1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
    Dismiss Notice

UOCartographer beta (new UOAM) [0.9.8.0 Dec 17, re-read OP first]

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Kiwillian, Nov 21, 2009.

  1. Experimental

    Experimental Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    19
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Love it!! Installed and ran w/o any problems with Win 7
     
  2. Mitzlplik_SP

    Mitzlplik_SP Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Well crap,was going to get this on my other comp so I could get to know the server/connect thing and now I`m gettin this when I try to DL off the link:

    Installer integrity check has failed. Common causes include incomplete download and damaged media. Contact the installer author to obtain a new copy.

    More info at:
    http://nsis.sf.net/NSIS_Error

    *Edit* FIXED Works like a charm.

    :confused:
     
  3. Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    ok another question when you place a marker where does it put in in the UOC files? I been looking for that marker I placed on my wife's place but have not been able to locate it.

    Also I did bring over the UOAM t map locations, but now I see these piles of gold at t map locations, is it possible to change the icon for treasure to a little point of light, something that does not cover such a huge area on the map locations.
     
  4. Kiwillian

    Kiwillian Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Thanks everyone. I had to sleep a bit and need to go back to bed too - lol. I'll look into the treasure map icon. I thought this was changed already, but I guess not.

    I wasn't planning on adding a chat function at this time.

    With the EC, once you copy the Lua file, restart the EC. Make sure you copy it to your current skin directory. If you are using a custom skin and it fails, you may need to talk to the skin maker. If you don't, you need to create the directory "Default" under "User Interface" etc (see the ReadMe for more info).
     
  5. Kiwillian

    Kiwillian Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Oh and housing: UOAssist is currently broken so I can't do this at the mo. I have tried contacting tugsoft about it but never heard anything back :( Also not sure how to do it with the EC either.
     
  6. Lucky me!!

    Error says:

    System.MissingMethodException: Method not found: 'Void System.GC.Collect(Int32, System.GCCollectionMode)'.
    at #=qyufDfJmfDaWNwdW5iWdWyAPY758qJCAb4ScfWRnvn_Q=.#=qNb4Venb7P_oDlSkLjfcXtA==()
    at #=qyufDfJmfDaWNwdW5iWdWyAPY758qJCAb4ScfWRnvn_Q=.#=qV9Bh97sfxtBxZEkVg16ezErIHb2IUQ71LvP1_yYk_U8=()
    at #=qyufDfJmfDaWNwdW5iWdWyAPY758qJCAb4ScfWRnvn_Q=..ctor()
    at #=qYbb_ieysp4fSJhS47dQc9CoSEchsVwiliqycu$PD$lc=.#=qdfz2MjgboLl2CADXcOf0Pg==()

    Will go re-download and try again.
     
  7. shadowsride

    shadowsride Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    :thumbup: Awsome Dude! Im thrilled with it just the way it is. Im sure there will be bugs & updates along the way, as with anything. You have done an outstanding job & I congratulate you and thank you for all your effort & hard work. Sleep now, may you rest and be refreshed. :sleep2:
     
  8. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    6,887
    Likes Received:
    1,242
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    I found a bug:
    if I log in on ter-mur, the map show my position on trammel and if I change the map manually the map still bring me to trammel at each step...
    However, if I shall recall in trammel and then back to ter-mur the problem is solved till next login...
     
  9. Zooithion

    Zooithion Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3,771
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Nice! I just gave it a real quick "install and run around my area" test and it worked. I'll try to give it more of a workout later today.
    Don't stop, I like it!
     
  10. Kat

    Kat Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,302
    Likes Received:
    472
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Pinco - Are you running UO Assist? If not, give that a try. I know the map obtains and tracks your location from UOA. There is a 2 week trial for UOA where you can use it for free and if you do not wish to purchase after that, just use it to log in and to help UO Cartographer track your location.
     
  11. mr crabs

    mr crabs Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    With the EC, once you copy the Lua file, restart the EC. Make sure you copy it to your current skin directory. If you are using a custom skin and it fails, you may need to talk to the skin maker. If you don't, you need to create the directory "Default" under "User Interface" etc (see the ReadMe for more info).[/QUOTE]



    ok did just as u stated created a direct.called defalt1 under user intertface
    and added the stuff from the defalt zip folder that was already there and then added the lua file and it still will not track my movements still showes me in britt castle thron room.
     
