1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
    Dismiss Notice

Do mibs reset like TMaps?

Discussion in 'UO Fishing and Treasure Hunting' started by Tabby Kapak, Sep 3, 2017.

  1. Tabby Kapak

    Tabby Kapak Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran Campaign Benefactor

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    82
    Hello all! I was wondering, since the TMaps reset to un-decoded after a (relatively short) while, do the MIB locations do the same? It would be nasty to figure out all locations and then not get to them all before they reset. (Have twice marked runes for TMaps which reset before actually getting to dig them up. Does anyone know how much time we have after decoding?)
    Have a nice week all!
     
  2. Kylie Kinslayer

    Kylie Kinslayer Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    6,450
    Likes Received:
    2,827
    Never seen that happen. When I gather MIB's I separate the sos's by quadrant (NE, NW, SE, SW) into bags and do my best to arrange them from from lowest number to highest basically setting whichever pattern is quicker. Never noticed them changing.
     
  3. sos440

    sos440 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    19
    Me neither. Although T-maps reset after 30 days of decoding, I had no trouble pulling up SOSes whose location I recorded months ago.
     
  4. Synbad

    Synbad Sage

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    157
    Are you all both fisherman and t-hunters?
     
  5. Ford Taunus

    Ford Taunus Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran Supporter Stratics Legend K/K

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    157
    Is there even need for reset? I think you can get to every places on SOS:s.. while as T-Maps can have have unreachable locations.
     
  6. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Stratics Veteran Wiki Moderator Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    1,225
    There's only 1 major, maybe 1-2 minor, areas where SOS resets might be an issue, and there are work-arounds for all of them.

    1. SOS that are under the SA volcano in Trammel.
      Solution: Grab a rowboat deed (or a small boat, if you're one of the rare fishers without High Seas), find a recall rune to Fel Fire Island (Spirituality Shrine works well), and take the rowboat to the spot.
    2. SOS in the areas that have other terrain issues (the Haven/Ocllo areas that aren't the same, SOS under the Floating Emporium, etc.)
      Solution: For the Haven/Ocllo issue (which might not even exist), go to the other shard. For other terrain (under new docks, the Floating Emporium, etc.), try fishing from the docks, or just offshore. Use a rowboat if you have to.
    3. (very rare) Can't reach an SOS near a server line.
      Solution: UO is coded so that a ship can't straddle a server line (as the ship server is based on house server coding). The bigger your boat, the farther you are when you get teleported over the line as you near it - both on the approach side AND the other side. HOWEVER, that also depends on the ship's orientation. You can get closer to the line with the centerline of the ship parallel to the server line, than with the now or stern pointing at the server line. In most cases, this is enough lee-way (literally), to turn your ship in order to get in closer in single move steps.
      In rare cases (especially if using a Britannian ship or even a Garg ship), you might have to just toss down a rowboat off your ship, and use it to get in closer to the line. I've had to do this ONCE since High Seas came out.

    So, there's really no pressing need for SOS to reset.