1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

X-fer a char with the same name

Discussion in 'UHall' started by DJAd, Sep 20, 2012.

  1. DJAd

    DJAd Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,936
    Likes Received:
    3,588
    Just thought I'd ask before I go ahead with this. I don't want anything bad to happen and you never know with UO.

    Would it be a problem if I transferred a char to a new shard where there is already a character of the same name?
     
  2. cazador

    cazador Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3,765
    Likes Received:
    1,522
    I've done it before and had no issues
     
  3. Tazar

    Tazar Guest

    The only problem you will have is that once you have two characters with the same name - on the same shard - the two characters will share one macro/settings file. So if they are drastically different templates and use the same keystroke for differing macro's - you'll have some adjusting to do.
     
  4. EDA_GL

    EDA_GL Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    24
    DJAd said:
    Just thought I'd ask before I go ahead with this. I don't want anything bad to happen and you never know with UO.

    Would it be a problem if I transferred a char to a new shard where there is already a character of the same name?​
    The only problem you will have is that once you have two characters with the same name - on the same shard - the two characters will share one macro/settings file. So if they are drastically different templates and use the same keystroke for differing macro's - you'll have some adjusting to do.


    Assuming you have UOAssist, you would need to change a UOA setting. Opposed to character name, have it look for character ID.
    Giant pain in the @ss, but worth keeping your sanity between characters with the same name.
    I cannot speak on how the EC works with characters of the same name.
     
  5. Lady Bleez

    Lady Bleez Journeyman

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    42
    Is the other character with the same name yours? Or is it just another character with the same name? If it is yours then the macros etc should be the only problems.
     
  6. Poo

    Poo The Grandest of the PooBah’s
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend Campaign Benefactor 4H

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,841
    Likes Received:
    2,394
    like mentioned above, your desktop macros will be copied over to the other fella, so if they are both mages then no problem.

    where the problem is is you will have to switch your uoassist from saving as name files to number files.

    i did this switch over years ago, and while its initially a pain it will save you in the long run.

    you just need to hit that settings button when your initially loading uoassist, then in there there is a toggle to either save character files by name or by number.

    so then when you go into your uoassist file, where their use to be names of your toons listed under each shard you will see a long number.
     
  7. DJAd

    DJAd Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,936
    Likes Received:
    3,588
    Thanks guys. It's only a character that's bringing some skills over for me so macros etc wont be issue : -)
     
  8. Voodoo Bad Mojo

    Voodoo Bad Mojo Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend 4H

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,166
    Likes Received:
    504
    i once new a fella (Net Tangler) who had all his guys with the same name.
    and they where all different classes.
    mage, warrior, mule ect ect ect
    i allways imagined he had a hell of a time with his desktop.
     
  9. Viper09

    Viper09 Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,680
    Likes Received:
    824
    Talk about a headache...lol

    I got annoyed enough when I had two guys with the same name.
     
    #9 Viper09, Sep 23, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2012
  10. Poo

    Poo The Grandest of the PooBah’s
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend Campaign Benefactor 4H

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,841
    Likes Received:
    2,394
    the first time i ran into this i had moved a archer tamer from a Korean server to GL, then i noticed that my archer tamer had the same name as a mage alchy i already had there.

    im not gonna lie, i had to log in and change the desktop on them about 10 times thinking that it was me and i was going nuts and kept changing the wrong guy before it twigged into me what was going on.

    then i tried to run a desktop that had all the chiv/bushido/magic/necro spells on them.... that failed.

    i finally picked up a name change token and life is again good.

    only good thing that came out of that was i switched over my uoassist to numbers instead of names so ill never have to worry about my assist dorking up due to names overlapping again.
     
  11. Poo

    Poo The Grandest of the PooBah’s
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend Campaign Benefactor 4H

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,841
    Likes Received:
    2,394
    oh, i should say, sometimes when uoassist messes up you have to move your toons file from the shard list up INTO the shard list to get it to work, and if you have the same name on EVERY shard of a toon then messes it up, specially if they are different templates. so switching to numbers cured that as well.