1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Wrong again, EA

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Fox (Europa), Jul 21, 2009.

  1. Fox (Europa)

    Fox (Europa) Guest

    Just came back and re-opened an account to try the SA client. Predictably I'm disappointed.

    What we now have is 1990s graphics that run slow, look grainy and an interface that is clunky and unintuitive. Basically it’s the 2D client made worse. It has all the worst features of both the 2D and KR clients.

    After three tries (3D, KR & SA) you would have thought EA would have got the simple message: The 2D client is fine, the vast majority of the players like it, it works, and it looks good... So stop trying to create a new interface and failing.

    Here’s the very simple solution: Just update the 2D client! Scrap all the waste-of-time new interfaces and save the additional development/support costs and just add some new features to the 2D client it’s been crying out for for years. Like a larger play window, better macros, all the UO-assist and Auto-map features built-in, etc.

    I mean, one of the stated benefits of the KR/SA clients was that they can create new content with it but as support for the 2D client has now be extended indefinitely and the SA expansion will support 2D then what’s the point of the fugly SA client?

    I’m off again for another couple of years until EA has yet another try at getting the UO interface sorted out.
     
  2. You do realise its only the beta, the finished product is still a bit away, how long did you try it for? Im a massive fan of the 2d look but im willing to give this new client a try :thumbsup:
     
  3. TheGrayGhost

    TheGrayGhost Guest

    See now I am confused............


    Sounds like you want SA
    Sounds again like you want SA
    Again SA oO
    SA is pretty dang close to having all the UOA and Auto map features. So again it sounds like you want SA again.

    You complain about SA and say it sucks and state EA should quit trying to update the interface etc. Then say the simple solution is to update to make the SA client (Well not exactly said like that, but I hope you realize that SA has pretty much exactly what you just asked for lol).

    Other than that, it is still in beta and hopefuly you read the various posts and threads that tell you how to correct some of the issues.

    Turn FPS up to 60
    Turn Vsync on
    Turn off Shadows
    Make sure you have the latest updates for DirectX.
    Make sure you have the latest drivers for your Vid Card.
    If there are any bugs or issues you come across send in feedback to help get it corrected.

    There are many more things people have posted, just look around and maybe you can get it to run as smooth as many (If not most) of us have.
     
  4. Fox (Europa)

    Fox (Europa) Guest

    Yup, I realise its beta, but with it being open beta its really not going to change in any major way.

    I have tried it for about six hours of play time. Tried a few quests, did a bit of monster bashing, had a run around Yew gate, etc. Plenty of time to find out whether I could live with it. Frankly you can often tell if you will like a game within a few minutes of starting it. If you like the look of the interface and can intuitively do the things you want to then you can quickly settle into the gameplay. SA fails on both these.
     
  5. Fox (Europa)

    Fox (Europa) Guest

    My last post on this because I'm just not going to play UO again having tried SA...

    SA is not the upgrade of the 2D client or if it is then its failed. The graphics and the interface are worse, not an upgrade in any form.

    I am 95% certain that this interface will go exactly the same way as KR i.e. it will have a niche following with the vast majority of players sticking to 2D simply because its better.

    Bye for now.
     
  6. IanJames

    IanJames Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    103
    Well since you weren't playing before, it's not a loss for anyone.

    In order to switch clients effectively, you really have to give the new client a go for about a month. Six hours isn't long enough.


    All you people who reactivate in order to try a beta client for a few hours are not people we need trying to use a beta client. Just stay out of it and wait for a finished product if you can't be bothered to submit bug reports and make a commitment to helping improve the product.
     
  7. TheGrayGhost

    TheGrayGhost Guest

    SA is indeed an upgrade from 2D. 2D needs UOA, and Auto-Map to even keep up and even with all that SA simply has better performance. If you don't consider a client that basically does the work of 3 programs and has better performance while doing it an upgrade then I am not sure what you would consider an upgrade.