  12. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Stratics Veteran Wiki Moderator Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,482
    Likes Received:
    376
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)



    ok did just as u stated created a direct.called defalt1 under user intertface
    and added the stuff from the defalt zip folder that was already there and then added the lua file and it still will not track my movements still showes me in britt castle thron room.[/QUOTE]

    mine to I have it working in the cc but just shows throne room in EC
     
  13. mr crabs

    mr crabs Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    yep same problem here storm i just pached the cc (been kinda lazy dont use it much) and it all loaded just fine and is tracking and all just haven the problem in ec always shows the britt throne room and wont track
     
  14. Geoffrey Blake

    Geoffrey Blake Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    63
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Haven still seems to be a bit messed up. I think the labels are just really out of date.

    Apart from that, very impressive!

    I did have a problem installing on Vista, but it worked fine when i ran the install program as administrator.
     
  15. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    6,887
    Likes Received:
    1,242
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    yes, I'm using it, but it seems a problem only on login after a recall all is right ...:confused:
     
  16. Rudolph57

    Rudolph57 Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    When you place a marker through the options menu, the marker will be placed in a file called user.map. I did not find that file in my UOC directory, but through the search function I found it in C\users\...\MyDocuments.

    The second question can only be answered by the designer, Kiwillian.
     
  17. Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    thanks! I found it and edit location
     
  18. Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    :ten: I'm loving it! Awesome job :)
     
  19. Jasonleebeck

    Jasonleebeck Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)


    ditto !:party:
     
  20. Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Have to agree, really nice work!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    In UOAM this is nothing, nice to see it on a map.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Thanks!!!!:thumbup::party:
     
  21. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Stratics Veteran Wiki Moderator Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,482
    Likes Received:
    376
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    nice screen shots drakelord now if i could just get enhanced to track me!
     
  22. Spree

    Spree Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,599
    Likes Received:
    16
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    I get a ERROR I downloaded it 2x and got error both times

    ERROR opening for writing

    nsis_intall log

    click to try again

    I licked try again 500 time no luck what gives?
     
  23. Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    save the file and then run it as admin. Let it run it course to add maps and then you should have no problems after.
     
  24. Jasonleebeck

    Jasonleebeck Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)



    Mitzlplik_LS's post 2 screens above.
     
  25. Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    thanks!
     
  26. In Flames

    In Flames Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Wont work for me =(

    Installed as admin, set it to always run as admin, and even though it's pointed at both of my UO dir's it keeps giving me

    "Cannot locate all maps.
    Press OK to generate missing map files. This may take some time.
    If you are currently running UOAM, please close it before continuing."

    I click OK

    Error!!

    "Can't locate facet map. Ensure the path to the client is set correctly."

    Then I go to options, set it to the same file it already says, and then it restarts and the whole process begins anew.

    =(
     
  27. Kat

    Kat Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,302
    Likes Received:
    472
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Spree - Sounds like the installer is borked. I had that same issue the other day and Kiwi was able to fix it. He lives in NZ, so there's a huge time difference. He should be around sometime this evening/tonight.
     
  28. angelus aconitum

    angelus aconitum Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    5
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Great work Kiwillian. Thx alot for doing this all for us.
    I had no problem installing it and so far everything works fine.

    One question: Is there an option that I can drop a mark in an area and get the direction I have to go over my head like normal speech? I think UOAM had something like that and I liked.
    But it's nothing I really need. The tool is just great as it is now :)
     
  29. Kiwillian

    Kiwillian Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    I awake now, kinda :) Lemme try and catch up quickly.

    MissingMethod exception: If you get this try and update your .Net 2.0 either via Windows Update or by downloading the service pack(s) from MS.

    EC tracking: I use the EC myself, so I know it works :) If you make a directory and put everything in it make sure you restart EC and choose the directory as your skin.

    Installer Problems: As said, running the installer as admin on vista/7 should help. Don't run UOC itself as admin though or it will have problems talking to UOAssist.
     
  30. mugmug

    mugmug Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Inside all the map panels it just dark for me? I will show like icons of stuff just not the land or me? What can i do to change this
     
  31. Kiwillian

    Kiwillian Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Double and triple check the client paths are correct. Manually verify that the client actually lives where it is pointing as it is possible to have multiple older 2D clients in different places over the years.

    If that's not it, make sure you are running UOAssist (launch 2D via UOA) and don't run UOC as admin.
     
