

    S.P.A Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2000
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    55
    Sorry, KR is not even installed on any of my machines. I'll leave it to Mythic to test the new SA client themselves.
     
  7. Redxpanda

    Redxpanda Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    986
    Likes Received:
    116
    How does the OS itself run? Stable enough to trust it not to spaz (not because of UO).
     
  8. S.P.A

    S.P.A Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2000
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    55
    No sign of that problem - just left it ping for 3 minutes and a steady 16ms - 17ms on 99% of pings, remainder were 27ms and 35ms.
     
  9. Hildebrand

    Hildebrand Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,697
    Likes Received:
    1
    Great to see someone is testing Win 7. I was hoping someone would this week.
    I thank thee!
     
  10. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    I'll leave it to Mythic to test the ... client themselves

    And yet here you are testing the outdated client for them.
     
  11. lucitus

    lucitus UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    45
    KR Client works perfect.
     
  12. Sabbath

    Sabbath Guest

    Thank you S.P.A and Lucitus! I've read similar results with other popular MMO's. W7 may be the Holy Grail.

    Lucitus, can you comment on any differences in the performance of KR? Does it work about the same or did you see an improvement? What about crashes? Thanks again!
     
  13. Nexus

    Nexus Site Support
    Administrator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Patron

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,573
    Likes Received:
    1,838
    To be honest I've heard nothing but good things about Windows 7.
     
  14. Omnius

    Omnius Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,209
    Likes Received:
    9
    I've heard a number of security concerns already as well as a few minor but very real stability issues. On the positive side it apparently works spectacular for mac users running it on bootcamp. Slightly faster than supposedly equally designed dells.
     
  15. Ender

    Ender Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,548
    Likes Received:
    548
    It's working better than my old install of XP has been so far. For some reason when I booted up LOTRO I could run it better on max settings with DX10 then just very high with DX9 with XP. Same hardware, all that changed was the OS.
     
  16. Dragkiris

    Dragkiris Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Efficentcy FTW
     
  17. In Flames

    In Flames Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    From what I was reading it was sounding as though it was going to just be Vista part 2, so It's good to hear otherwise from people who have tested it.

    I wish they'd just make a "Gaming Edition" of Windows though.

    Something with all the nonsense and what not stripped out of it for performance purposes.

    *nods*

    Then maybe there could have been a decent version of vista ^^

    *Can't wait to get Vista off his machine so it will stop locking up with ever attempt to download a large file*
     
  18. lucitus

    lucitus UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    45
    Not really the crash iussue is the same and the decreasing performance the longer the client runs.
     
  19. Maplestone

    Maplestone Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,657
    Likes Received:
    9
    I believe it's called an XBox :)
     
  20. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    Which comes with its own set of crashes :p
     
  21. Raina

    Raina Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not terribly surprised since it's basically just a service pack for Vista.
    There is no reason to think it wouldn't, but I suppose it's good to know for sure.

    ~Rai
     
  22. Maplestone

    Maplestone Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,657
    Likes Received:
    9
    Windows: Stygian Abyss?

    (ok, ok, I'm done now)
     
  23. Setnaffa

    Setnaffa Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Geez. I've been playing UO on Windows 7 for 2 months now. If I had known people were that interested in a Beta OS, I would have mentioned it. I didn't think it was any big deal.

    Btw, I'm talking 2D and KR.

    And for those who say Windows 7 is not much more than Vista SP2, you could say the same thing about XP. After all, Windows 2000 was Version 5.0 and XP is version 5.1. Sure, MS came out with a Home and Pro version, but the kernel hadn't changed much.
     
  24. Is there a 64 bit version of Win 7 available? Vistax64 runs KR just great with 8GB ram... I don't want to give that up!
     
  25. Xclio

    Xclio Guest

    Yes the 64bit version of Win 7 is available for download from MS.
     
  26. BajaKurgan

    BajaKurgan Guest

    Where can I get UOAM?

    Kurgan
     
  27. Setnaffa

    Setnaffa Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not only is there a 64-bit version available, I recommend everyone who has a computer newer than 2005 go with the 64-bit version rather than the 32-bit version.

