1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Author Wes Locher has teamed up with Stratics for a giveaway of his new book Braving Britannia. This book explores the history and impact of Ultima Online and includes interviews from current and past dev team members as well as many UO and Stratics community members. Click here for more details!
    Dismiss Notice

UO Assist not working on new computer... not loading up with the client.

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Pandora_CoD, Apr 12, 2014.

  1. Pandora_CoD

    Pandora_CoD Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend CoD

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,959
    Likes Received:
    739
    Anyone have this issue before, if so how did you guys fix it?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Mervyn

    Mervyn Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,453
    Likes Received:
    753
    Need more information, what version of windows are you running? have you set it to run in admin mode?
     
  3. Pandora_CoD

    Pandora_CoD Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend CoD

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,959
    Likes Received:
    739
    Wow something is up with UHall today for me.... I posted this thread, saw it ... then came back wasn't there, posted another... saw it... now I come back this one is here, but the newer one isn't.... Freaaaaakyyyy.

    Information:


    Windows 8.1
    Running in Admin (both UOA and UOCC)
    Fully Patched, & Repatched
    Installed & Reinstalled


    Thanks!
     
  4. Lefty

    Lefty Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    67
    UOAssist. Boot it up, there should be a settings tab. Aim it to the folder/client. Then run as Administrator.
     
  5. kamiiyu22

    kamiiyu22 Visitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Load up uoassist, click settings tab, under "Load UOAssit using" try out with different Method. Sorry I don't have the computer with me. But that should fix your problem on win 8.1
     
  6. Pandora_CoD

    Pandora_CoD Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend CoD

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,959
    Likes Received:
    739
    Already pointed it to the directory and already running it as admin. None of the methods worked.
     
  7. Noldor

    Noldor Knight, Order of the Bug Hunters
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    106
    NOTE: I don't play UO nor run any add-ons in any of the games I play. I am merely making a suggestion due to issues with Windows 8 overall.

    What version of Windows is UO Assist written in? Right click the program and choose Properties....it should tell you in one of those tabs.

    Run the program in Compatibility mode and choose the matching Windows version. See if that helps.

    TQQdles™
     
  8. Lefty

    Lefty Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    67
    Better check. The default settings on uoassist are not correct and depending on your install the client folder has changed locations quite often.
     
  9. Pandora_CoD

    Pandora_CoD Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend CoD

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,959
    Likes Received:
    739

    Done it. I have tried to run it in every listed compatibility mode I could use. Nothing.
     
  10. Pandora_CoD

    Pandora_CoD Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend CoD

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,959
    Likes Received:
    739
    Checked, definitely pointing to the right directory. Nothing.
     
  11. Pandora_CoD

    Pandora_CoD Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend CoD

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,959
    Likes Received:
    739
    Its only on my NEWEST computer that this happens to. My older one runs Windows 8.1 and UOA loads just fine. I tried to email [email protected] --- I mean I have 12 accounts with this guy, he better answer me.
     
  12. Lefty

    Lefty Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    67
    And you right mouse clicked uoassit and ran as admin?
     
  13. Pandora_CoD

    Pandora_CoD Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend CoD

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,959
    Likes Received:
    739
  14. Zosimus

    Zosimus Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    4,370
    Likes Received:
    720
  15. Ludes

    Ludes Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,384
    Likes Received:
    659
    Did you guys get this fixed? I know Mare Jade was having the same problem..

    Pointed my tech guru at this thread.. he gonna get back with me on the fix.

    Neither one of us use CC or assist programs so he gonna have to load em up and work on it.. might take a day or two ..
     
  16. Brosnik

    Brosnik Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1