    If SA performance was bad for you, try the suggestions that are floating around in many many threads because they have helped most people. Also do make sure you are sending in feedback and bug reports, that will help the Devs fix the things you are having issues with. Unless issues are reported theres a chance the Devs won't know about them and if they don't know about them they can't fix them.

    2D was better than KR due to stability. The Downgrade in graphics of SA were done in part to fix those stability issues.
     
  8. Der Rock

    Der Rock Guest

    i realy hope we get rid of this damn 2d client as soon as possible,so we can have all the menpower exclusive for SA client :)
     
  9. the 4th man

    the 4th man Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,090
    Likes Received:
    45

    I agree, it's no sweat off my back if you or anyone else plays. Realistically, droves of players are not going to quit, and those that do bail, won't effect the bottom line, no matter how much they think they will.

    I see 2D as a more "sharp" image, nothing more. Majority of the creatures look like fisher-price beings. Yes the art, to me, is important, as well as the in depthness of a game........thus, I only play UO, to date.

    Sure, the cheaters, hackers, and low lifes will always be there....outside of tracking them down physically and cracking a skull, not much wil be done.

    Honestly, here's what I'm seeing......refusal to change. Alot are, don't get me wrong, but, to this day, we still have those that want the old days back.
    Who doesn't? Things change......my 79 firebird was sweet, but it's gone, and it was better than most of the crap on the road today......times change though.(no, I still won't drive an import)

    You're just one person and entitled to your opinion......but no ones twisting your arm to play.....don't like it, don't play.

    later
     
  10. CroMag1980

    CroMag1980 Guest

    Hey Fox I used to armor ignore people with you hehe (Leonidas).

    I ripped into KR too a few years ago and went back to 2d but this time I've spent some time setting SA up and I like.

    You never talked much ingame anyway mate :D so first off disable legacy chat, that frees the keys to something like wasd keys for movement, mousewheel up/down for selecting targets on the fly, a macro for attack selected target and combat/specials macros grouped around movement keys. Set zoom in/out to -+ it's a waste of mousewheel functionality to put it there.

    You can equip/dequip not just specific weps/armor pieces but it can be set up for anything talismans, a single ring to swap whatever. Apologies if you know this but I'm surprised you're not into it tbh.

    Drag bandies pots regs even POF, anything, to a new hotbar slot, assign a hotkey or if not just click to use, consumables are automatically counted and stacked in the slot UOA style, when you run out the icon remains on the hotbar greyed out until you restock pots/bandies whatever.

    Bandie self/pet/target all work fine, you can set a spell and automate if it targets you or brings up a cursor more robust and reliable than the same thing in assist although I was never a great spellcaster so the above sentence might get flamed.

    Maybe because I play quake it's so natural to wasd but in 24 hours it's already become tiresome to clamp the right button down the whole time to move and am starting to wonder how I managed moving like that for so long.

    What is needed-

    -Dismount self macro
    -Visible bandage timer
    -enabling of the script commands that players can use, could be v powerful

    *edit* I guess for "I've been the best mage in uo since pre alpha" players the above sounds like a pile of crap and aye it's probably a dexxer setup.
     
  11. TheGrayGhost

    TheGrayGhost Guest


    I agree with the WASD setup. With 2D it's just horrible to do WASD but with SA and KR I can free up my mouse and it makes a world of difference. Comming back to UO with the 2D client was a bit hard after playing non point and click games for a good while. Thanks to that one change my wife and I both are playing UO again and loving it.

    Dismount self is something I would like as well. Or at least a target self icon so that my mount macro will mount or dismount with a single click.

    Visible bandage timer is something many already have a work around for. If you're use to UOA then stick a hotbar at the top of your screen. You can put your bandages up there to keep track of how many and the timer. You can put regs, gold, potions and etc. You can also open up your char sheet and stick things like follower count, str, dex, HCI, DCI, etc. I even have titihing up on the top bar for my Pally.


