1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
    Dismiss Notice

UOCartographer beta (new UOAM) [0.9.8.0 Dec 17, re-read OP first]

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Kiwillian, Nov 21, 2009.

  1. aarons6

    aarons6 Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,897
    Likes Received:
    33
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    not working in linux with wine.. i get this error any ideas?


    System.MissingMethodException: Method not found: 'Void System.GC.Collect(Int32, System.GCCollectionMode)'.
    at #=q6dSvFMPKWUUhQVVQMP5E_RoI1cbh3C9fv1JOrzXOJFk=.#=qw7mqhAE5RsOQbWMvVNQuxA==()
    at #=q6dSvFMPKWUUhQVVQMP5E_RoI1cbh3C9fv1JOrzXOJFk=.#=quGqC6uKdRFaFw4$1eZyJu48sDj_TSlSMT3EYpYfVvTE=()
    at #=q6dSvFMPKWUUhQVVQMP5E_RoI1cbh3C9fv1JOrzXOJFk=..ctor()
    at #=qWxdJjTsgbneH9TOcft_jKDiINhVu5Nq9GtrdZb$kHAs=.#=qU3LOq1ti_Q8$lE1m8M6XhQ==()
     
  2. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    33
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    See this post:

     
  3. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Wiki Moderator Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    10,060
    Likes Received:
    1,655
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Kiwi:

    Have you imported the Treasure Map coordinates as markers into the program yet? If not, the UOAM file of the maps is in the Fishing & T-hunting forum, and the actual latitude & longitude are in the Stratics THB pages. The UOAM file also gives the corresponding Goodman system numbers for the maps along with the THB system numbers, so even if you have to reenter the coordinates into your program manually, it would be good to double-check the UOAM file for the matching numbers.

    Note that an operation among UO Stratics Treasure Hunter forum users went and double-checked all the coordinates about 3-4 years ago, so the archive and the UOAM file mentioned are more accurate than most rune libraries, as well as most Goodman system reference pages (which, if still up, haven't been updated since the man was still among the living).
     
  4. Calliope

    Calliope Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    This is a great tool, it works perfectly and runs on the guild server just fine. I only have one small issue with it - I like to tilt the map to match the game screen, but when I do the top right and bottom left corners are black. The map is confined to a slanted strip.

    Is there a way to fix this? The untilted map fills the window normally.
     
  5. Mitzlplik_SP

    Mitzlplik_SP Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Awsome!! Got the server working. I got 4 peaple in it atm and it works GREAT. Thanks so much Kiwi,great instructions on how to port forward.This is such a great program,being able to get the server going just put the icing on the cake.:thumbup:
     
  6. Salya Sin

    Salya Sin Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Oh YAY! I had no problems with the download or getting it started up. Thanks so much for this!!! I missed UOAM just running without the errors and clicking cancel... and... well.. crashing.

    The only question I have... are there plans for this to log player houses the way that UOAM did? I started manually placing houses in UOAM and this will mean starting over. :(

    Again! Thanks and keep up the good work!
     
  7. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    33
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Tested the server, works good so far.

    Also found out how to change the label for myself (the one that says "you").

    1 minor issue though, players that are logged out and have closed the UO client but left UOCartographer running doesn't get removed from the server.
     
  8. SUPRsalad

    SUPRsalad Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    it felt a little like running with scissors in the dark, but I actually nailed it first try.. Thanks though!

    I've never done it before, and I read some horror stories about 'bricking' a router.. I had no idea! How terrifying!
     
  9. SUPRsalad

    SUPRsalad Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    yeah, i noticed that too, but it has a nice counter-feature:
    'time-out' feature.. Nice feature really, I see on the log that several players 'timed out' last night on their own.. I like that..
     
  10. SUPRsalad

    SUPRsalad Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Everyone keeps saying that, but frankly, i LOVE how you can drag around on the map to see where you are going.. People are complaining, basically, that it does not behave exactly like automap.. which, it is not. Its a new system, and with a new system, there is always a learning curve.. I say keep the way it is..
     
  11. RichDC

    RichDC Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Dont get me wrong, i like the ability to click and drag the map.

    All im thinking is maybe with say, ctrl left click or shift left click...you can make the map movable.

    Doesn't change any of the other functions but makes it moveable, if...the map didnt change location when you have de-bordered it, wouldn't need to move it but i would guess trying to stop that would be a lot more difficult.

    Anyways, it was just a suggestion, ill still be using it :)
     
  12. Demonous

    Demonous Rares Fest Host | Ches Jul 2010
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,225
    Likes Received:
    67
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    wow this map is so useful kiwillian, i already like it more than i did uoam when that was in its prime, now i can uninstall this version of uoam that i have that never updates :) is there a way to connect to other players on a server or would i have to host servers for this? like are there dedicated servers that i could just log onto without having to host one myself?
     
