1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Wont let me play, unfamiliar error

Discussion in 'UO Resources' started by JamezC, Feb 14, 2010.

  1. JamezC

    JamezC Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Starting patch session...
    Transferring patch information
    Downloading patch uosa_win32_7-0-3-1.rtp( 519100 bytes )
    Downloading patch uosa_win32_7-0-3-1.pat( 13 bytes )
    Applying patch patch\uosa_win32_7-0-3-1.rtp
    Error applying patch
    Error during session
    Your client may not be the most recent version.
    You may be able to play the game with your current client.
    Check http://www.uo.com/ for help on resolving patching issues.
    Click OK to play the game or Cancel to abort.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Asked my brother and he said he's seen it but it wasn't ever an issue he was still able to play. I don't know what to do though I've reinstalled and it still does this.

    I'm running virus free on a macbook with windows 7 installed on a partitioned section of my hardrive.

    I've played uo on this machine for weeks now and this hasn't been happening or i haven't noticed.

    I'm hoping this a quick fix or something I've done wrong because the machine is perfect and the internet here where i am is perfect as well.

    Any insight would be great!
    Thank you!
    - James
     
  2. JamezC

    JamezC Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've looked further into the problem and googled some stuff and i tried to run a trace, but the uo support site link is not working.

    http://support.uo.com/tech_0.html

    Will this help?

    And where do i get this?

    Thank you
    - James
     
  3. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    First find the patch folder, probably at: C:\Program Files\EA Games\Ultima Online 2D Client. If it has anything in it, delete contents and try re-patching.
    If it's empty find the file 'patchlog' and open it with notepad. Scroll right to the bottom and it should tell you what file failed to patch.
     
  4. JamezC

    JamezC Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Once i get into the stygain abyss folder in the electronics arts folder it has a ton of files and only one folder for music.
    Am i looking for a specific file?

    Thank you for your help!
    - James
     
  5. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    erm, I think that's the enhanced client folder, those patch details are for the classic client?

    I have two folders on my hdd one under 'EA Games' which contains the classic client and one under 'Electronic Arts' which contains the enhanced client files.
     
  6. JamezC

    JamezC Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its the classic clients folder i downloaded the enhanced to see if it would separate the folders. This is so frustrating lol.


    Thank you
    - James
     
  7. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    k, try reading the patchlog file. I'm not sure why you've no patch folder, but the log should tell you something.
     
  8. JamezC

    JamezC Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    I still haven't gotten this to work but i'll keep trying. Thank you for your help. I might just switch over to the enhanced client now its about time i gave it an honest try i've been talking about doing so for a while.

    Thank you
    - James