1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

yay patch issues again!

Discussion in 'UO Siege Perilous' started by Czarina, Mar 23, 2012.

  1. Czarina

    Czarina Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    26
    This is starting to be a crappy trend, having the same problems patching yet again! This is so annoying. Anyways im going to delete everything to do with UO on my computer and just try to redownload the entire thing. Wish me luck!
     
  2. DreadLord Lestat

    DreadLord Lestat Social Media Liaison
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Social Media Liaison Stratics Legend PITMUCK

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,160
    Likes Received:
    1,147
    How is the download going?
     
  3. Czarina

    Czarina Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    26
    I figure i have about another 87 hours or so of downloading
     
  4. Czarina

    Czarina Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    26
    Its stuff like this that makes me want to quit UO =(
     
  5. DreadLord Lestat

    DreadLord Lestat Social Media Liaison
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Social Media Liaison Stratics Legend PITMUCK

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,160
    Likes Received:
    1,147
    Are you on dial-up? If not, you may have to adjust your router to open your port for patching.
     
  6. stmac1988

    stmac1988 Journeyman

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    18
    So what kind of issue are you having, I had the problem where it would start patching and then stop and sit there forever, and nothing. Well i play from a laptop on a wireless router and simply reset my router after a couple hours of trouble shooting and re-dling. If you have wifi i suggest trying it if not then sry i couldnt help more
     
  7. Czarina

    Czarina Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    26
    Everytime a file finishes patching i get a patch error and have to start the patcher again. I deleted all UO stuff and redownloaded the client last nite. Now if you can imagine how many files there are within these patches you can see how many times i have to restart the patcher. For internet i use a virgin mobile USB device thingamajigdoohickey. (i believe thats the copyrighted name for it) Its fairly slow but i only lag really bad during peak times. Downloads take longer but are faster then the dial up i had a decade ago. Id compare it to dsl service in the 90s lol.
     
  8. DreadLord Lestat

    DreadLord Lestat Social Media Liaison
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Social Media Liaison Stratics Legend PITMUCK

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,160
    Likes Received:
    1,147
    I am not sure if either of these will help but will post them anyways
    Patching Ultima Online
    Error when attempting to patch Ultima Online

    If you are playing on a laptop, you can also try going to a business that offers free wifi and try patching there. There are a ton of places that offer free wifi now so it should be easy to find somewhere to do it.
     
  9. Raptor85

    Raptor85 Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,712
    Likes Received:
    224
    I had the patcher fail 3 times before it finally took, had to restore from backup and re-attempt each time (otherwise i woudl have had to re-install), it seems 100% random as to whether the new patcher works or not, and unlike the old one it seems like, instead of just deleting the failed file and trying again, it screws up the game files when it fails and can't even attempt to patch again.