    It's mostly a memory thing. More memory = better performance because your system won't need to access your hard drive as much.

    When Windows NT 4.0 came out in 1996, we were all happy with 48MB of RAM. 64MB or 128MB was the complete hookup. 3 and a half years later when Windows 2000 came out, we needed 128MB to run it, but 256MB was highly recommended. Then in 2001 when XP arrived, we found we needed at least 512MB or our system appeared slow. Of course when Vista came out in 2006, 1GB was required, but 2GB was required for the new Aero graphics stuff.

    As you can see, memory requirements continue to at least double for each OS. The maximum memory available to a 32-bit OS is 4,294,967,296 (2^32) bytes or 4GB. With that barrier staring everyone in the face, look at what a 64-bit OS can access in terms of memory: 18,446,744,073,709,551,616 (2^64) bytes or 18 Exabytes (18 Billion Gigabytes). A Caveat: Microsoft says 64-bit Windows can only access 128GB, but I have no way to verify that. Regardless, you'll be able to throw as much memory in your box as it can physically hold.

    The only major issue with 64-bit OSes are drivers, but over the next year, every major hardware vendor will be creating or testing both 32-bit and 64-bit drivers for all their devices. When the final version of W7 comes out in November or January, pretty much every existing device made after 2005 will have a 64-bit compatible driver available.

    On top of that UO runs great on W7-64. :D
     
  28. Setnaffa

    Setnaffa Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Kurgan. Google is your friend, mate!

    Googled UOAM and was pointed to this site: http://xeonlive.com/uoam/
     
  29. In Flames

    In Flames Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Silly man, you can't play UO on an Xbox =P
     
  30. Hildebrand

    Hildebrand Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,697
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have no problems with Vista 32bit or 64bit. Only 1 thing gets me with 64bit.... Cisco VPN support... not quite there yet, even with ASA5510.
     
  31. BajaKurgan

    BajaKurgan Guest

    Thanks Setnaffa...

    I use Google daily ;)
    I in fact, googled UO Automap this weekend and was able to download the app form http://xeonlive.com/uoam, but when I installed it, it would not run. I'm running Windows XP SP3 and followed the instructions that came down in the uoam.rar, so I can't think of any reason why it wouldn't work.

    I talked to someone in game and they seemed to have some similar problems with UOAM, so I thought maybe you guys were using some fancy secret install of UOAM and I wanted to jump on the bandwagon.

    Kurgan
     
  32. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    Downloading W7-64 now... gonna grab food, then go pick up a small cheap SATA drive to use as a test drive for it. SHould be interesting
     
  33. KenDuLac

    KenDuLac Guest

    UOA is loosing my macros under windows 7. Not sure what is causing this. I build them and they just disappear.
     
  34. Been running UO on W7 for about 11 months now (since last november) before it even had the taskbar. Plus W7 has great compatability features so if something doesn't work in the W7 environment, you can switch it to a classic version of Windows such as XP. Unfortunately for some reason the W7 backwards compatability mode for XP requires 1gig ram all in its self. But the OS is quite stable, it's not perfect but very usable. I guess it's more or less the enhanced Vista OS since it's built over the same architecture.
     
  35. The only problem I have with recommending people to go with the x64 bit version is that most average users buy stock computers which the standard of RAM is only up too about 3 or 4. Secondly, not a lot of driver support like you mentioned is built for the x64 bit OS. And lastly, if they don't run any memory intensive applications or software, whats the point? It's not going to make any x86 bit software run any quicker just because it's running on a x64 bit OS.

    Now on the other hand if you're going to be taking advantage of the the x64 bit and you have the resources available, hands down go the x64 bit route.

    I read in an article somewhere that x64 bit won't really become a standard until probably the next gen OS. I have no reason to doubt that since running a x64 bit OS requires significantly more resources than a x86 (32) bit OS. Most likely with solid state takes off and becomes extremely affordable (I mean in the affordability range as SATA), USB 3.0 becomes the new standard and DDR3 is standard is when x64 bit OS's will start taking off.