  13. Mitzlplik_SP

    Mitzlplik_SP Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Demonous,this is what Kiwi posted earlier aboyut servers and connecting.

     
  14. Sean

    Sean Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,382
    Likes Received:
    150
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)


    More than likely you or someone in your guild would have to host. Hopefully some future porting of the server version in the future will allow it to be run from non-windows servers (like the one that hosts our guild site/ forums) :pint:
     
  15. Kiwillian

    Kiwillian Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    You need to update your .NET to either 2.0 SP2 or try installing 3.5.

    In other news:

    I am working on the server so that it can be hosted. No ETA yet.
     
  16. Kiwillian

    Kiwillian Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    You should be able to copy the .MAP files into the UOC directory and they'll show up next time you start it :)
     
  17. Demonous

    Demonous Rares Fest Host | Ches Jul 2010
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,225
    Likes Received:
    67
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    friend of mine installed it and all but and error occurs when they open the shortcut and they can't run it, im guessing maybe the don't have the .NET 2.0 framework but im not sure exactly where they can download that
     
  18. N49ATV

    N49ATV Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    You need to slow the loadup time. I dont have a speed demon computer, infact im on a laptop, yet the very nice UOcartographer splash screen is just that, a splash. I barely see it. Be nice to have a min 5 secs to get your credit for it.
     
  19. Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    I now have my guild and alliance guild switched over. Thanks again for the fine work.
     
  20. mugmug

    mugmug Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    I have tried and tried to get this to work. What i need is a versoin for dummies.

    1 Do i need UO Automap files or maps? If so how do i get them?
    2 How do i find my path to the client?
    3 How do i get UO Cartographer to point to my client?
     
  21. Calliope

    Calliope Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    So nobody else has my problem with the tilted map? How do I fix it?
     
  22. Crysta

    Crysta Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    73
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    [​IMG]

    Your program just rotates the image like an image editing program would, which ends up making the edges "fuzzy".. it looks like UOAM automatically redraws everything to keep it in pixel ratio so it doesn't get fuzzy, and this was probably done so it looks like it would in the actual radar window in the client. This example image is in the sizes that are most closely comparable, but its there in any size of it. This also doesn't happen unless the map is tilted.
     
  23. SUPRsalad

    SUPRsalad Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    seriously?? go play wow crysta... seriously...
     
  24. Crysta

    Crysta Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    73
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Why would I?
     
  25. Sean

    Sean Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,382
    Likes Received:
    150
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)


    Excellent!!! Just waiting for a couple of guildies to get on to try my home set up, but would much prefer to host it on the web space for a number of reasons.

    Thanks again for great work, hell even if it never improves, it's way better than the new client map IMHO


    LOL, and don't forget the old saying...."No good deed goes unpunished"
     
  26. Mike of Ameraust

    Mike of Ameraust Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im outta luck

    Hm, must be my unlucky day

    Running Windows 7 and the EC, Cant get it to track me, cant even get it to stay on top.
    I tried all the things above, anyone got any other suggestions.
     
  27. Gem

    Gem Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    295
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Thank you!!

    Very much appreciated!
     
  28. Wakiza

    Wakiza Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Very nice.
     
  29. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    33
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Ah, you mean pixelated. I see the same thing. I am only guessing, but I believe one of the reasons is due to the resolution of the generated map.

    Small matter, but maybe an option to generate/use higher resolution maps would help? Though it might have to be done at the cost of performance.
     
  30. Crysta

    Crysta Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    73
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    No, I mean the opposite.. its SUPPOSED to look pixelated, instead its looking like it got fuzzed out. "Pixelated" would infer clean lines, not ones with varying levels of color that feel "soft" (it feels more like a texture in a 3D game than a map comprised of sprites and pixels). Increasing the resolution wouldn't fix the problem, it would just make it worse with all the reducing... the lines and details would end up distorted that way when scaled down to the current 100%,
     
  31. Zooithion

    Zooithion Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3,771
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Trying but I don't even see a 'start server' on my server machine.
    Connecting with a server and client machine with static ips sitting beside each other.

    Both machines run uoc fine, just can't get one to connect with other.
    Sever is XP, client machine is vista.

    No errors shown.


    Any ideas anyone?


     
  32. Kiwillian

    Kiwillian Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    It's probably this. There's more detail in the UOC map than the UOAM one, which makes it look more "shaded" I guess.

    The map itself is as large (resolution-wise) and it can get, each pixel is one in-game tile.
     