    Edited to Add: What many seem to be under the impression of is that it's simply the graphics of UO keeping new players from joining or Old players from returning. A huge part of the problem has been that UO is or was atleast a Point and click game. The control scheme was very clunky and unintuitive (thats probably not a word oO) to most people now days. WASD is used almost universally for movement on just about every game out there now days. There is a reason for it. Same goes for hitting enter to go into chat mode. If SA remains stable and they fix the bugs and fine tune a few things then yes more would be willing to try it. But being a PnC 2D game it turns many, many people off instantly.
     
  12. Cloak&Dagger

    Cloak&Dagger Guest


    It sounds to me, based on his two posts, that he want the 2d with the exact same interface with the uoa and uo-auto map features, wich if he had a slit of knowledge about computers...is not possible...they can not integrate uoa with out changing the interface.
     
  13. TheGrayGhost

    TheGrayGhost Guest

    Yep, I think you're right.
     
  14. GreywolfUK

    GreywolfUK Sage
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have been using SA client since they made it open beta (client that is), and I am using it 99% of the time now, still setting up the interface to my liking, and waiting on some custom UI's, like the BBE one.

    Main thing I would like changed is, tweak up the graphics a little, as to me they are a bit too low res, other than that I am pretty happy with the new client.
     
  15. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,922
    Likes Received:
    379
    yep, I'm one of those without a 'slit of knowledge' about computers, so I need to ask this question.... would it have been possible to change the function of the current 2D interface (with perhaps adding a few elements) without changing the form of them?
     
  16. Cloak&Dagger

    Cloak&Dagger Guest

    While possible, I believe it would have cuased way more problems than it helped fix. You have to remember most of the uoa functions are not exactly things the current gumps can handle with out modification.
     
  17. Gellor

    Gellor Guest

    As a programmer, I can say YES... it is possible to update the current 2d client so it integrates the functionality of UOA and AutoMap. There would have to be added a new button, menu, or whatnot to access that functionality but it would be VERY possible to do. But it would take time.

    From my reading, the OP is complaining about the GRAPHICS of every new client EA has tried. And I agree. I tried both 3d and KR only to find myself puking because of the graphics and effects. I haven't been overly thrilled with the pictures I've seen of SA either.

    And for the argument of "but it is still in Beta, it will only get better", they claimed the same about 3d and the graphics never got better from Beta:talktothehand:

    I won't argue that the current graphics are VERY old and not flashy like WOW. I also won't argue that the current client has a few big issues... memory leak from hell... crashing upon recall... locking up while sitting there idle.

    But a more pointed question is WHY bother with a new client now? EA has stated they aren't going to do ANY marketing of it and I doubt many people have strictly quit UO because of the client. The main reason for doing a new fancy flashy client should be to entice new players... no marketing means nobody new is going to see the new client to get enticed to playing UO... and word of mouth isn't gonna help given UO's almost decade long spotty history.

    So EA has devoted hundreds if not thousands of hours making a new client to appease the 5% of the crowd.:coco: I hate to break it to them but if they spent even HALF the time they wasted on the new client to find and fix bugs, they would appease 75% of the crowd:thumbsup:
     
  18. Cloak&Dagger

    Cloak&Dagger Guest


    I was going to say "basically what Gellor said" but then I decided...it is not entirely correct...

    They have no choice but to replace teh 2d client... The code is crappy, all the original Programmers and art team are long gone, heck they can't even bring back the UO font due to loss of information with how many times they have moved. BUT they could handle the new client a bit better than they have handled the last two, such as not trying to make a completely new world and just keep all the old art work and bump up the resolution. They would not even have to change any of the gumps, tho some of the UI might have to be changed, which really is a good thing UO UI is really old...and very...hard? Not sure if easy is the word for it, because we are all so use to it we do not realize it is not an easily played game, almost all new players need help with everything in game. Anyway, most of what Gellor said is correct...but they really do need to replace the client unfortunately, the code is just to bad to keep.