    Application and software developers will finally have a market to develop highend software that can take advantage of all the available resources:thumbup1:
     
  36. Snakeman

    Snakeman UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    165
    His (UOAM) original site is back up & running for the last 2-3 mos. it's available here http://uoam.net/
     
  37. ingsmsico

    ingsmsico Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    0
    why use a cheap hard drive? get a caviar black at least.
     
  38. jfkeach

    jfkeach Guest

    Been running Windows 7 for months, and at first I had the issue that you have to run UO and UOAssist as Windows Administrator, so if you want to use addons like UOTamer, UORudder, and UOHome owner, you have to run them as Administrator as well. UOAutomap will not install, as the map files no longer work.
     
  39. Mandrake of DF

    Mandrake of DF Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    323
    At uoam its a dl site of old files, and there is a zip file u can dl there. It works like a charm, but need to run in administrator modus. But - u need to cancle the calibration of maps. It dont have new sa lands - but the rest works perfect.

    One more thing I can add is that both for UO, UOA and UOAM I run them in compability mode with xp sp3.

    I returned to game 3 weeks ago, and have not had one single crash playing uo in thoose modes. Im also using win7 build 7100 on a laptop.
     
  40. If it would I'd quit the technology. The new version of windows costs a high multiple of six month subscriptions...UO is the more economical approach.

    Thanks for this info though...I've been debating whether to try out the new OS.
     
  41. Kirthag

    Kirthag Former Stratics Publisher
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend Campaign Benefactor Evergreen

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,269
    Likes Received:
    1,640
    Does anyone have opinion about the Home vs. Pro versions of Wdws7? Am trying to make a buying decision here.
     
  42. EnigmaMaitreya

    EnigmaMaitreya Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    As far as what has been stated publicly by Microsoft, I would think the issue for you should revolve around backups. Home doesn't have a full featured backup, Pro does.

    On the event you have not seen or heard about this, there is supposed to be a "Family Pack of Windows 7 Home Edition" both new install and upgrade. I believe the Upgrade was around $150US and the New was around $200US and supplied 5 licenses.

    On the other hand, you can install this

    http://www.macrium.com/reflectfree.asp

    For free. The Imaged backup can be mounted as a drive, allowing you to restore individual files / folders.

    You can also create a Boot CD that allows you to restore the image of the Disk and/or a Partition.

    I have chosen this product over the product supplied by Microsoft in its Windows 7 packages.
     
  43. Pro has a few added features, but it comes down to whether are running a network. If not, save your money and go with Home Premium. If you are running a network and need the added admin tools or XP compatibility, go with Pro.

    BTW
    If you are a student, there are versions of Home Premium available for $30. Standard upgrade is $199.99 (some promotional at $79.99, such as Dell and Best Buy), full version is just shy of $200.

    However, if you qualify for non-profit, you can get the Pro version (but not Home Premium) for $15.
     
  44. Nexus

    Nexus Site Support
    Administrator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Patron

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,573
    Likes Received:
    1,838
    The EC and Classic Clients run fine in Ubuntu 9.10 using wine too but I didn't make a thread about it :p
     
  45. You should... in the Tech Forums! I just created a Live Ubuntu 9.10 CD for banking, but haven't used it yet, and was wondering how well the EC ran in Wine.
     
  46. You should make one. It will start up the ole "Who cares about Linux it will never be a real operating system and nobody cares about it" flame thread. :-D.

    Ubuntu does very well with games...I've been impressed.
     
  47. EnigmaMaitreya

    EnigmaMaitreya Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    *Chuckles* And it runs those games even better with Cedega :)

    And to correct a piece of misinformation. Windows 7 Home has the full Networking capabilities of Pro. They just make the path for Home Networking easier than for WorkGroup or Domain.

    And who knows, from their perspective Home Networking may be easier for people to set up at home and achieve the kinds of sharing they want to have and XP Pro works just fine if mixed in.

    But on the Linux .... it is really pretty funny how people will give money to MS for a product that they can basically have for free and be license correct. That will in almost every case be superior performance and reliability wise.