  33. Kiwillian

    Kiwillian Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    1. Nope
    2. You could check the desktop shortcut to your client, or see what you have UOA pointing to.
    3. Choose Options from the menu, it up near the top of the options window.

    Check in the EC sub-forum there are some mods now that work better than what I had done.

    Did you set a port number in the server options? Make sure you only have one copy of the server running (check the notification area by the clock). See my earlier post for some more step-by-step instructions.
     
  34. Kiwillian

    Kiwillian Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    I know what this is but I thought I'd fixed it already. I'll fix it for the next release :)
     
  35. Crysta

    Crysta Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    73
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    It has nothing to do with "more detail", it has to do with corrupting the detail that's already there. Would you take a random picture from the net, rotate it to that angle making it look all blurry because of the rotation method used, and call it "more detailed"? I'd really hope not. When it comes to pixel graphics, taking them out of the precise pixel form ruins them. If your program used the original stylized map KR shipped with then yeah, i'd understand the blurriness... but you're trying to render a pixelized world with a method that messes with the pixelization.
     
  36. Kiwillian

    Kiwillian Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Well, I'm not sure what you mean. If you look at that orange/brown box in the NE corner of town above the other town icon and next to you on UOAM it looks the same. It looks like a well defined box on both not a smeary blurry mess. :confused:
     
  37. RaDian FlGith

    RaDian FlGith Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,442
    Likes Received:
    323
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    What Crysta means (sorry for the size of the images) is this:

    [​IMG]

    Versus:

    [​IMG]

    Basically what Crysta is saying is that UOAM re-renders the tilted image without aliasing it. UOC does not, and it creates a fuzzy look to it when it's tilted.

    To me, it doesn't make enough of a difference to care, because it's still very clear where you are, but it does have a slightly degraded image to it tilted.
     
  38. Kiwillian

    Kiwillian Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    OK, I see it now :) Not sure why that is...
     
  39. Mike of Ameraust

    Mike of Ameraust Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Hm, thought i posted this once but cant see it anywhere so ..

    Tried all the things above, running as admin, copied to skin folder etc etc, map doesnt come up automatically even though is in source folder, so I start map then it won't track or stay on top. Am running windows 7 and only use the EC.

    Having said this, the map looks incredible, sharp and very clear, so well done.

    Anyone got any ideas ??

    Grr, now i see my first post
     
  40. Kiwillian

    Kiwillian Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    yeah, use one of the better mods/skins. Makes it easier. As for On Top, does it not stay on top even after checking it from the menu?

    edit: I had replied to you a bit further up
     
  41. Crysta

    Crysta Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    73
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Thank you... you explained better than I could... lol...

    For me.. well, having it like that disorients me terribly since the other maps have never done it... is annoying. Maybe I just notice it more because I am always going on and on about pixels. :\
     
  42. Zolaf

    Zolaf Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    32
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Question for future versions to update. I added a marker for my house but it put them on all shards. I have no way of deleting it. For some reason there is two of the houses placed and yet the 2nd one is not in the same place when i use the "find" feature. Is this going to be an option to add/delete items as necessary later? Any input would be great, otherwise this is an awesome map! Also, is it possible to make the labels an option to keep them up all the time? I rather enjoyed that so I knew where I was going without having to hover my cursor over each point of interest... Thanks!
     
  43. Kiwillian

    Kiwillian Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Yeah, this is a non-issue I think. I doubt it disorients you terribly to the point you no longer know where you are when you tilt the map :) Maybe too much :pint: hehe
     
  44. Crysta

    Crysta Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    73
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Not that kind of disorienting...I mean it literally makes me feel a bit dizzy because ive been using maps without that for nearly a decade... that and the difference in focus alone could cause that.
     
  45. Reximus

    Reximus Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    It's fine as is, don't listen to her.
     
  46. Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Alright first off love it... I have been reading most the post and problem/fix, and I hope i didn't miss the answer to this one... But I am not getting any town markers in Tokuno Islands Makoto-Jima... I have the options set to see town markers. Is there something I should be doing to fix this... Thanks
     
  47. lucitus

    lucitus UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    45
    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    Is Mono not working with the server, i have a windows root, so i cant test it.
     
  48. Calliope

    Calliope Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    My problem is not "fuzziness" when the map is tilted. It looks like this!

    [​IMG]

    Ack, that didn't work - back to the drawing board!
     
  49. Aboo

    Aboo Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    I haven't used it much yet but what I have used it for I love it. Thank you!
     
  50. SUPRsalad

    SUPRsalad Guest

    Re: UOCartographer beta, now available! (new UOAM)

    get out. go play wowzers..