  32. Nok

    Nok Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    34
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Hi Kiwillian,

    Looks great! When you have the main site ready, let me know please... I'd be happy to add it to the UltimaXbar.
     
  33. angelus aconitum

    angelus aconitum Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    5
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Hmmmm, how can I remove or modify a marker?
     
  34. Kiwillian

    Kiwillian Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    You have to edit it manually in notepad at present. It's User.map in the My Documents\UOCartographer dir.
     
  35. angelus aconitum

    angelus aconitum Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    5
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    ah ok, thx, works finee :)
     
  36. Gildar

    Gildar Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,357
    Likes Received:
    5
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Are you Ok with me creating and distributing a mod that creates the needed pos.log file under the Modders Exchange terms (See "What you can do with Add-ons": http://uo.modders-exchange.net/)?

    The way you're currently doing it is at high risk for having conflicts with future mods or EA changes.
     
  37. Kiwillian

    Kiwillian Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Yes, please do! That would be excellent! :) If you know of a better place to put the code so that it gets updated nicely, feel free to try it.
     
  38. kokopelli

    kokopelli Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Works nicely so far.
    Could we get a spec of the protocol you are using to communicate between client and server?
    This thingy needs a dedicated linux server asap...
     
  39. Viquire

    Viquire Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,459
    Likes Received:
    508
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Good God! Drakelord is like Visa. Everywhere I want to be.
     
  40. Spree

    Spree Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,599
    Likes Received:
    16
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    I got mine working by installed and running as admin
     
  41. Kiwillian

    Kiwillian Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Good to hear! You shouldn't need to run UOC itself as admin, but if it works that's ok.
     
  42. Gildar

    Gildar Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,357
    Likes Received:
    5
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    http://uo.modders-exchange.net/modpackaging
    UOCartographer Position Log

    Extract it to anywhere in the skin you're using, and it will work. I'll add a readme to it later, and let the full skin authors know they can include it if they want.

    One thing I noticed when creating this... if the pos.log file exists, but is empty, UOCartographer crashes. You might want to add some checks around the reading of that file and gracefully handle failures ;)
     
  43. panoramix2009

    panoramix2009 Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend quebecois forever

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    6,028
    Likes Received:
    2,472
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    same for me :(
     
  44. Kiwillian

    Kiwillian Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Use "Run as Admin" on the UOCSetup.exe file.
     
  45. Spree

    Spree Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,599
    Likes Received:
    16
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    When I ran it normal it would not track player as admin it tracked player
     
  46. Quenchant

    Quenchant Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend 4H

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    6
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Thanx Kwillian....

    Not only do I appreciate your efforts on the program, it is greatly appreciated for your efforts in dealing with EA so no one gets banned.

    Just a couple suggestions....
    - You already mentioned changing the treasure locations to a different icon, that would be great.
    - One thing that worked well in UOAM is you could drop a marker anywhere, by putting in the coordiantes, it would then draw a line to your location and tell you how many tiles you were away.
    -- This worked really well for MIB coordinates
    -- It also worked for finding that auction house out in the boonies, when your recall spot was blocked.

    Tips for Vista Users or this is how I got mine to run correctly.
    - Download and *save* the .exe file
    - Go to where you save the file and *right* click on it
    -- choose properties and goto compatibility tab, then click box for run as administrator
    - Double click exe file to start it, it should start the installer and install everything.
    - Once the desktop icon has been created, highlight and *right* click on it
    -- choose properties, combabtibility tab and then click the box for run as administrator (just like you did before for the other file)
    - Find the UOAM map files (mine was c:\program files (x86)\UOAM)
    - Copy the Atlas.Map, Dungeon.map, Common.Map files and put them in the UOC directory.
    - Start UOC and give the files a bit to update.

    There might be other / better ways to accomplish the same thing. It's just how I got mine to work properly

    Hope that helps,
    Q
     
  47. Kiwillian

    Kiwillian Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    For the tracking thing you can right click on the map and choose Set Destination and you'll get a little arrow on the map. Use the same menu item to clear it. You can do the same thing via the Find window by ticking the Track box.
     
  48. Promathia

    Promathia Crazed Zealot
    Premium Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,699
    Likes Received:
    2,406
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Maybe im missing it but where can I DL the program to run a server?
     
  49. Kiwillian

    Kiwillian Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    It comes with it. It should be in the start menu.
     
  50. In Flames

    In Flames Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Still can't get it working for me =/

    Any advice?