    Edit: I just wanted to add that while they need to replace the client, I also feel they need to rewrite the server code also...so they should have been projecting a new client and server together and remove the old client, but I guess...they sorta failed to create a client that would be liked by the entire playerbase, oh well.
     
  19. JC the Builder

    JC the Builder Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,154
    Likes Received:
    708
    The new interface is fully customizable to the point where you can virtually make it look like the old one. And all the item art is from 2D. So the only new stuff in Stygian Abyss are the ground tiles, particle effects for spells and player/creature models.

    I agree that there are a lot of things they can improve in the model area. I especially don't like how they completely reinvented some creatures such as the White Wyrm. But so far it seems SA is on the right track.
     
  20. Demonous

    Demonous Rares Fest Host | Ches Jul 2010
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,218
    Likes Received:
    49
    they would get rid of the SA client before they ever thought about getting rid of the 2d client
     
  21. Demonous

    Demonous Rares Fest Host | Ches Jul 2010
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,218
    Likes Received:
    49
    1. I want the features that SA has implemented into 2d, infact they should have been in 2d years ago, they should update the 2d client itself to improve what it looks like rather than making a new client, not turn from 2d to 3d, just improve it

    2. also it shouldn't be that difficult to chance the resolution capabilities for 2d so i dunno why they haven't thought of doing it after 12 years.... try playing 2d on a 24 inch monitor and i refuse to play full screen cause it looks stretched out then, so i just drag the 2d screen into the center of my monitor and have black space all around to drag out spells into....

    3. also uo assist and uoam features should be put into 2d and should have been a long time ago

    4. the macros are fine as they are so i need no changes there

    all in all, i will always be against every new client that EA creates because they look bad, creating them takes time away from adding new content to the game itself, the vast majority of players use 2d only and if they ever got rid of the 2d client the game would cease to exist
     
  22. Cloak&Dagger

    Cloak&Dagger Guest

    Don't feel like quoting you twice so I will reply to this one first then the other one. You do not understand they are trying to get rid of the 2d client do you?

    As for everything else you put...SA is the 2d client, with out a resolution upgrade, but still the client. Same exact pieces of art. Oh yea and they put in all those nifty little features you wanted, such as uoam and uoa.

    And they can not upgrade the 2d client, stop being niave. The code is not upgradable, the original programmers and artists are gone, and the client needs to be abolished for the sake of the game. ok I'm done now, was nice chatting. *tips hat*
     
  23. olduofan

    olduofan Guest

    whats the best way to submit bug reports ? and i agree with you completely
     
  24. Cloak&Dagger

    Cloak&Dagger Guest

    From with in the SA client there is a bug reporting feature, other wise you would have to go here --> http://www.uoherald.com/feedback/index.php

    And select bug report. If it is for the SA client tho, do it with in the client.

    It should be right on the main menu, I do not have it open right now so im not 100% sure it is on the main menu.
     
  25. CroMag1980

    CroMag1980 Guest

    But it's all about what you're used to. When I showed UO 2D to my nephews they just laughed. Read the comments on youtube UO videos. Most of the world thinks UO only runs on Win 95 it's completely horrible but familiarity makes a big difference to us.

    I am not trying to sell the new client I find that simply doesn't work, if anything all those urging me to try KR probably indirectly led to me refusing to play KR. People have to come around on their own or not but when hard statements are made they can be refuted such as statements regarding functionality.

    Looks wise - can't comment - I still play Quakeworld deathmatch and that is 13 years old it looks like crap on toast on my giant monitor but I love playing it *shrugs* I think any game really exists in your head.
     
  26. IanJames

    IanJames Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    103
    It is on the Main Menu at the bottom
     
  27. CroMag1980

    CroMag1980 Guest

    What crap on toast? :D
     
  28. Siteswap

    Siteswap Visitor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Didnt they already try that with the KR client and fail miserably? :next: