1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

You must wait a few moments to use another skill

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Lyconis, Feb 12, 2009.

  1. Lyconis

    Lyconis Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    68
    Is there a magical way of getting rid of the "You must wait a few moments to use another skill" message? It has said this on any skill attempted to use for about a week. This only happens on one character on the 2d client.
    My systems are pretty trimmed. I use uoassist, uoam and the 2d client. No "active" anti-virus software and run a lean 100-130 Megs of RAM on system startup with roughtly 20 processes. I check the system with online anti-virus scanners, hijack this, ccleaner, and windows system tools to check extra dll's and processes, along with other process lists incase something is hiding.

    [​IMG]
    expand image


    [​IMG]
    expand image


    Does anyone have a solution that isn't listed below.
    1. Cleared the uo "profile" folder.
    2. Tried it on a different computer (then repeated step 1)
    3. Killed the character
    4. Change facets (felucca, trammel, malas, tokuno)
    5. Tried using macro's instead of clicking the blue gem.
    6. Waited for server down tried again.
    7. Went through the latest client patch.
    8. Paged a GM and was redirected to http://uo.com/mailBug.html
    9. Submitted a bug to http://uo.com/mailBug.html
    10. Created this stratics thread.
    11. An yes I have waited in the client for over 10 minutes without using a skill and tried again.

    My Next steps are -
    1. Calling this number 1-866-543-5435 (found on the mailbug website). (have to do it after 9pm pst when I have free minutes on my phone)
    2. Bugging the shards new EM after passing over some bottles of ale.
    3. re-install the client on two systems.
    4. Send the question to five on friday via the feedback form.
    5. Attempt to use the KR client.
     
  2. JC the Builder

    JC the Builder Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,154
    Likes Received:
    708
    I am private messaging you what I think will fix the issue.
     
  3. Lyconis

    Lyconis Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    68
    You're number One. It worked like a charm!!! I am glad the fix was done via a "fluke" with the in-game mechanics!
     
  4. Bazer

    Bazer Slightly Crazed
    Premium Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,408
    Likes Received:
    49
    better then tring to use the hide skill to run from people and it keep saying your to busy at the moment to do the skill
     
  5. neeferio

    neeferio Guest

    I'm stuck with this bug now also... "you must wait a few moments to use another skill".

    Can I get a pm how to fix this too? lol

    Tried most the things the above poster tried also.

    Thanks if so!
     
  6. Felonious Monk

    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    154
    Make a spoon using tink skill 0 skill needed
    it works for me
    thx to Tina Smalls suggustion.
     
  7. neeferio

    neeferio Guest

    I tried making a spoon and it didn't work, also tried making a map and nothing :/

    *EDIT*
    Gm finally responded and fixed it. Not sure what he did but he said try it now and it worked.
     
  8. clarkifer

    clarkifer Guest

    WHOA.... wait a second..... there is a way to fix this?!?!?!?!?!
     
    kRUXCg7 likes this.
  9. TheDrAJ

    TheDrAJ Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Alpha and Omega

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    494
    Is there a way to fix this?
     
    kRUXCg7 likes this.
  10. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    32
    Whoa, that's like a 4 year old post...
    I will pm u the fix that would have worked then.
     
  11. funkymonkey

    funkymonkey Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    961
    Likes Received:
    162
    Can you pm me also I have that issue on one of my chars ty
     
  12. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    32
    TheDrAJ has tested the solution that have worked back then, it no longer works. so he'll be paging for a GM. I'll pm you anyways to try (in the off chance that it'll save you some GM queue waiting)
     
    #12 Harlequin, Oct 31, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2013
  13. Victim of Siege

    Victim of Siege Crazed Zealot
    Governor Stratics Veteran Alumni Safe Haven

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,153
    Likes Received:
    2,510
    I have used honoring a target to get this fixed in the past.
     
  14. Lyconis

    Lyconis Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    68
    If I recall correctly the fix was some skill exploit bug, which was past the time of my memories. Using the tinker skill to create a spoon sounds about right. But now a days there is no spoon. The idea is to manipulate your skill timer. Honor system, compassion runs (brides or nobles) anything that triggers the skill outside of the skill menu, IE the old exploits of using a tinker kit, scribes pen to bypass the skill gem. Outside of bugging the system to repair your character paging a GM and waiting for a response is the best option I can offer.

    I apologize I don't have the original private message as it was before the great stratics migration. If the imported_lyconis account still existed the probably since patched answer may be in there.
     
    startle likes this.
  15. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    If you end up paging a GM use the phrase 'my skill timer is stuck'. That seems to have gotten a helpful response in the past.
     
  16. Siabra

    Siabra Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    43
    Why would there be recent responses to a post made in Feb 12, 2009 ??
    1) the person may not be around
    2) there have been several patches and upgrades that posting to this issue
    would not be useful any longer

    its close to being 4 yrs old??? can this post not just rest in peace?
     
  17. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,978
    Likes Received:
    5,462
    Perhaps if the problem didn't still exist then folk wouldn't feel the need to bring it up again and again.
     
    kRUXCg7 and Lord Kotan like this.
  18. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    32


    Because someone really did encounter the same problem recently:

     
  19. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    32
    Yup, you are absolutely correct. That's why JC pm'd you the fix instead of posting. If I didn't see that he'd already helped you fix it back then, I would sent a pm too, rather than posting it :D
     
  20. fram-man

    fram-man Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Im having this issue - quite annoying, and no GM response after hours of waiting on a page.
    I'd love a PM on how I might fix it besides all the other things like making spoons, ink pen, honor, different computer, different client, log in other char...

    Thanks!


     
    kRUXCg7 likes this.
  21. Lyconis

    Lyconis Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    68
    Some of the posts might not be clear, currently there is no fix that you the player can do. Petra's recommendation of paging and simply putting in "my skill timer is stuck" is going to be your best bet.

    The exploit used to reset your skill timer by invoking the skill timer outside of using a skill directly, e.g. using a tool or virtue to trigger the timer. I don't believe stating this breaks the rules of conduct on this board as the exploit is no longer viable which is why it was PM'ed in the first place.
     
    kRUXCg7 likes this.
  22. fram-man

    fram-man Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the response/message - also for some reason the client just locked up and after words it was working - at least some time after the lock up it was working... I had shut down the client and tried other computers and 3d - odd..
    Still no GM had showed up -- they take forever I guess

     
  23. Mandrake of DF

    Mandrake of DF Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    323
    I got the same issue on one of my chars now. It started yesterday for no reason while I was training provoking. It suddenly just started to say 'You must wait a moment to use another skill'...

    Any fix, or just wait for GM? Been waiting 12 - 13 hrs so far... :-(
     
    kRUXCg7 likes this.
  24. kelmo

    kelmo Old and in the way
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Dread Lord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17,382
    Likes Received:
    4,706
    Try opening (or closing and opening) your character. This has happened to me a few times lately. I use EC client with no mods. How about you, Mandrake?

    Yes I know this is an old thread, but it seems pertinent today.
     
  25. Mandrake of DF

    Mandrake of DF Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    323
    I use CC. I tried most of the tricks I could come up with - with no luck. Restarting, dying, gain other skills, change skills up and down, try every skill with a dot on in skill list. Tried opening scriebe pen, make tinker stuff, Changed facets etc...

    I left a GM call, where I phrased it like this; My skill timer is stuck. Everytime I try to use a skill, i get the message 'You must wait a moment to use another skill.'

    I let the char stay logged in at luna bank when I went to bed. When I got back, I had a GM note - where he said it was sent to futher invetigation. BUT he had fixed my char - so now I can use skills again :)

    This is a old bug that seems to have come back - so if you get the problem, do as I did and leave a call while your char is logged in. That way the GM can look at it and fix it. Rembember to use the phrase that the skill timer is stuck. That way the GM know where to look.

    Took me over 12 hrs waiting for GM before I went to bed...so how long time it took for him to get there - idk... But its fixed at least!
     
    kRUXCg7 likes this.
  26. startle

    startle Siege... Where the fun begins.
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Gilfane

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,279
    Likes Received:
    1,263
    This happened to 2 chars of mine recently... Both came out of it after several client logs... I was also told to say "I wish to lock this down, and target your healthbar" would get rid of it... Didn't have a chance to try it before both those chars began functioning normally again....
     
  27. Thrakkar

    Thrakkar Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    343
    How do you prevent the server from disconnection you, if you stay idle for too long? (I think it is 15 min)
     
    kRUXCg7 likes this.
  28. Mandrake of DF

    Mandrake of DF Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    323
    With UO Assist - show incoming names, it wont time out because it always coming in new players on screen. No trick, just plain old fashion way.
     
  29. Mandrake of DF

    Mandrake of DF Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    323
    Bummer - it happend again.... On another toon. This time I know exactly what i did to get it stuck. I was doing new player quests in haven for tracking and magery... I hit tracking a bit too fast, before I was finished casting spell - and 'Wham'.... You must wait a few moments to use another skill. This toon aint a hr old either... grr...
     
    kRUXCg7 likes this.
  30. kRUXCg7

    kRUXCg7 Sage

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    227
    Same boat now. Still no way other than paging a GM?

    Sorry for the resurrection.
     
  31. sablestorm

    sablestorm Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,951
    Likes Received:
    317
    I had this before and fixed it somehow, but I have been unable to recently. What I usually do is a page a GM and leave my character logged in at Luna bank. After awhile, the GMs come fix it.
     
    kRUXCg7 likes this.
  32. Mandrake of DF

    Mandrake of DF Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    323
    Only a GM can fix it. Be sure to say that your 'Skill timer is stuck, and need to be reset'.

    I heard someone said it helped to do a char copy to tc - you can try that...if not its only GM...
     
    kRUXCg7 likes this.
  33. kRUXCg7

    kRUXCg7 Sage

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    227
    Tried Character copy, to no avail
     
  34. kRUXCg7

    kRUXCg7 Sage

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    227
    So many hours have passed now and no GM response. I don't want to wait all day long for a GM to show up. This is so frustrating.
     
  35. kRUXCg7

    kRUXCg7 Sage

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    227
    Ok, works again. Thank you, Mesanna and Lord British!